We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It's not often that something exceeds your expectations, but the Hotel California did just that. We initially read the Trip Advisor reviews and thought they were to good to be true! But Hotel California was wonderful, it totally lived up to the reviews and more. It is beautiful, welcoming,comfortable, clean and gives you a sense of being part of a small community. The staff are all great and make you feel like you belong from the second you walk through the gates. No, they aren't a giant chain, YEAH!!! They are so much better, especially if you like the idea of being treated like a person and not a number! We can't wait to go back. Thank you to all the staff for making out holiday so great!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 by the back gate, you could hear people coming and going sometimes. It wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    732
    70
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
498
26
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

What. Great place. Palm spr gs is delightful and this hotel is lovely. The rooms are great and beds very comfy, lovely pool area and hot tub and the owners make you so welcome. They also provide a limo service both ways in the evening to take you the hortvdistance to town. If you are coming to palm springs,stay here. It's a gem of a boutique hotel. The hotel does not hv a fitness centre or rest aunt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here last month on what was a combo business trip and birthday celebration. I have to say, aside from the friendly, clean, tropical, tucked-away environment of Hotel California, the best part was definitely the service. Lucy, Larry, and Jay really know how to take care of their guests and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.

Upon arrival, we were given a refreshing alcoholic beverage of our choice. In addition to our welcome drinks, we also received a copy of their restaurant recommendations and a complimentary bottle of birthday champagne! The amenities included a community kitchen stocked with fresh fruit, tea, and coffee, and occasionally treats like St. Patrick's Day cookies. The full size fridge allowed room for oversize pizza boxes and a convenient location next to the the community grills. You could grocery shop for the week or go out to eat each night and store your leftovers and personal beverage collection in your mini-fridge (which was already stocked with some water and cokes upon arrival). The flexibility these amenities provided was definitely a rare and desirable feature.

Another amenity was the media room, stocked with a current and eclectic selection of d.v.d.'s. Right outside the room was a fire pit, which was a good spot for having cocktails with visitors or meeting some of the other guests. All the people we talked to were friendly, which made a big difference for the intimate feel of the property.

The last perk I will mention is the free limo rides. If you have a special night on the town, Jay will drive you to and from dinner, and if you are nice, you will get a ride to the airport in style! This was a definite perk for my birthday dinner and really made our trip that much more amazing. Just make sure to tip him well as he deserves it.

All in all, a great value and great experience. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: I would recommend a top floor if you are a light sleeper (though we really heard minimal noise) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our recent trip to the Hotel California exceeded all expectations. This is a fabulous property in every aspect of boutique hotel service. The hosts are exceptional:friendly yet professional, available for every possible need and they made us feel instantly "on vacation"...The atmosphere is convivial but not intrusive--a great balance between a quiet getaway and comfortable socializing. The landscaping is reminiscent of a tropical retreat and within minutes of arriving you will be drawn to a poolside lounge with a cocktail to gaze at the mountain silhouette which provides a nice backdrop to the property. Nicely situated on the outskirts, Hotel California is quiet but still a comfortable walk into town...or take advantage of the easy complimentary limo service provided by the hotel! That was a treat for our teenaged daughter who loved exiting the limo in the middle of downtown Palm Springs! This was one of the most stress-free holidays we have ever experienced, due in large part to the exceptional attention of the Hotel California management/ownership. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer more privacyand quiet-downstairs rooms have close access to the pool, which, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Traveling to Palm Springs for the first time with my husband and parents we were looking to stay somewhere friendly and fun with character that wasn't party central.

Our stay started off perfectly being offered a drink on arrival before even checking in. Lucy, the general manager and part of the owning family impressively not only remembered our names instantly but the names of all the other guests as she walked us through the property and introduced us to everyone!

Views of the mountains, a pool and hot tub never too crowded, bbq's and a fully stocked pantry made us feel instantly 'at home'.

If you're looking for glitz and glamour this may not be for you but if you're happy with first class service, clean rooms with character, somewhere to relax then we would all highly recommend the Hotel California - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our first stay at the Hotel California and we had wonderful service and a perfect experience!!!

We stayed in the Casita for 10 nights, and it was perfect for the 3 of us, a large kitchen with eating area, living room, 2 bathrooms and a bedroom with 2 queen beds, plus a private entrance/patio with BBQ. Everything you could possibly want!

The pool and hot tub is located just outside the door in a beautifully landscaped setting, with fountains and a fire pit, beautiful during the day and magical at night when illuminated by candles and torches.

Jay, Larry, Lucy and Mike were wonderful and welcoming and made our stay perfect.

So relaxing, can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the wonderful Hotel California in Palm Springs and we loved it before we got there. Larry, Lucy, Patty, Mike and the other staff were wonderful and very welcoming. This small boutique hotel is a gem in Palm Springs and one that you should think about staying at if you are looking for special service and a nice retreat of hummingbirds, a nice warm pool, generous and gracious service and pure relaxation. We spent 5 nights and loved it. We will go back and I suggest that you call and make a reservation the next time you are in Palm Springs. The rooms were comfortable, the beds were great and we had a wonderful relaxing time. Thanks to Larry and Lucy for all your help in making our get away special and relaxing. Hope you enjoyed the Oregon wine!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which was very quiet and relaxing - check the website for images of the rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list