We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just the best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The team at the hotel made us feel very welcome from the moment we walked in the front gate... a big thank you to Jay, Mike, Kirby and Curly. The hotel was very peaceful, the room (number 1) was lovely, spacious, very comfy bed and sofas and had everything we needed.

Everything was just perfect and helped make our honeymoon very special. From our little bike rides (hotel provides free bikes), to the BBQs, the beautiful pool and Jacuzzi and the sun loungers.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great for quick access when it gets too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    84
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
123
705
39
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

When we planned our 16 day road trip through Nevada, Arizona and California we always knew that the last leg of the tour would find us in Palm Springs and that this would be our “chill time” before the long flight that brought us back home to N. Ireland. We therefore wanted a hotel which would provide us with that opportunity and it was to Tripadvisor that we turned and it was there that we discovered the Hotel California. With so many positive comments and a check on the Hotels own website I sent an Email enquiring about making a booking and quickly followed this up with a telephone call and spoke with Lucy who confirmed my booking.

On arrival we were greeted by Curly, General Manager, who made us so so welcome and gave us a guided tour around the Hotel. As we took the tour Curly informed us about the communal kitchen, which was stocked with herbs and spices and sauces and the obligatory Bar-b-q. As well as the kitchen Curly advised us that fresh fruit was provided daily and we could just help ourselves but the “piece de resistance” was the large jar of red liquorice which again, along with the fruit, was complimentary.

There was also an extensive collection of up-to-date DVD’s and books which we could borrow to watch in our room or in the communal sitting room. As we walked and talked Curly showed us where the ‘phone was which we could be used to call friends and family and again this was free of charge. When we explained that all our chums were back in Ireland Curly stumped us by telling us that the complimentary service included international calls

We were then shown to our room which turned out to be a town house which if you go to the Hotel California’s website you will see consists of a two storey house with a fully fitted kitchen, comfortable sitting room, 2 bathrooms complete with showers a very large bedroom and a 2nd floor patio area. There were also the little touches which included a basket of what our American friends call chips and candy otherwise known as crisps, pretzels and sweets for our enjoyment

As part of our walk through tour Curly showed us the pool area and the Jacuzzi as well as the towels and suntan lotion which yet again was complimentary. Again if you go to the Hotel California website you will see photographs taken by the Hotel as well as guests and can I just say the reality of the Hotel and its amenities are as they appear in the photos utterly captivating

Following the unpacking we decided to take a walk around on our own and this is when we met Mike an absolute font of local knowledge. We said we needed to get some provisions in and he advised us of the many shops, restaurants and watering holes in the area along with excellent directions. He then asked if we were going to drive or take the bikes? We were a tiny bit puzzled until he showed us the Hotels bicycles which we could borrow at any time and again these were complementary. (I don’t think, in fact I know, I have never encountered or heard of any Hotel that offers so much to their patrons than what the Hotel California does)

The following day we met Kirby who on hearing we were arranging to take a guided tour of the homes of the rich and famous produced a book which provided the names, addresses and pictures of the stars and their homes and suggested that we undertook a tour ourselves which we did. Brilliant suggestion Kirby.

On our final day it was with a heavy heart that we departed the Hotel California and as we said goodbye to Jay he asked the inevitable question “Did you enjoy your stay?” My response was that staying at the Hotel California was like having a very rich and generous friend who had a magnificent home with everything you could ever want or need and who asks you if you would, while he was on holiday, like to come over and stay at his place. In short that pretty well sums up our experience with Curly and his Team who delivered on so many levels in a warm, welcoming, professional and unobtrusive manner the best experience we have ever had as guests not only in American but throughout Europe and the Middle East. Would we return to the Hotel California? In a heartbeat

Continued success to the Hotel California and her Team

Room Tip: Book and Book early as you do not want to miss the oppurtunity of stayinh here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've been coming to Palm Springs for years and tolerating the drunken, smoking masses that congeal at most of the hotels/motels on any given weekend. I've always noted the Hotel California, but since it didn't come up on any of the usual hotel sites, I always forgot to look into staying there -- until now. It is reasonably priced and the accommodations are top-notch, including Wi-Fi that actually works! The property is small, and adult-centric, so if you're looking for peace (or a place to work and write, as I was), this is the place. The most notable thing about the Hotel California, beyond the place itself, is the customer service. They went WAY out of their way to accommodate me, and when my plane was late getting in, they made special arrangements to make sure I got into my room that night. Once you check in, all of the amenities are free, from the water and soda in the room's refrigerator, to the small fleet of bicycles they have for everybody's use. They don't nickel and dime you for things the way so many places do. They also have a full kitchen and two nice new gas BBQs for everybody to use. Unheard of.

I've found THE place to stay in Palm Springs. Finally.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have been going to Palm Springs for years and have stayed at several locations. The management and staff have created the perfect Palm Spring getaway destination. Hotel California features a verity of rooms to complete your needs, a wonderful swimming pool with pool side seating for each guest, a joint kitchen for all guest to use, barbeques, a large covered patio next to the pool, with piped in music, and depending which rooms you stay in a privet balcony with wonderful views of Palm Springs.

Room Tip: You have great options, depends what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on our roadtrip, I choose the hotel because of the fantastic reviews it had received on tripadvisor and we weren't let down. Charming hotel, the staff were very accommodating and very willing to offer help and advise.
We were traveling from the UK and I loved the fact I could use the telephone to call back to the UK, i found this a very personal touch the hotel offered.
The rooms were tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds.
The courtyard and pool area was a real treat very relaxing and tranquil.
If we do return to Palm Springs we would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff of Hotel California thinks of every detail: personal tour upon arrival, soft drinks and snacks in the room, a huge kitchen, shared bicycles. The small property felt like home. We would definitely stay at this hotel, which is in a great location, again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Thanks so much to the staff at Hotel California. Great place, fantastic staff! I will be back! Nothing but quality at this location. Spotless hospitality kitchen for guest's usage as well as a lounge area to escape the heat.

Room Tip: Wanna relax, this is the spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#12 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#30 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.