We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spanish style intimate hotel, great location, great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“Beautiful Spanish style intimate hotel, great location, great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We love this small hotel, great location, close by to downtown PS. Lush beautiful grounds with a large swimming pool, (rafts and floats provided). Nice, large jacuzzi. We have stayed here many times, in the smaller rooms as well as the larger ones. All feature super comfortable beds and kitchen amenities such as a refrigerator and microwave. This hotel is our first choice when visiting the greater Palm Springs area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    75
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
596
33
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had the place for ourselves for 4 of 5 nights and had the real Hotel Calfornia experience. The place is quiet at night, although it is close to a main road. The rooms are spacious and clean - they seem to clean the rooms daily even when unused.
They do not offer breakfast anymore, keep that in mind when you compare prices.
The location is perfect for exploring the desert cities and adjacent areas. It is not in walking distance to PS downtown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stay at Hotel California for our annual trip to California (from England) every year. The pool is private, the rooms are clean and large, and it is just far enough from the center of palm springs to allow for a bit of peace without having to travel too far to get to the wonderful palm springs night life. There is always someone around if you have a question or need something. The only bummer was that we had a hard time with the wifi last year, and they have now closed the breakfast room. But since our room has a fridge and microwave, that isn't such a big deal. And there's a great little coffee house half a block away. There's a wonderful jacuzzi as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Tranquil is the first word that comes to mind. I had been to Palm Springs many times and had always driven past Hotel California and wanted to stay there. This time I did and it was excellent. I had the studio suite. It had everything I need for my end of the season's week stay. Kitchen separate bedroom and living room. It was spotless and well maintained.
I spent my afternoons by the pool which is in the center of the courtyard but still feels secluded. Towards early evening I moved to one of the many outside decks and watched the sun set over the mountains. No matter what I asked for the staff was always ready to provide high quality service. I will return next season.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I Recently was in Palm Springs and did not have a room and was driving on Palm Canyon Road and stumbled accross Hotel California. At first it was just name name and the Eagles song that caught my attention so I thought what the heck. After getting a tour of the place I felt like I was in the bahamas!! Stunning foliage all around the pool and hot tub and very quiet. If your looking for a place that is LOUD with lots of people then this is not your place. If your looking for a quiet place with its own charm and are not looking to be hassled with kids running and jumping around with great rooms... Then this is your place!! ENJOY - I did and will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEORIA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Had a great stay, the owner was very helpful and the beds were very comfortable. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Our stay at Hotel California did not disappoint. Wilford, the owner, showed us to our room, gave us a great rate, and made us feel at home. Since we were looking for the flavor of old Palm Springs, it was perfect. Our standard room included a kitchenette, our own table and chairs outside by the pool, and all the privacy we could want. No, the room was not luxurious but spotlessly clean and comfortable. There are many types of rooms available including a two story townhouse, so be sure to get the one that best suits your needs. If we were staying longer than the two days, we would have chosen a deluxe suite. Oh yes, this is an adults only setting, so peace and quiet abound.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.