We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Palm Springs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escape
Save
You added Escape to your Saves list
641 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Palm Springs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had never been to Palm Springs and the city did not disappoint! This Hotel was fine, too.

We took a taxi from the airport and thought we could walk to the downtown area, since that's what my partner was told when he booked the room, but that didn't really work out so we ended up renting a car. Once we had a car we were able to go to the Albertsons a mile away and not spend all our money at restaurants. There was no food on site or anywhere nearby. With the car we were also then close enough to the canyons for a good hike.

We stayed in one of the small king rooms which was perfectly nice. Since its a small hotel we were near enough to the pool. We used the pool a couple of times, pool towels were provided though they weren't very big. Bottled water at the pool is available for purchase.

We chose this place because it had a good review when we booked it and it was (barely) within our budget.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we only wish you were as happy with our resort as you were our city. We have been unable to reach you personally, but if you are amenable we would greatly appreciate it if you would contact us so we may address your concerns

We do tell guests that the walk to downtown is an easy one, but since that is subjective we will be sure to be more clear in the future. Although a fairly small city, relatively speaking, Palm Springs is somewhat spread out unless you are downtown. According to Google it is 1.1 miles to the heart of the downtown area and gay hotspots. You can shave off about 4-5 minutes of your walk during the daytime if you don’t mind cutting across an open field or taking the trail along the wash (although these are not good options after dark as the ground is uneven and has trip hazards.) The nearest restaurant, Pizza Hut, is .3 miles (or Rock Garden if you cut across the field) and you have over 20 other restaurants to choose from within 1.2 miles. Additionally besides our light continental breakfast there are many delivery options and menus available. Many of our regular guests do not rent cars, however if you wish to visit the local tourist sites we do recommend a rental. We also have two brand new bicycles available for rent on the property for guests that would like to experience Palm Springs without a car, but would prefer not to walk.

Regarding water, each room gets 2 complimentary bottles of water per day, in addition to that we have a single serve, chilled (5 gal) bottled water dispenser in the library and water available from the ice machine. Beyond those options we do have bottles for sale at 25¢ each.

As for budget constraints, our prices in September started at $99/night and there were often other discounts available for multi-night stays. We believe you will find our prices to be below the mid-point of resorts in the area and very competitive with similar properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
33
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We chose Escape based on mostly positive reviews here and we were not disappointed. The resort is nice, with a large pool (great for a morning swim) and a hot tub (great after a long day). Both are heated nicely. Our upgraded (and recently remodelled) room looked great. There were also some nice touches...the snack box, the towel and kit by the night stand - very thoughtful! The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of room to spread out. Breakfast was self-served with a large variety of items.

Mark and Greg were nice. They were always there to answer questions, but were not intrusive. The only mystery was why there were not more guests. I realize it was slow season, but given how nice the property is (I've stayed in several in Palm Springs over the years and this was definitely the nicest) and the very reasonable rates, there should be...

We had a great stay at Escape and would return the next time we are in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you guys! We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We ended up leaving the Escape hotel early, and suddenly, as we were confronted with a hazardous situation. We rarely saw any other people on the property even though we were paying full in-season rates and never once did any employee of the hotel initiate any contact with us or even check to make sure everything was OK.

What happened is that me and my partner were alone at the resort in the hot tub and a worker came in through a side gate directly adjacent to the hot tub and propped the gate fully open, exposing the hot tub to the street only a few feet away. I asked him to please close the gate. He proceeded to close the gate part way, but still propped open, then went out to his vehicle and came back with a gas powered string trimmer, which sends a monofilament line rotating at high speed. He proceeded to start the gas-powered string trimmer on the pool deck inches from my head and then proceeded to “trim” the grass directly adjacent to the pool deck, sending shrapnel at high speed at our heads. I screamed for him to stop so we could get out of the hot tub, and he stopped it for one moment and then restarted it, again sending high speed shrapnel at us as we very quickly got out and collected our things and got out of there.

He then proceeded to put the string trimmer away, propped the gate fully open, and went to the other side of the property to hack at a tree. In other words he physically chased us away so that he could prop the gate open.

There was no one else visible on the property at the time of the incident and no one in the hotel office. I went and knocked on the owner’s door and another man answered. He was wearing headphones and was behind a closed door so he saw and heard nothing of the incident. I asked this employee, the only employee of the hotel on the property at that time, to do something and he told me that there was nothing he could do; I would have to wait for the owner to get back. I asked him how long and he said he did not know. I told him we may be leaving, but in the meantime we would be in our room.

We got back to the room and were trying to decide between calling the police for being assaulted with flying debris by this gardener and leaving. We chose to leave. I think that we had every right to flee from this extreme and hazardous situation. We did speak to the only hotel representative on the site at the time and he refused to do anything. I do not believe we should have been expected to stick around for the owner to show up at some indeterminate time in the future.

As it turned out, when we were leaving, an entire crew of gardeners showed up to work at the pool area, and yet nobody had warned us in advance. Not when we checked in on Monday, not between Monday and Thursday, not even Thursday morning when I had spoken to the owner. And there were no signs put up anywhere saying the pool would be closed or was closed.

We felt endangered and abused with no recourse but to leave. Astonishingly the owner did not feel that there was anything wrong enough to merit a refund of even the nights we did NOT stay at the property.

That was the incident. The entire stay however there was a lack of hospitality – at no time during our stay did anyone come over and greet us. This is a small specialty property where service and hospitality are supposed to be paramount, and yet we got NO service and NO hospitality. No one asked us how our stay was. No one did one single thing that could be called “hospitality” while we were there. The only time we saw the owner was when we checked in and when I came and knocked on his door.

After the incident the one employee on the property let us know that the gardeners usually come on Thursdays. Nobody told us this in advance. Nobody put up a pool-closed sign to warn of a potentially hazardous situation. Maybe if someone had told us, even without the incident, we could have been elsewhere that afternoon and not been hanging around the hotel while the pool was about to be closed. But nobody told us anything.

This was the worst, most disastrous hotel stay I've ever had anywhere in the country, and for it to be at a small gay resort where hospitality is the most important thing is unforgivable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to read our response. To be honest, we almost didn’t respond, because we did not want our response to show our frustration, but maybe showing a little frustration isn’t a bad thing. We are not a faceless corporation. We are two guys who literally put our blood, sweat and tears into this business and with rare exception genuinely enjoy what we do.

We are confident most of you will be able to read between the lines of this review, see through the wild accusations and understand what it truly is: an attempt to blackmail an unwarranted refund from a small business owner. What started out as a threat to “put negative reviews all over the web” if we didn’t refund a portion of his stay, has now morphed into one of our subcontractors “assaulting” him and his partner. It became impossible to amicably resolve the situation due to the fact that every attempt we made to speak with these guests to determine what transpired during their stay was met by an ever-changing story of ever increasing severity. (A quick search of other review sites will show how the story changes.)

After several days of exchanging casual pleasantries with these guests we were shocked when on the last day of their stay the reviewer requested a refund and then threatened to post bad reviews all over the web if we did not comply. The guest felt the resort was not crowded enough to serve their needs. Clearly this reviewer followed through with their threat.

Without being defensive, we would like to point out that there was 1 to 4 other rooms rented during their stay and the reviewer stayed Monday thru Wednesday of the week prior to the Thanksgiving Holiday. Not only are weekdays not as busy as weekends (and priced accordingly), but as those in this business will attest, the week or weekend prior to a holiday is typically slower as most people don’t take back to back vacations. Can you imagine going down to the front desk at the Hyatt and demanding a refund because the hotel was not full? Do you think they expect to get a refund for their concert ticket when the arena doesn’t sell out too? We don’t understand this logic or know of any other similar business model.

After we declined to provide a refund is when the gardener story emerged. At first, they claimed the gardener pelted them with clippings from the weed-eater then the story morphed and escalated from being “chased” off of the property to the gardener “assaulting” this guest. We take safety at the resort VERY seriously. If anyone should ever have problem regarding safety or any incident happens in which safety is an issue we want to know and will address it immediately. Likewise, should there ever be an altercation we would encourage guests to call the police or would gladly call the police ourselves. This reviewer’s use of the word “assault” is offensive to anyone who as ever actually experienced an assault.

As the many other positive reviews point out, service at our hotel is paramount. We are here for guests as much as they want us to be. We make every effort to take care of guests’ needs. For the occasions when we might not be in the office (because we are in back doing laundry, in a room performing renovations, at the store picking up breakfast…) there is a phone on the counter in the office with a single button that when depressed will call us directly. There is a backup phone in the alcove beside the office. Not only do we have staff on site daily but we personally can be found 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Sadly we realize we are not able to please this guest and we wish him well in finding another resort to fit his specific needs. We truly believe that when we did not respond as he had hoped; by cowering to the threat of negative reviews and providing the demanded refund, he made up another concern so extreme that it wasn’t safe for them to even be on the property or take time to check-out. We hope that potential guests will take our response into consideration and understand that we put all of our time and effort into making the resort the best that it can be. We always have and always will take to heart all constructive criticisms and suggestions and work to better ourselves and our resort. Many improvements have been made at the resort in direct response to suggestions and constructive criticisms from your reviews. We hope you will give us the opportunity to share these improvements with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here the first weekend of November, and as in my previous two visits, everything was nearly perfect. Not much I can add to my previous reviews. Clean, comfortable room, nice pool/spa area, and attentive, personable hosts. The perfect place to relax. Of course, I'll be back in the spring!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you again for taking time to submit a review. We truly appreciate you (and our other frequent guests), but we beg you not to use the word perfect in your reviews. It makes it too hard to live up to! :)

All joking aside, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and will do our best to make the next just as enjoyable. See you in the spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love this property! The minute one walks through the front gate it screams vacation BLISS! The property is well maintained, with lots of attention to detail. The pool gets just the right amount of sun during the heat of the day, the chaise lounges are clean and comforting, the honor frig is perfect for those needing liquid breaks, and the host, Mark, makes one feel like you are the only guest at the resort. Our room was clean, simple, but with all the necessities. The bed is great; the kitchen area has everything one would need to maintain a multi-day vacation. My favorite is the large flat screen TV directly in front of the bed, just like home! The resort provides a nice breakfast spread, and a great happy hour "mingle with the other guests" daily. This is a great place to call home for a few days or a few weeks. Escape provides a great value based on price, location, and room quality. This is a wonderful place catering to gay men and is worth checking out. Plenty of free parking is provided. If you happen to be visiting without the benefit of a vehicle, Escape is walking distance to many eateries, and local shopping.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with the enclosed patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for posting the photos as well your gracious review. We never get tired of hearing about what an unexpected surprise the grounds are once you are inside the gates. Additionally we are so happy to see that you noticed so many of the other little things we do in order for you to enjoy yourself at a “great value.” (“Great Value” is your description, who are we to argue? LOL) We hope to see you another time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

THis is my first time in a gay resort in PS and the experience was a really nice one, I choose this hotel cause of the great reviews I read on here and everything is true except for some minor details that I will expand further.
If you are looking for a "all about sex" resort look elsewhere, this small resort is far from that althought you can do in the property whatever you what but it cathers a more laidback relax visitors. the common areas are really well kept and the swimming pool and the jacuzzi are really nice. There are only 2 rooms that aren't remodeled and I stayed in one!! had a not so well kept carpet and the bathroom looked outdated and need some repairs. Having said that the room was clean and comfortable. Mark the owner (which is a really nice guy and a wonderfull host) explained that by december they will fiinish the remodeling of these 2 rooms. I had the chance of see the other remodeled rooms and are a jewel!!!! really simple but really nice!!!
the daily breakfast was very nice too!
Overall I will stay again is a super value!

Room Tip: when booking a standard room avoid room 19 until december that is remodeled all the rest are very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We thank you for your positive review and are happy to say we’re down to the home stretch on room renovations. (Although in this business it never truly ends.) We will not be stopping when we complete the rooms though…as there are plenty of other improvements rolling out for the new year. We look forward to you staying again and being able to show you what else we have in store!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was tied to other (friend's) resorts, so I didn't stay at Escape until recently. The other resorts have been sold and going through changes, which prompted many to venture to ESCAPE. My first time was the weekend of Sept 28-Oct 1, 2012. First off, Mark was terrific when making the arrangements and then finally meeting him (and Greg) in person. I had seen pictures online and heard from other friends how much they liked the grounds, the setting and just the overall feel of the place. I immediately fell into place here. I like the experience of a smaller resort. Relaxing with a cocktail by the pool was very peaceful. The other guests there were so friendly also. I could easily come back to Escape with friends. Hey, we may even try to get enough friends to book the place for a festive weekend. Give Escape a try. You will love it as much as we did. The rooms decor was nice and the beds were very comfortable. The A/C and fan kept the room cool very easily. We actually had to raise the temperature, because it got cold fast (efficient). Oh, don't forget the continental breakfast, enough to make you stay in for breakfast. The weekend happy hour was fun also. Mark and Greg, I could go on and on, but I want to save that for my future visits. Thanks again and congratulations on taking over this place and creating this wonderful environment for your new friends (guests). See you soon.

Room Tip: Go to their website. You can check the calendar and see what room types are available for future vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your “Escape!” We really do appreciate all of your comments and promise to keep doing our best to make future stays even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape

Address: 641 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 1950's property is one of the longest running resorts in Palm Springs. Perfectly located less than a mile from downtown, it is an easy walk to numerous Bars & Restaurants. Our east/west-situated pool allows you to enjoy full sun all day. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views and lush tropical grounds, you'll escape in a resort where you can relax, be yourself and submerge in our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Escape Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.