We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we'd booked extra nights! Best part of trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Movie Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   726 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wished we'd booked extra nights! Best part of trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I'd read all the reviews and couldn't wait to stay here, though I''d wish I'd been warned about late check in, we were ok but barely....If getting there after 6:00 please call as they lock it up tight for the night around 7 ish. We got in, got a tour, and happy hour was in full swing, every night a drink and wine was out waiting .Pool and hot tubs always open, though we lost electric one night so everything was cold most of the next day. Breakfast filled us up with bagels, yogurt and fruit, cereals, coffee and teas...healthy for sure. Friendly, chic atmosphere as only 16 rooms, and no kids! Bikes were there but we were too busy relaxing!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two story area, very comfortable, checked out the town homes as they were being cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    67
    26
    15
    8
See reviews for
10
146
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in November, really enjoyed it and would definitely return. You need to be aware that the website makes the grounds and facilities appear much more luxury than they are so if you are expecting 5-star then this is not for you. If you want a large, clean, comfortable room with added touches like robes, a relaxing pool area, friendly service and a come and go as you please style vibe then this is perfect. We loved the pool area (still warm enough to swim and midnight) and the hot tub was fantastic - a nice small hotel so it was not at all crowded and felt like our own private pool most of the time. Background music from old Hollywood days was a nice change to most hotels. There was a nice fire pit and a kitchen/bar area. The bar had complimentary wine and cocktails from 5.30-6.30 I think but we were never around to take advantage - otherwise no bar service available. The bar doubled as a kitchen and there were breakfast items - pastries, bagels, cereal, coffee etc available in the morning to help yourselves. Overall the hotel had a really nice laid back relaxed vibe to it - kind of like hostel feeling but luxury! I would definitely reccommend it - just not if you are looking for a true 5 star luxury hotel. This was also a great location, having stayed at a motel further away previoulsy it was great to be within close walking distance to the main strip and some great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon after returning from an excursion in the Sierras. Very accomodating of our late arrival. Super clean, extra comfortable lodging in a retro old Hollywood era hotel. The hot tub was a dream! Many thanks and much appreciation for a great stay! The staff also arranged early morning transportation for us to airport. AAA+ and take advantage of rate specials. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a four day stay I had re-learned the words of many Sinatra era songs. I enjoyed the constant background music but it could be an irritation to others.
The hotel is conveniently situated and within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants and the Thursday night market. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a good sized swimming pool and jakuzi. The wine flows during the happy hour and this is a great way to meet fellow guests and learn in more detail about the tourist attractions.The breakfasts are also taken around the bar area and there is constant hot water and tea/coffee throughout the day. Overall we found it excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Movie Colony Hotel. Our two-room suite was spacious and quiet. Room number 12 even has 2 bathrooms and a kitchen which makes it convenient for two people. The happy hour was a pleasant surprise and the evening fire pit became a conversation hub for guests to get acquainted. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown shopping, the museum and a variety of restaurants. The continental breakfast is limited (especially if you have dietary issues such as lactose intolerance) but the morning conversation around the breakfast bar was enjoyable.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms require walking up stairs and some are right off of the pool, so keep that in mind when r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I wanted to believe it would be a quaint, retro spot. I expected that it would have drawbacks but that I would overlook them because of the mid century "charm" - but I couldn't.

The carpet was stained and disgusting. The furniture was stained and broken in some places. The shutters were partially broken, there was no stopper in the sink, there were extra holes still in the wall where they had moved towel bars. The soap holder in the shower was worn through to the base plastic, the shower drain was chipped and nasty looking. I couldnt get the water hot in the morning and the temp changed randomly, like another room had run their water and I'd lose my hot water.

The door wouldn't close right and twice when I returned to the room the door was ajar when I thought I had locked it, oh yeah they still use regular keys in the locks, not magnetic cards. so gawd knows who still has a key to your room.

Most other negative items other reviewers mentioned, I experienced those too, I just don't want to spend and hour recalling all the bad things.

Nice enough staff, but a run down nasty place that I would never stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just enjoyed a three night stay here, in a poolside room. The staff was super friendly and helpful! The continental breakfast and nightly happy hour were really nice to have. Only 16 rooms, a pool and jacuzzi open 24hrs and no lil tykes allowed. Nice.
We were able to walk or bike everywhere.
The building is retro and is a little piece of history, so if you are looking for a cookie cutter chain hotel, stay away and leave it to us that appriciate historical Palm Springs.
Thanks, we would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Address: 726 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movie Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.