We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escape
Save
You added Escape to your Saves list
641 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We traveled to Palm Springs with family then moved to Escape after they left for some non-family time. (This is NOT a family friendly resort.) It worked out well as the resort we originally booked to stay at (based on their high Trip Advisor rating) was not what we chose after arriving. We toured several before choosing Escape Resort, and are so happy we did. Unlike some others, the pix on the their website very closely reflect what you get when you arrive. The staff was very friendly and around when needed but not intrusive. Our room had a kitchen and full size fridge which was nice, even though we went out most nights. The location is great as it is only a few blocks from downtown and easily walked. The room was nicely decorated with modern furnishings and well equipped. The breakfast selection and amenities were more than we expected for the price. We will definitely be back to Palm Springs and will stay at Escape.

Room Tip: The rooms with Kitchens also have private patios with tables for outside dinning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
29
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel.

The hotel was not very well cleaned. The rooms looked old, though they told me they were renovated only a year ago! Not a good job - the rooms already feel like they're 5 years older.

The hotel was very quiet, so that was fine.

The pool area was not very clean. I did not enjoy the hot tub since I was always the only person in it at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not much else I can add to my previous reviews of Escape. Owners Mark and Greg continue to work hard on maintaining a beautiful resort. Best feature is the pool, which gets plenty of sun, and is clean and well-maintained. Rooms are clean, quiet and well-appointed. Very comfortable bed, as well. A large Flatscreen HD TV is nice, and plenty of DVDs available, or hook up your laptop to the TV for other entertainment.
I always like the morning breakfast with a healthy variety of cereals, fruits and plenty of coffee.

As I have previously mentioned, this is NOT a wild party resort...The guests are pretty relaxed and just looking to unwind. For those looking for more activity, I would suggest a day-pass at some of the other resorts, just a few minutes away. Evenings at the hot-tub are most relaxing, and nice to look up at the stars.

Definitely back again in the fall!

Easy walk to downtown with restaurants and nightclubs. In a nice quiet neighborhood also.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed for the 2nd time in Escape and loved it like the 1st time.
This place is nice quiet but nice guys to c hat with stay there
u are not far from downtown, not far from cuisiest resorts if u need
this place is well mainatained beautiful and u can be urself there nude if u wish
the owners are really sweet and helpful!!
U will never want to get elsewhere when u have taste Escape
Benoit

Room Tip: patio rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time stay here but certainly won't be my last.

The grounds are beautifully maintained and the view of the mountains is perfect. The pool is large and well maintained with plenty of comfortable chairs.

The king room I stayed is was large and had a full kitchen with an eat in area. Outside the room there was also a couple cushion loungers and a full patio set. Storage space was very ample with two closets plus a chest of drawers. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with everything you need.
The location is close enough to downtown to make for a nice stroll but not on the main drag so you don't have a lot of street noise.

I have been coming to Palm Springs for over 20 years and can safely say that you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Escape. The resort is fantastic. It is very mid century comfortable, focused on a large pool. The outdoors areas and the rooms are spiffy and clean. The staff is helpful and never intrusive. The property is very well located and easy to find. I am a huge fan and will absolutely be back in the fall.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The previous reviews state things so beautifully. The mature, gorgeous landscaping with a backdrop of blue skies and mountains provide a setting of peace and tranquility. The rooms give you the comforts you need. The pool and hot tub are glorious. The guests respect themselves and each other.

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape

Address: 641 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 1950's property is one of the longest running clothing optional gay resorts in Palm Springs. Perfectly located less than a mile from downtown, it is an easy walk to numerous Gay Bars & Restaurants. Our east/west-situated pool allows you to enjoy full sun all day. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views and lush tropical grounds, you'll escape in a resort where you can relax, be yourself and submerge in our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Escape Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.