We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Villas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis Villas Resort to your Saves list
Marquis Villas Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   140 South Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had never been to this resort before and are Diamond members. I thought the resort was very nice and our 1 bedroom had plenty of room for 2 people. The bathroom is huge, actually
2 bathrooms connected, a tub and a shower. The kitchen has everything you need and there is a huge patio. The pool area is nice, however they have no drinks or food available. We were there during the hottest week so didn't even stay by the pool too long. There are some umbrellas and a couple of covered areas. Even though it was very hot it is only 2 blocks to the main area of Palm Springs and the restaurants. The location is great and you can walk to the movie theater.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very glad to hear that our accommodations and amenities enhanced your stay with us. Your feedback about no drinks or food being available by the pool is appreciated. We will look into this further and see if there is something we can provide to our guests when they use our pool. Our location is a very popular draw for our guests, and we are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of this. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    40
    34
    22
See reviews for
52
53
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a Diamond Resorts Property. We are a member of Diamond Resorts and I must say that I was extremely disappointed! When we stayed here two years ago, we were promised that this property will be upgraded very soon! Shame on you Mr. Cloobeck for not taking care of this property! The location is great, the rooms are large, but Diamond has not spent any money to renovate or upgrade this hotel. Not sure where to start... carpets are very old, torn and full of stains in the hallways, the elevator buttons do not work very well, and kitchen appliances and TV sets are very old. The chairs and sofa have many stains on them.... Do I need to say anything more?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Value and location made me a very happy guest at the Marquis Villas, room 231.

Pros-
1) Huge! Room - 2 toilets, one shower, one large separate tub and spacious counter for makeup/hair styling! Yay! Stocked (utensils, plates, glasses, etc) ge, clean kitchen with adjoining living/dining room. Plenty of room for the kiddos. Sofa bed in living room with large patio. TV's were old but who cares we weren't there to watch tv we were there to drink and lounge by the pool.
2) LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - easy access to the strip and various eateries and convenience stores.
3) Underground parking - yay! We basically parked the car on Friday and didn't get back into on Sunday when we left. And the car was cool... not ridiculously hot!
4) Adult beverages were ok at the pool provided you had those classy plastic cups. Yay! We liked not having on property - we saved the $$ and made our own drinks, hiccup!
6) We did have prompt and attentive maid service - tipping helps kids!
7) Our access to the internet was easy and useful.
8) Staff was friendly - especially our check in and the pool boys.

Cons - Thin towels.

I would definitely return - kids or no kids. I liked the Scarface glossyblack kitchen - so what if the appliances were old, they still worked and they were clean. Unlike another review I actually liked the monkey decor... monkeys are cool. So yes its older but its a great value and in the end, for the price and location its a great choice for a downtown PS stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 231 - most updated and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Hotel was close to the main shopping and dining area of Palms Springs but that was it's only plus. The carpeting in my suite had numerous holes in it and was dated not vintage. Over all the hotel common areas and pool were clean but just old and worn. The $10 per person resort fee is a joke. This is not a resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
While we understand that our property does require some updating, we feel that you should not have been given a room of that standard. We hope that you notified the front desk of your concerns while on property so that they could have tried to resolve your concerns. Our property is located very centrally in Palm Springs and we’re glad that you were happy with your surroundings!

The $10 resort fee covers Wi-Fi, local and long-distance calling, recreational activities on property, and parking. While this fee may be unwelcome, it helps us maintain these additional amenities provided on-site.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope that you’ll choose to stay with us again in the future where we can be sure our team members will assist with a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have stayed here a couple times and it has been OK. It has always suited our needs and then some. The place is a bit run down and with a $10 a day resort fee you would think they would have internet or decent beds.

I stayed here May 6 and 7th 2012. When I checked into the first room I had to move because the bed had a large sagging area in the middle. They happily moved me to another room where the bed was worse and the couch was broken. They finally moved me to a third room and the furniture although not very nice was at least usable.

That is the end of any problems, now to the good parts.

The staff is very friendly and the location makes up for a lot of issues. It is a short block from downtown Palm Springs with restaurants and coffee shops. Also almost across the street from a casino. Every room has a separate bedroom and living room-kitchen, like an apartment. They are no smoking but every room has a very large patio (downstairs) or balcony (upstairs) with plenty of chairs and table to relax in private. Full kitchen not just a dorm fridge and microwave. 2 bathrooms, 1 small with a stand along shower and commode and the other large with commode, garden tub and walk in closet.

This place is nice for the family or for having guest over when we come into the state. Works better for us then a regular hotel room as we have family in the area. And lets not forget the free underground parking. It is nice to get into the car and not roast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Positives:
The bathroom
I like the 70's decor

Negatives:
Everything else.


The pool is too small, there is no shady areas, there is no food or alcohol on the premises, there was no maid service to clean our room.

Lame.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our vacation and we were very disappointed. From the moment we entered the room, we should have known what kind of experience this would be. We are both okay with "outdated", but that is a complete understatement and doesn't explain the lack of cleanliness and quality of service. The furniture is not only outdated but dirty with tears, and the carpet floor is worn and has holes in it. Probably the biggest offense was the dirty sheets (not from us) that we discovered and had been sleeping in for days, even though housekeeping had already "cleaned" the day before. The sheets were filthy, with dark stains and everything. When we brought this to the attention of the front desk, they only dropped off new sheets even though they said they would change them for us. The Internet doesn't work unless you sit in the lobby (so much for that resort fee). Overall very disappointing. It's unfortunate because the facility has great potential but they don't take care of it or the people who pay to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Address: 140 South Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.