We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen of Hearts Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen of Hearts Resort
Save
You added Queen of Hearts Resort to your Saves list
435 Avenida Olancha, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We couldn’t have asked for better. Our hostess, Michelle, is a pure joy. The place is quiet and the other guests were wonderful and respectful. The place was surrounded by orange trees and we ate them constantly. The room was comfy and well aired. We kept the door open most of the time. Out the back door (through the well equipped kitchen) we had a sitting area beneath an orange tree where a dove was nesting at eye level. A nearby grocery store and the gas grill by the pool kept us from having to eat out every night (although there are plenty of great restaurants in Palm Springs). The pool is beautiful and was the perfect temperature. We will definitely be going back to stay at the Queen of Hearts.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    11
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
152
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Nestled in the western heart of Palm Springs, the Queen of Hearts Resort was a small oasis away from home for us. Before my friend and I even arrived, Michelle, owner and host extraordinaire, had already made us feel as if we were being pampered with her inquiries of what she could do to make our stay memorable. The particular room we rented was quite comfortable and offered several amenities, ranging from a kitchen complete with stove, full sink, refrigerator, dinette table and cooking ware/utensils, to a large room with several windows and comfortable seating, as well as a decent sized bathroom. There were plenty of drapes that we could either keep closed for privacy (certainly kept the room cool while we were out and about in the heat!), or open up to a view of the beautiful inner courtyard Michelle so meticulously maintains.
In regards to the courtyard, one word; perfect! Michelle has managed to create an inner sanctum for her guests with ample areas to hang out in the courtyard, along with a nice-sized pool in the center, as well as just about everything else one could need to spend a relaxing day or evening outside in a well-secluded area simply swimming, reading, or bar-b-queuing. In fact, the courtyard is so well secluded via the resorts design; it’s like one’s own private hide-away, and hard to believe it’s smack-dab in the middle of a residential/commercial area. To top it all off, the environment was so warm and friendly; we actually left with, well, more friends!! As an added plus, the parking was right up front!
Initially, the big draw for us was its location, virtually minutes from anywhere one wanted to go, from downtown shopping and dining to great hiking trails and a plethora of other places to explore, but the reason we’ll return? The personal touch that Queen of Hearts owner Michelle so obviously employs, because she truly enjoys what she does, ensuring that her guests leave with a feeling of wonderful contentment and a desire to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided last minute to head to Palm Springs for a much needed weekend getaway. We called on a whim the day before, and booked the very last room... little did we know how lucky we got! This warm, cozy inn had everything we hoped for- quiet atmosphere (no kids), beautiful mountain views, 24-hr pool to relax around, comfortable room w/ kitchen to make our own bfast/lunch- all at a crazy affordable price. Michelle (who is truly as wonderful as everyone says) even made our dinner reservation, and scored us a private balcony at her favorite steakhouse! If you're looking for a place to get away with your girl and do your own thing, this is the perfect place. We will definitely be back...next time with friends!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

There's no question that this hotel has a strong following and loyal patrons. But so does Days Inn. We believe in Trip Advisor, have used it for every vacation we've been on and up till now, it has remained true to the ratings for us. However, this was an exception I'm afraid, and we just can't figure it out. Regardless, I just want to warn other hotel snobs that this venue is not likely to live up to your expectations, and you will be wishing you had just gone with something else.
The owner is and was very accommodating and friendly, asking if you "need anything" anytime she sees you. But something feels amiss in having to ask to have the garbage emptied after 3 or 4 or 5 days, or the sheets to be changed or for new towels, etc. We also had to ask for help in getting the heat to come on, which was a story in itself as the heater was so old that it sounded like a gunshot (I kid you not) every time it started winding up to kick on, causing you startle awake every hour or so. So we ended up being given a space heater to use the remainder of our stay. We also encountered a few roaches first thing in the morning, which I would assume came in under one of the doors to the outside, since chunks were missing from the door sweep, just about anything that wanted to crawl in could. We stuck a towel under it at night. There were stains on the walls and none of the appliances are current, (i.e. TV is console, a VCR was provided, no DVD, no iTunes hookup; refrigerator did not keep things cool, no microwave in room). I do want to be clear in that the room did seem clean, just run-down.
On the flip side, the common areas were delightful with native orange, lemon, and grapefruit trees all around the pool and ample seating and lounge areas everywhere. Though the pool was not particularly clean, it is heated. The hotel is located in a very nice and central area only minutes from the main street and airport and the neighborhood seemed quiet and safe.
We regret having to write this review, but felt you other hotel snobs needed to know.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenofheartshotel, Owner at Queen of Hearts Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us. They seem so happy each day that I greeted them and inquired if there was anything that I could do for them. They would respond no they were happy and in need of nothing. We have no complaints of insect problems because this is dealt with on a professional level. The pool is also maintain by a professional pool service. Our appliances are clean and efficient. Microwave and blender are provide upon request (not to mention they are provided by the outside bar for all to utilize). If any guest would like room service there is a tag hanging on each of the doors should they need garbage emptied, or the sheets to be changed or for new towels, etc. It was their choice not to communicate what they needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

it was a great place to relax and just lie by the pool, do nothing, Michelle, the upper queen of hearts, your host, she is an amazing woman, she turned the pool heater a bit higher so i didn't have to swim that fast to get it warm...it is a good location to explore the canyons or Joshua Tree Park....nice people lovely dogs...would definitely stay there again some day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We were expecting this hotel to be nice, but it was really far nicer than we could have imagined. The owner really out does herself in order to make guests feel welcome. The rooms are incredibly cute and the atmosphere of the place is secluded, yet welcoming. It really is the most romantic resort in Palm Springs!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The owner Michelle goes out of her way to make everyone welcomed and comfortable. If anyone is missing anything it is only because they didn't ask. The hotel is a perfect place to reenergize yourself.... It was great

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen of Hearts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen of Hearts Resort

Address: 435 Avenida Olancha, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Queen Of Hearts Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen of Hearts Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.