We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, well run property in a great location!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Lake Forest CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic, well run property in a great location!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had such a great time here. Only 12 rooms, all newly redone, Grounds are perfect... small but warm sparkling pool and hot tub. Great , genuine old desert California feel. Quiet, Quiet, Quiet. Not the place for kids, but a great romantic getaway for couples. Loved it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    800
    73
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
549
27
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were looking for a small hotel that offered a quiet setting, good service and reasonable value. Gary at Hotel California went out of his way to take care of anything we needed and made us feel very welcome. My wife spend Saturday relaxing at the hotel while I did a 100 mile bike ride. She was treated beautifully with whatever she needed in this calm setting. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. The bed was more comfortable than the one we have at home. The courtyard with a small pool and hot tub felt that a personal villa. This hotel was recently purchased and is in transition. It was not perfect but very close and I am certain we will return. Want a leisurely stay in Palm Springs? Try Hotel California!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were greeted at the desk by the lovely Lucy who gave us a tour of the property. Besides a nice, clean room, there is a pool and hot tub. The guest kitchen is nice--with coffee 24 hours a day, and water and sodas in the fridge (plus a toaster, a blender, stove, dishwasher and barbecues!) The fruit basket was always full. In our room there was a microwave and a small refrigerator with complimentary sodas and bottled water, as well as a complementary snack basket.

The hotel just had a grand reopening. This is an older hotel that has been refurbished, but it was very comfortable and homey. The owner, his daughter, and the manager were all very welcoming and I truly felt like a guest, not a customer. If you are looking for a quiet hotel a little off the beaten path, this is it! As I sat by the fire pit this morning with a hot cup of coffee, watching the hummingbirds play in the fountain, all I could think of was "I would love to rent out the entire hotel for a family reunion."

Lucy's recommendation for the Mexican restaurant down the street was spot on. Delicious!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed here in January and was pleasantly suprised at how beautiful the pool and grounds surrounding the courtyard were. The website pictures don't do it justice. Pool was very nice and warm which was a great treat since we just left another NY snow storm; The rooms have new furnishings and are a nice size; very comfortable beds (rooms just renovated); Gary and Judy were very accomodating and their suggestions for local restaurants were perfect; Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort collins, co
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

You can't find a more peaceful or beautuful place to stay in Palm Springs than the Hotel California. Our third stay here. Loved it before, love it even more now. Has new owners that can't seem to do enough for the place or its guests. If you are looking for a place to just unwind, stay here. As you sit at the pool and listen to the water trickling from the fountains and look around at all the lush tropical plants your mind and body just let go. The rooms are very nice and the beds super comfortable. The pool and hot tub are nice and warm, too. We missed last year, won't do that again. Can't wait to return to the little oasis in the desert!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Our stay here at the hotel was wonderful from the time we arrived to the time we said our good-byes. Gary was very accomodating to our needs. We stayed in th handicap accessible room which was spacious and suited our needs. The grounds are beautiful and the renovations look great. The hotel is gated and locked at night, so you are given a room key and a gate key. We felt very secure and safe. The pool area is nice with several tables and chairs and plenty of towels. At night candles illuminate the area creating a wonderful ambiance. We met the owners, Patty and Larry, and as with Gary, very pleasant and friendly. Parking is conveniently located on the property. Overall, we had a wonderful experience here. A couple of minor things to mention on the con side are the size of the pool (not really big enough to swim laps) and no fitness room. Also, a computer room will be added soon. If we are ever back in Palm Springs, we will return to Hotel California. You should check it out!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

stayed here over new year larry and the team have great ideas and plans to make this one of the best tickets in town Hotel is all you would expect from Palm Springs great location and level of service, will be a great find for couples who want to relax and enjoy the pool and sun suggest you look at reviews for desert riveria as they are same owners

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list