We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike! Fun....remote area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Canyon

Painted Canyon
Palm Springs, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 46 Attractions in Palm Springs
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A variety of colors paint the rocks here, giving this unique location its name.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hike! Fun....remote area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in Palm Springs during Spring Break and it was by far the best Hike of all. The Canyon is situated about 45 miles south east of PS. When you get to the Canyon road, you will drive about 3 miles on dirt and sand. We had a Kia Soul and we made it without much trouble. It took us about 1 hour to get to the top of the Canyon (about 2 miles). You have to climb about 4 or 5 ladders. I have to say I was worried at first as my kids are 6 and 8 years old. We took our time and enjoyed very much the hike. We came back the same way we went up. You can actually do a loop around but it is another 4 miles. Coming down was a little more challenging. It is pretty steep to go down those ladders so be extra careful. Again, my kids have been on hike so many times they know what to do and can handle 4- 5 miles without any trouble. I would not recommend this hike with children less than 8.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Even the Teenagers Liked It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Trying to get my teenage sons to go "hiking" is like trying to get them out of bed on a saturday before noon. They just don't see the point. However, this hike was more like an adventure and my curious little boys were back, crawling up the ladders and snaking through the slot canyons, listening to the echo of their voices and imagining all sorts of weird apocalyptic video games and movies that should be filmed here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Painted Canyon hike with unexpected side trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We did this hike today and really enjoyed it. Out goal was to do the slot canyon first with the ladders, get up on the ridge, then come back down the Painted Canyon. However, within 100 yards of the start of the trail we mistakenly went too far left and ended going up a side canyon that eventually led to a series of ascents made with the aid of fixed ropes. It was fun, but we scraped ourselves a bit and some of the ropes are getting a bit frayed. Unless you are good with rope ascents I would advise that you stick to the right of the main trail at the start until you get to the canyon that has the ladders to climb. If you are in a narrow canyon and have gone more than a 1/4 mile without seeing the signpost and the big rock arrows on the ground pointing left, you are likely in the wrong canyon and should turn around. Eventually we made it to the top of the ridge (had to do a bit of a scramble), followed the trail down into the Painted Canyon and came out the way we had planned. Take lots of water and do the trail before it gets too hot.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a really awesome way to spend a couple of hours. The dirt road was the bit I was most worried about but we took a Ford Focus along it with no problems at all. The first bit is definitely the worst - very rutted and quite soft in places - but it gets much better so persevere. It's worth it.

The first bit of the slot canyon is amazing. There was only one ladder we found slightly tricky. The rock arrows make navigation largely very simple. We were unsure just once when we came to a fork while climbing up out of ladder canyon. Take the right-hand path and just follow it to the top.

One more piece of advice, don't wear sandals or you'll be walking on stones all the way back down big painted canyon!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“One of my favourite hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having hiked extensively on both coasts and in the rockies, appalachians and smoky mountains, this still ranks as one of my favourite day hikes. Starting at the foot of the canyon, rambling over some rocks and up ladders to snake through a narrow crevice, then gradually reaching the summit, this is a spectacular trail. The descent is much easier, and much of the hike back is through a dry river bed. The kids really liked the part of the trail with hundreds of small rock statues that have been assembled by hikers passing through. There are only a few tricky areas where the ladders are a little broken or don't quite reach the top, and young kids or older adults might need assistance.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Canyon also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Painted Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.