We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was hard to leave.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Arlington, Washington
1 review
“It was hard to leave.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are looking for a small boutique hotel in this area - this is your place! The staff are your good friends, it is clean and very comfortable. We so enjoyed visiting with other quests, Lucy, Larry and of course Jay! (Hope your knee is healing!) We loved having the bikes to use too.
Thank you so much for giving us a couple of very memorable nights in a wonderful setting!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    78
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
104
606
34
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time to Palm Springs. Right from the get go it was perfect with Lucy greeting us by our first names and then offered us a glass of wine or a beer while were checking in. Our room was #3 with King size bed, beer fridge, microwave and bar sink. There was a basket with chips, suckers, etc for us to snack on and water bottles in fridge. Room was cute and rustic looking but wonderful. The bed and pillows were so comfortable (realized our King size bed at home is definitely getting old and we need a new one). There are only 12 rooms in this boutique hotel and its beautiful. Grounds are perfect with lots of greenery, felt like you were in a small oasis. The hot tub was fabulous and heated pool was great. Lots of nice comfy seating around the pool and undercover sitting areas. The table with the gas fire pit was warm and cozy as it was a bit cool the 3 nights we spent there. The have a separate room with couch and chairs to play chess, watch movies (if you don't want too on your big screen TV in your room) and book cases filled with endless DVD's (new releases too) and great books & magazines to read. The galley kitchen is stocked with dishes & utensils and spices galore for you to use on the two gas b-ques they have for you to use. They also have a gas top and dishwasher and large fridge for you to use. Lots of ice cubes in fridge freezer for you to take to your room in the ice bucket supplied in your room. Endless coffee and tea and creamers supplied 24/7 and fresh fruit (oranges, apples, bananas & grapefruits) put out daily. The staff are all amazing, they are friendly, and extremely helpful. LOVED the limo service offered to take us to where ever we wish. We recommend trying to go to the Thursday evening dowtown market 6pm-10 pm streets are shut down and endless, booths of food, music and artists & crafts. We walked there and it took 25 minutes about 2 miles from hotel. No street lights on roads in palm springs so you don't want to walk in the dark, but you can call for the limo to pick up :) While the limo is free, it is recommended to tip. They also supply bikes for you to use as well. There is no workout room, but you can do lots of other things to workout in beautiful Palm Springs. Ralph's grocery store is about 2 miles from hotel to shop and get some groceries for your room, if you prefer to not eat out all the time. The only thing we wished is we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel and we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This past weekend was our second visit to the Hotel California. Its a small boutique style hotel that has so many small touches that it helps make you feel you are a guest in someone's home. The pool water is perfect. Warmer than any other hotel I have ever visited. The jacuzzi has strong jets and surrounded by greenry. Music plays around the pool in a subtle way. There is coffee, newspapers, fruit, and tea for everyone. The beds are super comfortable. The rooms are spotless. There is water and a couple of soda's in your room's 'fridge. A little basket with all kinds of snacks without any snack bar costs. Its complementary. Lucy is a gem that checked us in but she is so much more. She makes you feel so comfortable. She welcomed us with a beautiful smile along with ideas to have a great visit and quickly offers refreshments when you walk in the door. She gives you excellent suggestions for restaurants that are walking distance away or you can use their limo at no extra cost except to the tip the driver. There is a room filled with books and videos you can use. Bicycles that are available at no extra cost. When we opened our door, we were literally a few steps to the pool. Garden surroundings are especially pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My best friend and I recently spent two nights at the Hotel California to get away and celebrate her birthday. The hotel is very clean, with comfortable beds along with extremely beautiful green surroundings. The staff is such an added bonus. From the limo ride to help with dinner reservations, to suggestions on where to go for nightlife, Larry, Lucy and Jay were so friendly and accommodating. What a breath of fresh air to have such wonderful customer service and to enjoy this "diamond in the rough" in Palm Springs, California. We had a wonderful stay. Hope to go back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our first time in Palm Springs, and found this gem on trip advisor! From the moment of arrival we were greeted with a smile and cold wine/beverages. Showed us to our room through the most beautiful garden surrounding the pool area. Our room was clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. While enjoying pool time, we were offered beer & or wine. The service really makes you feel welcomed. After enjoying busy days out, we were looking forward to 'coming home' as that was really what it felt like. At night, it was lovely with all the candles on the individual tables, and the fireplace lit. Met many wonderful people. Would definitely return here the next time we visit. Thanks to Lucy who went out of her way to help me;) This is a family run business and they run it extremely well! Yes, and the limo service was a wonderful treat -Thanks Jay!
Christine & Dean

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent two nights at Hotel California a month ago - was with my daughter. We were welcomed with cold white wine an d shown around the palmy, leafy courtyards. Larry, the owner, hefted our luggage up tp our room. The room was so comfortable, good colours, huge comfy beds. This place is family run and it really works. We were lent bicycles (back pedal brakes) packed off out to dinner in a red & black stretch limo. Larry, his wife & daughter were endlessly kind with advice, suggestions & heart shaped do'nuts on Valentine's day! This was a spell of luxury before heading into the desert.

Room Tip: Can't remember room number. Ask for Petra & Miranda's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had a great stay here and from the moment we checked in we were made to feel like we'd returned home. The service is what really sells this place. After leaving the hustle and bustle of Vegas this was a perfect alternative to your brash corporate hotels. Its the sort of place that everyone speaks, staff and guests alike (not for everyone!). The limo service is great! Don't go expecting luxurious accomodations (the bathroom could do with a little overhaul) but sometimes friendly service and good hospitality outweighs luxury

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.