We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a self service gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Greens Cafe

Palm Greens Cafe
611 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 271 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Cuisines: Healthy, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“a self service gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent veggie friendly cafe. They do have some healthy organic meats, too.

The menu is broad, the ingredients fresh and well executed.

I wish we had discovered it earlier in our visit. We would have eaten every lunch there!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for Organic Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is tucked away in a little strip shopping center at 611 S. Palm Canyon Dr; very hard to see from the street. It is in the Desert Sun Center next to Revivals. Regardless, the place was packed. We dropped in for breakfast and 4 of us tried the blueberry buckwheat pancakes (excellent), two breakfast bowls (pretty good), the breakfast platter (too big to finish). They have house smoothies, and the recommended one was the Plam Greens skinnie which was fantastic. Reports were that the organic coffee was pretty good too. The food was a bit pricey, but we have come to expect that with vegan, vegetarian and organic restaurants. We, and the crowds agree that this place is certainly worth the extra few bucks. Give it a try, we do not think that you will come away hungry or disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Health Concerns Over Serving Practices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I went to the Palm Green Cafe the day after Christmas. We are both vegetarians and love fresh, organic food. My husband stood at the counter for 10 minutes to place our order. It then took about 30 minutes for our food to arrive. Prior to our food arriving the kitchen staff brought out a steaming hot vegetarian bowl (my oder) and dropped it off at a nearby table. The patrons at the neighboring table picked up the vegetarian bowl, sniffed it, passed it around to their dining companions, then got up and returned the vegetarian bowl to the front counter. Apparently, no one at their table had ordered this dish. The kitchen staff took the vegetarian bowl back into the kitchen then brought it back out and dropped it off at my table a few minutes later. Not only was the vegetarian bowl now cold and no longer steaming hot, but it had been handled by dining patrons that had been picking their noses and coughing without covering their mouths. When I confronted the server about this recycled dish, he shrugged his shoulders and left my table. Seeing as the vegetarian burger my husband had ordered for himself had a stale bun that was too hard to cut, we put down our silverware and walked out. Yuk. No refund. No lunch. Never, ever again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Organic but not impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had to ask several questions about the menu to ensure the food allergies wouldn't be an issue. The waitress was happy to find out information for us. I ordered the turkey burger and my husband ordered a salad. We had to relocate to the other side of the restaurant due to a woman with horribly overdone perfume, and a personal allergy to it, and for some reason we felt the waitress had a chip on her shoulder about it for a while afterward, but she eased up and seemed fine again by the time we left. The turkey burger was overcooked and fairly tough, but the bun and toppings on the burger were really tasty. The salad that came with the burger was good, and the dressing had a very interesting flavor to it. My husband was very impressed with the dressing on his salad, but overall he said he isn't sure he would go back for the same item the next time. This is a very small place, so it was cold because everytime the door opened the cold air would fill the small space. We were not sure we would go back for dinner, but may try the breakfast or lunch sometime when we are here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent health food fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Palm Greens Cafe puts itself forward as a vegetarian/vegan restaurant, but offers some meats and eggs for those who stray.
We enjoyed an extravagant breakfast of huevos rancheros and breakfast bowl, with buckwheat pancakes washed down with a date smoothie and coffee.
The swiss chard/kale/spinach with a garlic dressing was excellent, and the brown rice went perfectly with it. The date smoothie was wonderful, with chunks of date and excellent flavor. Quite a treat.
The menu is expensive, but very high quality; the ordering process proved flexible, with all sorts of alternatives possible, and the service was speedy.
A great place to eat when you need to feel good about yourself! Haha.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Greens Cafe also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Palm Greens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Greens Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.