We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hollywood Glamour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Movie Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Movie Colony Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   726 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Hollywood Glamour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Laying out by the pool, tunes by Sinatra, Martin and Buble filled the warm air. Great atmosphere for those who just want to relax and rest in beautiful Palm Springs. I stayed in a classic room which had a King size bed, a simple bathroom with fantastic water pressure, couple of couch like chairs, and a flat screen tv. From 8:30AM to 10:30AM the hotel provides a continental breakfast which consisted of bagels, cream cheese, jams and honey, granola cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, teas, oj and ice water. In the evening, oh my goodness, it's happy hour time with wine and in house made cocktails. Superb! There are bicycles for use by hotel guests which was a great means of transportation for those who just wanted to cruise the nearby downtown area. The only couple of downsides that I noticed was that the location, although quite close to downtown and nearby restaurants, only has one restaurant nearby (El Mirasol). The other restaurant I frequented which was only 3 blocks away was Trio. Both restaurants were fantastic. The last downside was the temperature of the pool. It was cold!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    84
    30
    17
    8
See reviews for
11
170
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This feels like a converted motel that is now quite long in the tooth. The overall decor which was once nicer is now shabby. On the positive side the rooms are large and decks spacious. The rugs are filthy. We enjoyed Palm Springs but were disappointed in the Movie Colony.

Room Tip: High floor has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were really looking forward to staying here. When we arrived, after waiting over 5 minutes for hotel staff to come to the desk, we were informed that you must be 21 to stay at the hotel because there is no fence around the pool. Our son is 12. There is nothing on their website about this rule. Also, there is no staff member onsite overnight.

The front desk lady said she would call the hotel next door to see if they had rooms and spoke to the owner about letting us stay. Both times she acted like it was my oversight that led to the problem. She was not friendly but said we could say if my son stayed out of the pool. Yes, let's keep the kid who has been in the car since dawn out of the pool! They only reason I book hotels with pools is for him to work out his wiggles.

It was clear to me that we were NOT their target market. After her suggestion that we could check with the Marriot, I said I would handle it myself and went out to the car and used my Trip Advisor app to find the Days Inn. So glad we did.

Even if we were over 21, I think I would not stay here. The staff person was unhelpful, seemed uninterested in our plight, and whatever the pictures look like, the place is tiny. Boutique is an apt description.

Room Tip: The road is loud so get a room as far away from it as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I loved loved loved this place. There are only 18 units, and is truly a boutique hotel. We had a 2nd floor terrace room overlooking the courtyard (not the pool) and it was spacious, and was decorated so nicely. The photos on their website do not lie. The landscaping is beautiful and the views of the nearby mountain ranges are great. There's a complimentary daily Happy Hour and morning breakfast at the "bar" in the courtyard. This is a nice way to meet fellow travelers and compare notes and sightseeing ideas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Loved this place. I scored a summer special and we stayed 1 night. LOVED that it is 21 and over!!! The staff was wonderful, happy hour was a pleasant surprise, the bed was comfortable, the outdoor patio was secluded. We didn't get in the pool but I like that it is open 24 hours.

We walked a couple of blocks to have dinner and then walked to downtown from there. It was wonderful! My only complaint is the floor is woven jute and it hurt my feet to walk on it. That will not stop me from going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in many ways except one: the air conditioners. The first room had an old through-the-wall unit that was terribly noisy. The front desk moved me to a different room which was slightly better. Granted, AC noise is a chronic problem with many hotels in Palm Springs. But this is a town where you often need the AC running all night, so only hotels with new equipment merit the best ratings.

On other fronts, the staff was helpful, the continental breakfast was fine, and the location was great -- walkable to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I came here for business with a dash of pleasure. The check in person was so nice when I commented on the music they were playing & he even made me a mixed CD that he gave me the next day. I liked the shared/community style refridgerator that they have set up outside for cocktail/snack happy hour and breakfast that allows you to meet other guests. Had a wonderful time each time I've stayed and met very interesting people from all over!

Room Tip: just ask and they will be glad to assist. be specific of what you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Address: 726 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movie Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.