We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo Time share in the heart of Palm Springs-2 min walk from main Blvd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Villas Resort

Save Saved
You added Marquis Villas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marquis Villas Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   140 South Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Condo Time share in the heart of Palm Springs-2 min walk from main Blvd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our 2nd stay here. Its a time share and my husband and I are owners/members via points through Diamond Resorts and this is one of the many resorts we can stay in. I am writing this review as a time share owner. We had a room facing the pool area. Rooms are your typical Diamond Resort size-like a condo. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a California king bed and a pull out sofa in the living room. The place is huge! 2 bathrooms 1shower and one large tub. There is one walk in closet and another small closet in the living room. The kitchen is well equipped with a stove, oven, micro,fridge,sink,dishwasher,cooking pans&utensils, and plates/eating utensils.

Location is great-walking distance to main blvd-2min walk-where everything is located-bars, restaurants, starbucks, the coffee bean, cvs, circle k, post office, etc. Trader Joe's is a 6 min drive.

Place is clean and nice. Furnishings are late 90s but still modern. Get a room facing pool or mountains on 2nd or 3rd floor.

Excellent for its size and location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in submitting your review. Repeat stays from our Diamond Resorts’ members are always truly appreciated. We are delighted to read that our accommodations, amenities, and location met, if not exceeded your needs and expectations. Looking forward to seeing you again soon, the next time that you are in the Palm Springs area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    50
    30
    31
    15
See reviews for
44
40
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I read the reviews here and was hesitant about staying there. I decided to call and made a reservation. The staff was very friendly and made our stay very accommodating. We were told what the hot spots and good restaurants were. The Villa in its entirety was very clean. I will definitely be going again!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Congratulations on you and your girlfriend’s 1 year anniversary. We are extremely honored that you decided to spend part of this memorable day here at our resort. It is really pleasing to read that our staff went above and beyond in assisting you and your girlfriend with finding nearby attractions and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you and your girlfriend again soon, and please don’t hesitate to contact us beforehand if you wish to have something prepared prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The amount of room you get for the price you pay is definitely "more bang for your buck." My boyfriend and I came here and we LOVED all of the space! Kitchen with utensils, living room with a pullout bed sofa and tv, huge balcony and to top it all off- two bathrooms! The only thing I really liked about this resort was the fact that you felt like it was your very own apartment. If you lived in the 70's that is.
This place needs a new paint job, renovations and some modernizing. The blankets were itchy, the sheets were stiff and scratchy, the pillows were flat and obviously worn out. The major PLUS was the huge balcony! There's a sliding door from the living room and a sliding door from the bedroom and it all connected to a shady patio. The A/C in the room was unsatisfying- and being here in the middle of July was NOT forgiving!!
You would expect a RESORT in PALM SPRINGS to take into consideration the heat and beating sun. There was NO shade in the pool area at all, only the kiddie pool was shaded. There were no food or drinks being sold- so you literally go down to the pool and come back up after a 5 minute dip. The least they could do is put up some canopies or plant some trees to provide shade! Maybe some lounging chairs would be nice?
The resort also did not offer room service. OK.. That was a dealbreaker for my boyfriend and I. Once again: it's Palm Springs. It is stinkin' HOT. Would you want all of your customers do leave your resort to walk to the corner deli and buy their food and walk back? Because that's exactly what we did. We geared up for the heat and walked to the deli next door for breakfast and lunch, ordered delivery for dinner. To think of all of the money lost in not providing room service.. What a waste!
Once the sun set and temperatures SLIGHTLY dropped, we walked to the frozen yogurt store down the street and took a stroll down the boulevard. The location of this place was not bad at all, right by the Spa Casino and a couple blocks off the main boulevard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marquis Villas Resort! We’re so glad to hear that your room was very spacious and accommodated all of your needs. The balconies are very popular; we’re happy that you enjoyed them.

We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy our pool area. Umbrellas are available around the pool for shade. Additionally, we do have lounge chairs around the pool.

Our property is a vacation ownership resort. While we offer full kitchens and kitchen amenities for cooking unlike a hotel would, we do not offer a room service. We regret that this was an inconvenience to your stay, but we’re pleased that the location of our property made up for this.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This resort has so much potential but is in need of a serious makover. I've stayed here twice and both experiences were awful. Diamond Resorts should be embarrassed to put their name on this facility. The location is great and the tennis courts and pool are nice. The rooms are absolutely atrocious. Both times we stayed in a one bedroom with a kitchen and living area. The rooms are very large but the furnishings haven't been touched since the 1970's. The armrests on the sofa and chairs had large tears with stuffing protruding. The beds were really uncomfortable and the blankets were worse than what a moving company would use to pad furniture. The pillows felt like they had 10lbs of bedbugs and and comforter was stained from 20+ yrs of use. The bathrooms are large and clean but the shower is not user friendly and the kitchens are just plain ugly and useless. The TV in the bedroom was a 15" tube with dials to change the channel from the 1970's so I had to swap it for the 19" tube in the living room. The staff at the front desk was helpful and accommodating and do the best with what they have to work with. I made a promise to my wife we would never stay here again, even if it was free or they paid us to stay.

I almost forgot about the Monkeys...I requested on our last stay to not get a room with the Monkey decor. The resort still has a handful of rooms completely decorated in creepy Monkeys...Monkey bedding, Monkey pillows, Monkey wallpaper and Monkey wall art/prints. Unless you like that sort of thing...

The name "Marquis Villas Resort" and website photos that you see are misleading and only show the 2 bedroom that was recently upgraded. The other photos of the resort surroundings were taken from very artistic angles and do not truly depict what this place looks like.

I would not recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We sincerely apologize that your stays with us did not measure up to similar units you've stayed in the past. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is concerning to us that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We hope that you made our front desk aware of your concerns with your room. Due to past issues regarding the management of the resort, we haven’t been able to update the furnishings and accommodations that you have come to expect with other Diamond Resort-managed properties. We are currently working on updating the sofa beds in the rooms, and will undergo several other refurbishment projects in the future. When notified, we will do our best to move our guests if there is some reason that their room is not at an acceptable standard. The monkey décor you mention is actually supposed to be a tropical theme, and was installed by previous management to select rooms within the resort. We appreciate your feedback about this décor and will be glad to re-assign you to another room without the monkey décor. We appreciate you sharing your experience as it will help us ensure improving the guest experience for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had never been to this resort before and are Diamond members. I thought the resort was very nice and our 1 bedroom had plenty of room for 2 people. The bathroom is huge, actually
2 bathrooms connected, a tub and a shower. The kitchen has everything you need and there is a huge patio. The pool area is nice, however they have no drinks or food available. We were there during the hottest week so didn't even stay by the pool too long. There are some umbrellas and a couple of covered areas. Even though it was very hot it is only 2 blocks to the main area of Palm Springs and the restaurants. The location is great and you can walk to the movie theater.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very glad to hear that our accommodations and amenities enhanced your stay with us. Your feedback about no drinks or food being available by the pool is appreciated. We will look into this further and see if there is something we can provide to our guests when they use our pool. Our location is a very popular draw for our guests, and we are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of this. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a Diamond Resorts Property. We are a member of Diamond Resorts and I must say that I was extremely disappointed! When we stayed here two years ago, we were promised that this property will be upgraded very soon! Shame on you Mr. Cloobeck for not taking care of this property! The location is great, the rooms are large, but Diamond has not spent any money to renovate or upgrade this hotel. Not sure where to start... carpets are very old, torn and full of stains in the hallways, the elevator buttons do not work very well, and kitchen appliances and TV sets are very old. The chairs and sofa have many stains on them.... Do I need to say anything more?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Value and location made me a very happy guest at the Marquis Villas, room 231.

Pros-
1) Huge! Room - 2 toilets, one shower, one large separate tub and spacious counter for makeup/hair styling! Yay! Stocked (utensils, plates, glasses, etc) ge, clean kitchen with adjoining living/dining room. Plenty of room for the kiddos. Sofa bed in living room with large patio. TV's were old but who cares we weren't there to watch tv we were there to drink and lounge by the pool.
2) LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - easy access to the strip and various eateries and convenience stores.
3) Underground parking - yay! We basically parked the car on Friday and didn't get back into on Sunday when we left. And the car was cool... not ridiculously hot!
4) Adult beverages were ok at the pool provided you had those classy plastic cups. Yay! We liked not having on property - we saved the $$ and made our own drinks, hiccup!
6) We did have prompt and attentive maid service - tipping helps kids!
7) Our access to the internet was easy and useful.
8) Staff was friendly - especially our check in and the pool boys.

Cons - Thin towels.

I would definitely return - kids or no kids. I liked the Scarface glossyblack kitchen - so what if the appliances were old, they still worked and they were clean. Unlike another review I actually liked the monkey decor... monkeys are cool. So yes its older but its a great value and in the end, for the price and location its a great choice for a downtown PS stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 231 - most updated and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Villas Hotel
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs
Address: 140 South Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.