We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Relaxing Private Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Tropical Relaxing Private Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

A great find, comfortable room, pretty pool and jacuzzi, bbq and bar. All surrounded by tropical plants. Super place to relax and not feel you are staying in a hotel. Excellent service and did not mind a late check out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    84
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
120
700
39
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

this is great cute little hotel. no kids and a place to get much needed r&r. check it out!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Where do I begin..... Hotel California is a gem.
I stumbled across this little hideaway two years ago when I wanted a quiet getaway. It's hard to tell how hotels are from website photos, but when we arrived we were so pleased - it is a little tropical paradise. This past memorial day I wanted to get away by myself , but thought it was too late to make a reservation, but to my surprise when i called there was room available. Gary, the hotel manager is wonderful and makes each guest feel welcome. It was exactly as I remembered , quiet, clean, peaceful. If you want to get away from the crowds of downtown PS - this is the place. I will continue to return to this little gem of the desert . Truly a wonderful place to stay in Palm Spings......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We love this small hotel, great location, close by to downtown PS. Lush beautiful grounds with a large swimming pool, (rafts and floats provided). Nice, large jacuzzi. We have stayed here many times, in the smaller rooms as well as the larger ones. All feature super comfortable beds and kitchen amenities such as a refrigerator and microwave. This hotel is our first choice when visiting the greater Palm Springs area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had the place for ourselves for 4 of 5 nights and had the real Hotel Calfornia experience. The place is quiet at night, although it is close to a main road. The rooms are spacious and clean - they seem to clean the rooms daily even when unused.
They do not offer breakfast anymore, keep that in mind when you compare prices.
The location is perfect for exploring the desert cities and adjacent areas. It is not in walking distance to PS downtown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stay at Hotel California for our annual trip to California (from England) every year. The pool is private, the rooms are clean and large, and it is just far enough from the center of palm springs to allow for a bit of peace without having to travel too far to get to the wonderful palm springs night life. There is always someone around if you have a question or need something. The only bummer was that we had a hard time with the wifi last year, and they have now closed the breakfast room. But since our room has a fridge and microwave, that isn't such a big deal. And there's a great little coffee house half a block away. There's a wonderful jacuzzi as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Tranquil is the first word that comes to mind. I had been to Palm Springs many times and had always driven past Hotel California and wanted to stay there. This time I did and it was excellent. I had the studio suite. It had everything I need for my end of the season's week stay. Kitchen separate bedroom and living room. It was spotless and well maintained.
I spent my afternoons by the pool which is in the center of the courtyard but still feels secluded. Towards early evening I moved to one of the many outside decks and watched the sun set over the mountains. No matter what I asked for the staff was always ready to provide high quality service. I will return next season.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#14 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#7 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#16 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#4 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
#34 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.