We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel to your Saves list
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   754 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

Very clean accommodation. 1 Bed bungalow, had everything you could possibly need, full kitchen private walled garden perfect for our dog. Excellent weekend breakfast included out by the pool. We will definitely be back. Warm welcome, friendly hosts.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    28
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
61
140
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

Just returned from a lovely couple of days out in Palm Springs. A delightful and corteous welcome which started us off on the right foot. Lovely cottages surrounding an inviting pool. Quiet and respectful residences. Breakfast by the pool in the mornings between 8 and 10 was a great gesture. Excited to have been part of old Hollywood folklore! Will return soon for sure. Will be recommending this place in the sun to all my friends. x

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely hotel. It is set in beautiful gardens with pool and heated jacuzzi. We stayed in a standard studio which was perfectly adequate with a king size comfortable bed, T.V. etc. All rooms are located around the pool and the hotel is in a very quiet location.
Norma and Ron made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with their local knowledge and information about the surrounding area.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

Owners Ron and Norma were more than happy to allow my wife and I have our reception at the hotel! We easily filled up the hotel with family and they let us use the hotel for the reception for over 110 people! Not only were they a kind as can be, they went out of their way to make our wedding reception perfect. Without a doubt, the best wedding I was ever in and every guest just LOVED having it so centrally located to Palm Springs. By 8pm many guests were in the salt-water, heated pool enjoying themselves.

The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Trust me- don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris,France and New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

When you travel as a couple ( franco-american) 6 months a year for years, you got to know something about hotels and residences of all types. Well, here we found a real gem, remote from the busy and pricy Palm Spring, but right in the heart of a wonderfully quiet area of that beautiful city in the desert.Picture just 18 bungalows with the best beds you ever had, around a natural water pool (and jacuzzi), in a beautifully maintained landscaped garden...I never even dared ask if we were permitted to gather the huge lemons from their trees! But each bungalow also has its own green patio, complete with deck chairs and table, plus beautiful mountain views, as well as a small kitchen. If there are 4 of you, lucky you.. you can get the bungalow with a real fireplace. Try to be there on the week-end and enjoy the complimentary home baked fresh quiche, and breakfast including fresh fruit. Sweets, muffins and coffee are available all day long every day and are also complimentary. You even get maid service every day with plenty of towels for the pool...But the best is yet to come : the owners know a lot about hospitality and will go a long way to give you the best service ever, along with a smile.
Well, we were supposed to stay 3 days and decided to make it 3 weeks. It is by far the best price performer we found in Palm Springs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2005

A Place in the Sun is an Oasis in the Desert-
Delightfully retro bungalows surrounded a lovely pool, spa, and gazibo. Neet as a pin, and well maintained. Very accomodating owners. We will return. As Montana resort hotel owners, we were enchanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2005

We read many favorable reviews posted on this website about A Place in The Sun. We had the opportunity to stay there in October 2005 for four nights.

The reason we selected it was that is was on the pet friendly list, and the reviews said it was very quiet. At glance, the property is nothing to really rave about. It is in the middle of a residential neighborhood, and there is really nothing fancy or pretentious about it. The grounds are well maintained, There is a nice community feel to the common grounds, and if you are going for a pleasant pool, this is a great place.

Three of the nights we stayed there were quiet. We stayed in the only Large studio on the property, which was clean, and spacious. However, our dissapointment came on Saturday night, the hotel was occupied by bikers. They were loud, annoying, and partied until 2:am. In fact, at about 3:00a.m, one decided to rev up his motorcycle for several minutes off the scale, which woke us up and nearly scared us to death! There was a caretaker on the property when the manager left in the evening, but he did nothing to stop the disturbance all night. We never complained as we were departing the next day.

You must have a special high speed, or Wi Fi card to access the internet there, or it will cost you a small fortune, which I learned the hard way. The manager was nice enough to remove the charges when I brought it to her attention, but I was not able to use my laptop during the entire trip due to the exorbitant charges. We were on a business trip, so that was very difficult. I would not recommend this hotel for business travelers.

I would stay there again as they were very nice to our small dog, which is important to me. I would possibly stay in a larger unit next time. Also, I would first ask if they were expecting a large biker crowd, as I NEVER want to experience that noise again. There is something to be said for consideration of other guests, and this group had none whatsoever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place in the Sun will make you feel like a pampered movie star from years past. Sixteen single story bungalows on over an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens, surround a salt-water pool & spa. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.