We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Eight days in paradise for out 30th anniversary. Wonderful small hotel and perhaps the best place we've ever stayed over the years. Larry, Patty, and especially Lucy, go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, as do Kirby, Kelly and Mike and all the rest of the staff; by the time we left we felt like family. The hotel website fairly describes all the amenities available, which basically consist of everything you might need from pots and pans in the communal kitchen to cruiser bicycles. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooking the pool. Total privacy and quiet, even on Palm Springs motorcycle weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    83
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
111
660
38
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were greeted and treated like royalty at Hotel California!!! We spent our 34th Anniversary at this awesome Hotel and we will be back many more times. Everything was so clean and accessible. The Jacuzzi and pool were amazing!. The people who worked there went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and fun. (Thanks Lucy).

Room Tip: King Romatica room has Jacuzzi just outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a great little place!! All the previous reviews speak the truth. The pool is just beautiful and so tropical. Stayed here for a night this weekend and decided to come back for another couple of nights this week....just didn't get enough. I'll never stay anywhere else when I go to the desert.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

WE weren't originally staying here. I booked via email at the Desert Riviera hotel, the "sister" hotel run by members of the same family, just down the road.
Unfortunately, when we arrived, the super-helpful and friendly owners of the Riviera told us they were out of action because they were having plumbing problems. Tradies had been working around the clock to fix it, but so far no luck.
What happened was that they arranged for us to stay with the sister Hotel California, where we were treated so well.
Everyone went out of their way to be helpful. They ordered the pizzas in we were after, gave us helpful information and especially told us about the date shakes at the Windmill Market on the way out of town. Excellent tip, guys - they're brilliant!
The people here obviously take great care of their guests, and take pride in their establishment. It has that personal touch you don't get in chain hotels or big resorts.
Thanks all, for workign together and overcoming a potentially distressing situation.
I would stay at either of these hotels without any hesitation (though I liked the pool area at the Riviera better - just the openness and grass surrounds!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautiful oasis in the desert. Charming, cozy and lush. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. For us it was great for a few days but by it's location so close to the mountains we lost the sun before 4pm and felt a bit closed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It was only a one night stay, but it was such a relaxing time. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is so friendly. The were able to set up a great dinner reservation for us, and take there in the limo. Once we got back we went for a swim, then sat around the fire pit. Everyone we encountered from the staff to the guest we incredibly friendly. As I said it only a one night stay, but we most certainly are planning a longer return trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

After a wonderfully comfortable night's sleep, I woke up at sunrise and was greeted by golden Jacinta mountains and a local hummingbird or two! There's only one way to describe my experience - I was totally enchanted!

You'll enjoy being picked up in a Harley Davidson limo, having a welcoming glass of wine, having a kitchenette in your room and an always stocked common kitchen area that includes two grills that will be prepped for your use, There's bicycles available for your use and a game/TV room that's always open. I guarantee you, no staff ANYWHERE aims to please like the staff at Hotel California.

The rooms and grounds are comfortable, beautiful and relaxing. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary while there and will find numerous reasons to return!

Room Tip: Every room has its own charm, so don't hesitate to tell the staff about you prefer when you call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.