We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Retro - A Honeymoon Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Del Marcos Hotel to your Saves list
Del Marcos Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Specials
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real Retro - A Honeymoon Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Del Marcos Hotel for two nights as part of a honeymoon roadtrip in March 2013. The Hotel was everything that we were led to believe that it would be from reviews and its website.

We stayed in the Julius Shulman room, a large room on the first floor (second floor USA) overlooking the pool. The room was immaculate, bright, clean, tidy and comfortable. The hotel makes a point of telling guests to respect other guests and I am sure that contributed to the peace and quiet in the hotel. There is a very grown-up feel to the place, which we were grateful for (we heard the staff very politely dissuading spring-breakers from booking a room and trying somewhere more to their liking!).

The hotel is excellently located in downtown with easy access to bars, restaurants and the local sights. The hotel also provides free bikes to cruise around the town on which we took advantage of.

A very nice continental breakfast is offered in the reception area, with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, muffins, herbal teas, coffee etc.

The whole vibe of the place is retro 50's which is all done very classily. The Manageress Laura was never far away and was always friendly and helpful. I'm sure she was responsible for the bottle of bubbly that awaited us upon our arrival!

Room Tip: The Julius Shulman room was fab. Large, bright, overlooking to pool on the second floor, with kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    89
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
337
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Del Marcos Hotel is a beautiful architectural gem, breezy bright and charming, with terrific 40's and 50's furniture throughout and perfectly landscaped grounds. It is a peaceful and calm little oasis just a block from the main action in Palm Springs. The staff were wonderful and helpful. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Class mid-century hotel built in 1947. Rooms are clean and appointed in mid century in minimalist style. The Desert Oasis Deluxe was ground floor and perfect location. Floor was stripped to cement at time and a touch dusty but not a factor...being repaired soon. Shuttered windows. Nice continental breakfast. Nice pool but heater was broken so chilly but not too bad. Grounds kept beautiful. Housekeeping was exceptional. Laura was so kind and helpful. Bikes for around town. Parking adequate. Watch parking on street in front as curb line is extraordinarily high so car doors cannot be opened if too close while unloading/loading. Within one block of downtown main drag. We will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I feel nothing but love for the Del Marcos Hotel. It exceeded my expectations upon arrival after viewing it online. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. It's immaculate and well-kept. The pool area is so very tranquil and relaxing. I don't know if I just got lucky when I was there but it was very quiet even though the hotel was mostly full. There were several other guests/couples by the pool but everyone was very respectful of the relaxation mode of the other guests and there were no cell phone conversations and everyone spoke quietly...hooray for civilized behavior! The music played around the pool area is very subtle and only enhances the mid-century vibe of the hotel that extends to each unique guest room/suite.
I will stay here again since there's no need to look elsewhere in my opinion. The neighborhood is beautiful and quiet but only a block from Palm Canyon Drive. I loved being able to run out to my car for something if needed without it being a major ordeal.

Room Tip: The Pool Side suite has it all....living room, dining area, kitchen, and a separate bedroom with a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If there is an oasis in the middle of the desert the Del Marcos would be it. Whenever we go to Palm Springs we have to stay at the Del Marcos. We love all the themed rooms. This time we stayed in the Chi Chi Room which was an excellent choice. It has a living area with a small refrigerator (with stocked bottles of fresh water), good size bedroom, and a large back patio for outdoor living. The room stayed cool with no need for a/c as the temperatures soared into the low to mid 90's during the day. Built in 1947 it still retains all the charm of mid century modernism with swank decor. It is located in a quiet section, one block from the main strip (Palm Canyon Drive) and close to most things. It is dog friendly, although not all the rooms allow dogs. Your dog is treated to treats, toys, and a bowl upon arrival. The staff is excellent, friendly, and and will assist your every need. Upon arrival they offer you a complimentary cocktail (although we don't drink). They serve an excellent continental breakfast with a variety of choices. There are bikes available for your riding pleasure, free of charge. The neighborhood is safe. Definitely home away from home, we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: If you have children this is not the place for you as they no longer allow children under the age of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a delightful week and a half at the Del Marcos late this February into early March. We were orginally booked for six days and were going to head over to the California Coast to slowly make our way back home to Vancouver, BC. That was an idea that quickly changed once we got to the Del Marcos. Seduced by the mellowness and charm of this wonderful small hotel we simply did not want to leave. It all began with the first impression upon arrival. We were captured by the stunning architecture of the hotel, the warm greeting from the manager Laura, and a offer of a glass of wine or beer. We spent blissful days floating in the 90 degree pool glazing up at the palm trees and the azure blue sky. Mornings we lazed poolside with the complimentary breakfast and chatted with the other guests. The Del Marcos seems to attract a nice quality of guests whom are both friendly and interesting. We also enjoyed cruising the beautiful local neighbourhoods on the big, European style bikes. Laura had a great map of all the biking routes, (and there are many), in Palm Springs. There are also lots of great hiking trails nearby, and it is a wonderful area to walk around and take in the fabulous mid century architecture. We spent several evenings sitting by the gas firepits enjoying the company of our fellow travellers. We had a fun night watching an old 60's music show with several of us singing along to Herman's Hermits. But don't worry, any outdoor socializing is wrapped early so not to bother the other guests. Restaurants are easily accessible, as downtown is a block away and there is a huge array of choices available. You can even use the hotel's barbeque and have a nice dinner in. Anyway, we soon decided that we would leave California Coast for another visit and Laura was very accommodating in allowing us to stay another 5 days. I totally love the Del Marcos, and would certainly stay there again. The staff were friendly and helpful and do an amazing job of keeping everything well run and clean. The big bikes are so much fun, and the location simply can not be beat.

Room Tip: They are all unique. The poolside ones are lovely. Upstairs are nice as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just loved staying at the Del Marcos - the staff is great, the rooms are quirky and fun, the pool is lovely (saltwater). I loved that it is small so it was very quiet even when full. Lying out by the pool is wonderful and relaxing. The view is spectacular and they play 40's music all day by the pool. The continental breakfast is basic but good. Each room has a mini kitchen. There is a BBQ outside and shuffle board. They even have outside TVs by the pool with a firepit - we watched US-Mexico soccer game one night. They greet you with a complimentary drink when you arrive, fresh fruit is always available and cold water spiked with citrus is always out by the pool. Free bicycle rentals as well. Excellent location downtown- we walked everywhere. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Our room was the Don Wexler - roomy, light . Steps from the pool, with a private patio in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Address: 225 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Del Marcos Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCITING NEWS!! September 2013We've just reopened after a month of upgrades/renovations! New terrazzo bathroom floors in every room, two rooms floors have been completely terrazzo'd, we've added another full kitchen, expanded space in several rooms, added a room with two beds and accomplished many other needed repairs. Updated photos will be added to the site as soon as possible.One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Marcos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.