We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-century design experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chase Hotel of Palm Springs

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chase Hotel of Palm Springs
200 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rates
Ranked #19 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mid-century design experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A combination of some planning and a bit of luck led to our choosing to stay at The Chase Hotel during our visit to Palm Springs in late December 2012. It certainly satisfied our desire to find accommodation that is part of the mid-century architecture that defines the character of the city.

Current and previous owners have obviously made some challenging decisions over the years about what to retain to preserve the essential design character and what to replace when worn out or to upgrade to meet contemporary expectations. The reception area has had a stylish but sympathetic makeover. Our spacious unit - which included a separate living and kitchen, had seen some replacements and changes but very much retained its original fittings and character.

The location is excellent, with the backdrop of the rocky hills rising above the desert plain, and a walk of only one block to downtown Palm Springs.

However, at a total of about US$185/night including add-ons like taxes, The Chase Hotel turned out to be rather expensive, although it was very useful to have a reasonably equipped kitchen which gave us the cost-saving option of cooking rather than eating out at a restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    54
    11
    16
    5
See reviews for
58
125
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, BC
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you're looking for a consistently great experience in Palm Springs, stay at the Chase Hotel. This is our 6th trip to the Chase and it's consistently wonderful.

The staff are upbeat and friendly, the other guests interesting, the dog policy second to none.

It's located just a block off the main street of downtown Palm Springs, close to several good restaurants and interesting shops.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms open onto the pool area. We've stayed in 3 different rooms and all have had a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for a 1-night escape; this was our first time staying at The Chase. It wasn't quite my first choice, mostly because this was more of a quick, budget getaway to attend a party. On the other hand, I wanted to stay within walkable distance to downtown, and this fit the bill very well. My husband & I have previously stayed at a number of the small, older lodging choices in downtown P.S., so we are pretty familiar with the competition.

I'd say that for the price, this is a great deal. On the other hand, both of us noticed that the room had a funky smell...nothing horrible, nothing specific, but rather just the aged funk of an older property. The room itself was quite clean, esp. the bathroom, in terms of the baseboards and tiles, areas that often get overlooked. Still, the room did show signs of age that the property itself did not. The lobby area was decorated in the current trend of glam/mid-century (white leather couch, starburst mirror) and felt a bit more polished and upscale than the room itself. Nothing dirty, nothing obviously "wrong" -- it just felt (and smelled) its age.

What I did like about this property was the very large lawn area (complete with shuffleboard, if you're so inclined) and that the pool had toys/floaties available for the kids. Speaking of which, this is one of the fewer small boutique properties I've found that offers rooms with 2 beds and is family friendly. That alone could be a feature that will bring us back with the kids for another stay. The view from our upstairs window facing the mountains just made us happy to be back in the desert again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Chase for my 60th birthday .. couldn't have been better! The room was the quietest of any hotel I've ever stayed at and the beds were amazing! Location is perfect, staff are super friendly, and it was spotless!
I'd go back to the Chase in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: 207 is without a balcony but it is extremely quiet as it is away from stairs or foot traffic, but ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were so glad that we did! Doesn't look like much from the outside (in fact we almost couldn't find it - the sign is on the corner and no way near the lobby entrance) but has a lovely inner courtyard and super friendly managers/owners/staff and only 26 rooms! Only a block from the main street (although you never hear any noise from it) so everything is a short walk away. Our first room had no kitchen nor balcony or patio but was one of the quietest hotel rooms I have ever been in. In fact we felt like we were the only people in the hotel it was so quiet. We had hoped to have a room with a balcony or patio and three days into our trip we were able to move to a larger room with a kitchen and balcony which was lovely and except for a noise that we could occasionally hear (I think it was the heating system though it sounded like a dryer) was also very quiet. Rooms were both very clean and bright, had comfortable beds and were quickly cleaned each morning while we were at breakfast. Breakfast - basically lots of fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, etc. and fresh squeezed orange juice and great coffee - was included and you could eat in the bright nook overlooking the courtyard chatting with the other guests or take it to your room and have it on your balcony. It was cold when we were there and we came home to a roaring fire, fresh baked cookies and a very warm welcome from whomever was on the front desk. We were celebrating my friend's birthday and they put a bottle of sparkling wine in our room for her on her birthday. A really nice touch! This is a lovely place to stay and I will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just came back to Seattle from a nine day stay at the Chase. I hesitated writing this review because I don't want more people to know about it because it is already difficult to get a room. Suffice it to say, for the room rate (which is modest) it is a huge bargain. It is clean, staff friendly and helpful, nice pool and garden, and close to everything. Planning on going back next January/February for two to three weeks if we can get in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The initial impression was great, the lobby and morning continental breakfast looked most appealing, although having said that the shrubbery outside appeared to need some immediate care. This observation, and the fact that the pool area vegetation was in a sad state of care ought to have been somewhat of a red flag. The staff however are quite jovial and wish to accommodate.

BUT, on entering the assigned room I immediately noted the carpets as being in need of a cleaning, the patio/balcony also could have used a washing down. The bathroom area was quite acceptable, the towels and complimentary soaps et cetera were all laid out nicely. As always a check was made of the soft furnishings, sadly dead insects were found embedded in some of these areas, the appearance of these might have been the dreaded "b" bug. Poor sound insulation from on-going street noise makes this a problematic issue for those who wish to take an afternoon siesta or enjoy a peaceful night,

I could not recommend this boutique hotel until some significant changes are made.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chase Hotel of Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel of Palm Springs

Address: 200 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel offers a great location, value and style - and captures the true ambiance of Palm Springs like no other property. It's small, friendly and distinctive, nestled between the serene historic Tennis Club District and the vibrant energy and activities found in the downtown village and beautiful Palm Canyon Drive. This renovated gem offers more bang for the buck than just about anyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Palm Springs
Chase Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chase Hotel of Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Chase Hotel of Palm Springs to your Saves list