We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Del Marcos Hotel to your Saves list
Del Marcos Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 1 night at the Del Marcos Hotel in July 2012

We stayed in the E. Stewart Williams Room

First off this hotel is located in a great area in Palm Springs. It is within walking distance from the shopping/restaurant area.

When we arrived we were greeted by a kid who looked like he couldn't have been more than 16. Now, we have no problems whatsoever understanding English, but when he talked it sounded more like a barrage of words coming at you instead of complete sentences.
Anyway, he gave us our key and complimentary beer and white wine, and helped us with our luggage.

When we first entered the room, we were a bit disappointed.
The bare concrete floor wasn't exactly inviting, and the sparse decor didn't help either.
It is not a bad room, but looking at the pictures of the other rooms on their website, I don't think I would choose the E. Stewart Williams room again.

We left the hotel to check out the city, and were pleasantly surprised to learn that they have a street fair every Thursday where they close down the main street and set up small stands along the road.
A very nice way to spend an evening.

We returned to the hotel at around 10PM, and decided to take a dip in the pool.
It was great lying in the pool looking up at the stars and the palm trees and the San Jacinto Mountains. At that point it was still in the 90's, so a nice way to cool down as well.

I really like this hotel. The service and value was great, plus it is very charming. The only thing I would change if we ever come back to Palm Springs, is that I would choose another room

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    96
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
378
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I chose this hotel after a lengthy online search focusing on small boutique hotels and saline pools. We stayed here midweek for an anniversary and were not disappointed. We were greeted in a lovely "retro" furnished lobby by their friendly staff, handed our complimentary drinks, and shown to our room, where our complimentary bottle of champagne was waiting because I had told Laura, the manager, we were celebrating an anniversary. We stayed in the "Esquivel" room, which is a deluxe with a kitchenette and private patio. The hotel is old but every effort has been made to update and provide amenities while keeping the feel of the slower, relaxed pace of the time the hotel was built. We walked everywhere as the hotel is about a block off the Main Street through town, but you feel as if you have stepped back in time once you return. The pool area is lovely and welcoming, just steps from our poolside room - so lovely and quiet we didn't really even use our patio! It was hard to leave, but I know where I will stay in Palm Springs from now on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely clean room. Close to main part of town. Walking distance to all restaurants. Great view of mountains. They welcome dogs too, and provide doggie bowls and treats! Always a fresh fruit bowl too!
EVERYTHING is very clean. Also very nice to be given fresh bottles of water in the refrigerator.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked this for a long weekend over my birthday after reading about it in Sunset and good reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Loved the pool area, so relaxing, loungers are very comfortable. Loved watching the sunsets in the evenings, loved that it was so close to down town so no worries about who had to drive after dinner. The room was very comfortable. The internet didn't quite "stretch" to our room , but in a way that was good, no overindulging in Facebook, time to reconnect :-) Already thinking how to fit in another trip back to Palm Springs and will book early to ensure we get in at the Hotel Del Marcos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Left the resort experience to try this little historic site and...Loved it. Stayed in the Errol Flynn suite soon to be redone in the theme of one of the local modernist architects.... We were at home, really. Can't beat sitting out on our giant deck under the moonlight and looking at the nearby mountains. Everyone is so chill here. They don't even mind if you go for a moonlight swim. Although not luxury, this property somehow achieves a refined feel. The European air conditioners are super effective, and the breakfast is a nice touch. Loved our small kitchen where we were able to stock our own snacks and bubbly. Great retro music by the pool makes you half expect to see Lana Turner or Frank Sinatra come out of a room and take a dip. One small disappointment was the lack of robes and safe as advertised... but maybe soon to come? (Along with some pool resurfacing?) According to the manager, the Del Marcos is a work in progress, but for us it is already there. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the ones with a kitchen if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you want to feel what it's like to live the swank life of a 1950's hipster, this is the place for you. No pretentious Vegas attitudes, just a laid back, mid 50's modernism vibe, with some good ole Frank Sinatra piped in when your lounging at the pool.

One great thing about this pad is that you are one block away from the downtown area, so no worrying about driving to the restaurants or bars. The Del Marcos even has retro bikes you can use for free to ride around, including a tandem.

I'll be back at this place, next time with my smoking jacket and martini in hand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From your initial check in to check out, laura and her staff make you feel so welcome.
The class of this 1947 property is out of this world. The salt water pool always refreshing and clean, towel service poolside, internet and bikes all for the price of a room. Oh, and the breakfast can't be beat. Cereals, coffee, yeah, breads and fruits amazing!

The entire property is retro, but in a classy way, with many up-dates. Sure, some painting required here and there, maybe an issue or two with interiors, but come on, relax your at the best place in P.S.

No kids allowed here, not necessarily a bad thing, but ask Laura about the rules for youngsters. And check out their property next door...soon you may have a choice of cabanas and upgrades.
Love this place and will return.

Room Tip: Love the pool side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#14 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#4 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#16 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
#34 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Address: 225 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Del Marcos Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Marcos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.