We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90 Degree Pool... and They Actually Mean It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Long Beach, California
1 review
“90 Degree Pool... and They Actually Mean It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had been planning to attend Modernism Week Feb. 2011 events in Palm Springs for months. We were having difficulty trying to find a hotel to stay at… so many add-ons after the cost of the room at most hotels which looked interesting. We were elated to be referred to Hotel California when we called The Desert Riviera, which was totally booked. Apparently, they’re both owned by the same couple.

Both hotels had what we were looking for! Pool heated to 90 degrees in the winter, check! Whirlpool heated to 100+ degrees, check! Outdoor firepit lit nightly, check! Bicycles for guests to use, check! New really comfortable beds, check! (HC just re-opened earlier in Feb. 2011 after these owners did a huge remodel). Large flat screen TV with DVD, check! Cable TV included in the basic room price, check! Wi-fi for guests, check! Kitchen with fridge in the room, check! Small enough (only about 14 rooms/suites total) that every guest could be using the amenities at the same time, and no one would feel like there were too many people taking the space you wanted to use, check!

They also had several comforts which we hadn’t specifically looked for, but which we enjoyed. Hosts that made you feel like you were visiting friends rather than just staying at a hotel! Candles flicker nightly around the interior courtyard patio which has several different nooks and levels which are separated by plants and old world fountains for guests to hang out. An old California, romantic ambience to the patio and grounds. Nice views from the rooms. A complimentary, stocked (coffee, tea, hot chocolate, beer, wine, bottled water, fresh fruits, spices, condiments, red licorice, etc.) 24 hr community kitchen, with fresh flowers, dishes, wine glasses, full size appliances as well as several gas grills on the patio behind this kitchen, for guests to grill on if we chose to stay in for dinner. Fluffy towels that smell clean. Crisp linens. A library of DVDs, books and games for guests to use during their stay. A complimentary limo to take you out on the town or to dinner and back. No children allowed as guests, which meant no kids in the pool, yea! We plan to return for our anniversary later this year. We would love to have friends rent out all the rooms and have a big party here! (although their quiet at 10 pm policy might inhibit this from happening, hahahahaha!)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    831
    73
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
563
31
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Hotel California offers the perfect accommodations for every traveler. We are a young couple from LA looking for peace of mind when we head to the desert. My fiance and I stayed at their sister hotel Desert Riviera two years ago and decided to come again and try the new one. Hotel California has beautiful private grounds and a perfect location. Larry, the owner, will stop at nothing to make your stay pleasurable and my fiance and I have decided to never stay anywhere else when we head to Palm Springs!!! We LOVE it here!!!!

Room Tip: Also try the Desert Riviera
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa, usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My college aged daughter and I booked our stay here because our first choice, The Desert Riviera, was full. Both hotels are owned by the same family. We couldn't have been happier! We have never felt so at home and pampered at a hotel. The owners, Larry and Patty, make you feel like family, as does Lucy, the office manager. The pool grounds are so beautiful that you won't want to leave the hotel. At night they have candles and fireplaces lit, plenty of sitting areas all around. The rooms are beautifully decorated by the owner herself, and lots of little pampering touches throughout. There is a kitchen with beverages and snacks provided and also living area with big screen tv and lots of DVDs to check out for free and watch in your room. (flat screen tvs with dvd's built in). This place is so special that I can't even begin to list everything we loved about it, but what stands out is the warm hospitality of the owners. I was ill while on vacation, and Larry even took the time each day to see how I was feeling and if I needed anything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We tried to get a room at the Desert Riveria, which was sold out, and were offered the last remaining room for the weekend at the hotel's sister property, the Hotel California. The hotel lived up to all of its wonderful reviews. Larry and Patti are very hospitable -- they get to know all their guests by name and were very helpful in providing suggestions of restaurants, information about hiking, booking reservations for us, and arranging for complimentary transportation downtown. The property was great -- approx. 13 moderate size rooms surrounding a courtyard with pool, decks and several cozy sitting spots. The common kitchen is stocked with spices and they have two grills that they'll set up and clean if you want to BBQ. The pool, while small, is heated and cozy and the landscaping is attractive.They also offer complimentary wine, beer and soft dinks in the evening as well as have on hand fresh fruit and other snacks for all hours. The property is a little more than a mile to walk into town but is a very easy short drive and the limo service downtown at night was convenient. The rooms have tv's with DVDs and there's a common room with DVDs to borrow as well as books and games. We would highly recommend either of their two properties.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Exceptional hosts that truly make you feel welcomed upon arrival (the beer/wine doesn't hurt either!) The premises themselves are inviting, cozy and quaint - perfect for adults. I went with my boo and it was just perfect! They have a community kitchen and BBQ grill where you can make your own food, as well as a nice pool lounge where you can watch TV, get a recently released DVD for your room or hang out after you've checked out. Once you arrive, everything is complimentary - how sweet is that! The rooms are spacious and they provide small kitchenettes, along with a basket of goodies! Make sure to bring your swim gear no matter the season...the pool stays heated at 90 degrees and they also have a jacuzzi tub on the premises. The rooms themselves were quite spacious and very comfortable. Without a doubt we will be staying again! Many thanks to Larry and Lucy :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Hotel cal, what a great place to stay. every thing so nice and clean. Everyone was so nice and friendly. I loved it and will tell everyone what a wonderful hideaway! Thank you for a great weekend! D. D.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the website to view the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed here with three friends and had a fantastic time. The owners bent over backward to make us feel welcome and well cared-for with wine at check-in, suggestions for sightseeing, assistance with the barbeque, getting dinner reservations for us and just general friendliness. We went on a wonderful hike to Palm Canyon, which the owner had suggested we do - we would not have known about it otherwise.
The pool area is very cozy and comfortable; you can go from the (heated) pool to the hot tub and back to the pool quite easily. Very relaxing and comfortable "vibe" there. Downtown is a short car ride away; and the hotel is easy walking distance to a couple of good breakfast restaurants: Elmer's and the Ace Hotel. There is even free limo service to take you out for dinner and pick you up! All in all a great time. Would stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.