We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are in LOVE with Hotel California !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Graham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We are in LOVE with Hotel California !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My hubby booked this hotel to help celebrate my birthday. I was so surprised to see how sweet the place was. We were spoiled from the first minute we arrived. A warm greeting, a glass of wine and a personal walk through the cozy tropical setting of this little piece of Paradise. We booked the townhouse and it was perfect! Then an ice bucket and pink champagne came to the door with a smile and hug. Never bothered by kids in the pool, no noise from parties late at night. It was just perfect. Always making sure we had a cool drink while at the pool and the humming birds gave use a show everyday. Price was right, clean and relaxing. We will never look anywhere else when we stay in Palm Springs. Thanks to the owner, staff and house keepers for making that part of my birthday~~~"GREAT"

Room Tip: It looks like all the rooms were great but I really felt spoiled in the townhouse. Book soon as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    78
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
104
606
34
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were in paradise. My bf and I walked into the hotel to find the reception area and found it empty. Upon reading a notice on the door we were instructed to give a call to a number posted on the sign if no one was in the room. We called and within a minute we were greeted by Curly. What a great guy! Offered us water, soda or wine , of course we went for the wine, and then were promptly checked in. We were then shown the property which was small but so beautiful. He showed us the lounge area which has a tv and DVD library to use at our leisure. The selection was vast but we didn't get to watch anything since we spent most of out time by the pool or off property. There is also a phone to use for free calls including international, which was really nice considering my parents live in another country. After that he showed us the communal kitchen area followed by a BBQ area which is all available to the guests.
We were then shown to our room, the tree house room #12. It was perfect. Huge comfortable bed and pillows and a small kitchenette on the other side of the room. The fridge had waters and soda all complimentary. There was also a welcome basket with snacks which were also complimentary.
Curly also told us about the bikes that they had available to all guests as well as a complimentary limo to drop off and pick up guests wherever they go.
We had such an amazing time and usually come to Palm Springs two or three times a year. We will now know never to book anywhere else as this place was perfection.
The pool was a good size for the small property and always had great music playing with misters on during the day.
Thank you so much to the great team of staff who took care of us on our stay. We look forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I just came back from our 3rd annual visit to Hotel California. The hospitality and service is still beyond compare, although we did miss seeing Lucy's smiling face and bubbly personality. If you just want some quiet tranquility and not have to think about what you're doing or when, this is the place, because Larry, Curly and Kirby (MO), do all the thinking, reservation making and limo driving for you!
We have just made our return reservation for 2015, so don't even second guess yourself, just book it!

Room Tip: We always stay in King Suite #1. It's great to have room to spread out, and the fact that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Return trip. As usual, the staff is amazing (Curly, Mike, Larry - owner, and Uncle Jay). They are super fun to hang out with also. Love the pool, meeting the other folks staying there, great community kitchen - all you need is the food. Nice location away from downtown but easy to Uber, bike, or limo. You can walk as well.
Rooms are comfy and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquebogue, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights while we visited family and visited Palm Springs for the first time. We were travelling from out of state and received a call from the hotel the morning of our arrival letting us know that our room was available and were welcome to come early if we'd like. Unfortunately, our travels delayed our arrival to late that night and when we arrived, the hotel clerk, Curly, was doing a limo run (complimentary limo pick-up and drop-off at local restaurants and places of interest for guests of the hotel) and the gates to the hotel were locked so we had to wait for about 5 minutes until he arrived. When he arrived, he showed us around, brought us to our room and gave us keys that worked the gates to the compound (gates are kept locked after 9pm). He also told us that we could take care of the check-in process the next day after we had the opportunity to rest up from our travels which we truly appreciated. The next day we checked in and were greeted by the owner and staff. Everyone was very helpful and and the check-in process was handled quickly and smoothly. The hotel overs a communal kitchen which is stocked with complimentary fresh fruit, coffee, condiments, microwave, refrigerator, english muffins, etc. for the guests. The pool was great with a couple of floats available. A separate deep, hot tub is available for use. The courtyard and pool area is very "tropical," unlike what you'd expect in the dessert. There were misters over some of the chaises and cantelever umbrellas which were opened over the pool during the hottest part of the afternoon. Bicycles are available for local cruising, too. The staff is quote attentive, always there at the ready to help you with whatever you need. It definitely was a very relaxing .

Our room was on the 2nd floor. There was a shared sitting area outside the sliding glass entry door that had a picnic table and umbrella and a couple of chaises. Very comfy. The room had a king bed which was very comfortable with very comfortable pillows. It also had a desk and small cafe table along with a wet bar area, microwave and coffeemaker.

There was a sink and countertop outside the bathroom. The bathroom had a full tub and toilet. Overall, the room was furnished with mismatched furniture but was very neat and homey. Housekeeping was attentive and did a great job making up the room every day and responded to requests for additional items.

Overall, we had a great time and would definitely go back .

Room Tip: There is no fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was fortunate enough to happen upon this hotel on TripAdvisor a couple of months before my planned trip. After calling and finding out there was only 1 room left for that weekend, Larry offered to hold it for 24 hours while I considered (read: cleared it with my SO). Calling back and confirming the booking was the best decision I made for our trip.

There is simply too much to list. Amazing property. Amazing staff. Unbelievable amenities. An absolutely perfect stay while acclimating to the heat of the Palm Desert and relaxing before further travels. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Any. King suite was fantastic. (Room 11 / 1)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The moment we walked into the foyer, we knew we were entering a special place. A warm welcome from the staff who offered us water/juice/beer or wine to get us settled in was just the first of many attentive details by the staff to ensure guests had a great stay. The setup of the place was conducive to a most relaxing stay with sitting areas in the courtyards, poolside mister, lit candles in the evening, BBQ and fully functional kitchen for common use, books and dvds for your use...it's like home away from home. We stayed in the jr. suite with its own kitchenette, so we didn't use the common kitchen, but if we needed anything, they were available for use in the common kitchen. All rooms come with free snacks and bottled water. Our bed was very comfortable and boutique quality linens kicked things up another notch. It was quite unfortunate (and embarrassing) that I messed up on the days I thought I had reserved; for I would have loved to stay one more night rather than just 5 nights. The staff tried their best to extend our stay, but since they couldn't get a hold of the person coming in to confirm the room exchange, we had to vacate in a hurry since it was already mid-afternoon and it would take us 8+ hours to drive home. Thank goodness at that point we were still able to drive home (albeit arriving after midnight). Regardless, we had a great time in Palm Springs and Hotel California, and we'd definitely return.

You pay upfront, not on the day you check out. So remember to verify your dates at that point.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.