We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
2 reviews
“A class act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

I enjoyed unparalleled comfort and relaxation at Hotel California. The property is beautiful and visually engaging due to the lush landscaping and comfortable furnishings. The owners and all staff go above and beyond mere "hotel" hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    831
    73
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
563
31
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful hotel the 1st and 2nd of August. I can't say enough about it!! The grounds are immaculate, the rooms spotless and beautifully appointed, the pool was the perfect tempuratur and the staff ..... the most friendly and helpful we have ever come accross.

The car broke down on the way over the mountains. We arrived with heater blowing at full blast and the tempurature outside was 104 so we were beyond sweaty! We were welcomed in with a cold drink, a phone call to the owner and voila! a recommendation to a reliable car repair place, they even picked us up from the plac and returned us to our room.. I hate to think waht would have happened if the staff and owners were not so reliable, friendly and helpful. They and their two hotels are our home away from home now. We don't stay any where else in Palm Springs.

We highly reccommend Hotel California and Desert Riviera to anyone looking for a beautiful, peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Lucy made us feel at home the minute we arrived. She had us relaxing with wine and soda before we even got to our suite. The place was not particularly fancy but the layout was well-designed and really charming, much more than was apparent from the photos on their website. Even though we were there in 105 degree heat, the trees, umbrellas, and mister kept us very comfortable by the pool. The suite was roomy and clean with some cute touches all around. It also had two bathrooms, which was good for a girls' weekend. Whatever we couldn't find in our kitchenette was available just two doors down in the hotel kitchen. Also, I left my swimsuit at the hotel and they mailed it back to me right away. It didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel – more like in a bungalow at a friendly auntie's house. It made a great home base while we explored Palm Springs. If you want a charming, low-keyed place with good hospitality, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Bautista, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I went to Palm Springs on a last minute whim. We drove 7 hours to this hotel. We were not disappointed when we arrived especially with the hospitality. Larry, Lucy, and Jay were awesome! They made us feel right at home like we were family. Offered us drinks when we arrived and had so much to offer. The setting was beautiful....very quaint and peaceful. We liked it so much we want to go back for our anniversary in October. Thanks to everyone!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I'm totally biased because my honey proposed to me there. We had originally hoped to stay at the Desert Rivera for the weekend, but it was completely full and so we decided to book here instead. I now may actually like this hotel (slightly) more than the Desert Riviera, and not just for sentimental reasons. It's a fantastic, intimate hotel with a great ambiance, a beautiful pool area and wonderful, wonderful staff. I ditto all of the wonderful things said about Larry, Patty and Lucy. They are truly the most gracious of people. In fact, when my boyfriend proposed, Larry surprised us with a chilled bottle of champagne. How fantastic is that?! The suite was spotless, the bed comfortable and the room was completely stocked w/ silverware, plates and glasses. Next time, we're trying the bbq area and enjoying dinner poolside.

Room Tip: Their suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Yes, I will echo the other reviews here and say that the service and all-around friendliness of the owners and Lucy really sealed the deal for this place. Lots of thoughtful little touches, such as the complimentary beer/wine/soda on arrival, the quick tour, the free snacks & water in the room, make this hotel stand out in a town with lots of similar small boutique offerings.

We had a great time in our private room, and felt secluded by the semi-private front patio. Room was very clean, nice white linens and a Pottery Barn-esque light quilt at the foot of the bed. Room has a small kitchenette with a mini-fridge, sink and microwave. Bathroom counters/cabinets are a bit outdated, but again are very clean and in good shape.

We come to Palm Springs for a nearby romantic getaway every year, and like to stay in different small hotels. This was one of the best and we hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at The Hotel California for a weekend in July where we received a very warm welcome from Lucy, complimentary drinks and a tour of all the facilities at the hotel, including a residents kitchen with complimentary drinks, a grill outside and all the condiments and sauces you might need. We stayed in a two Queen room, not huge but comfortable. The pool area was lovely, pool towels provided, loungers and a misting system. Lucy and Larry could not have been more helpful or friendly but not intrusive and made our stay in Palm Springs a very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.