We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel to your Saves list
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   754 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

we had a one bedroomed bungalow, I think number 6. lots of space, two big sofas, cute retro-style furniture and kitchen. comfortable bed. small kitchen, but with all the things you need to cook, big fridge. breakfast from the office, sugary cereal, cake, tea, coffee, orange juice, sweet pastries. breakfast could have been improved by a loaf of bread and/or a bag of bagels, so that people could take them to their rooms and toast them, to avoid the sugar overload of the other breakfast options. nice pool, lots of grass around, and nice garden. we walked into town - around 30 mins to the very center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us at A Place in the Sun. We really do appreciate the mostly positive feedback we get from our guests, and do our best to immediately take care of anything that isn't up to our guests' complete satisfaction. I did want to address the comment you made about the "sugar overload" with our choice of cereals for our complimentary continental breakfasts. We've tried many different things in our almost 13 years of ownership, starting with just donuts and coffee. Our guests got so excited, it's grown exponentially over the years. We now serve an expanded continental breakfast from October 1st through May 31st poolside in the gazebo from 8 to 10 a.m. on weekends and holidays, that includes assorted fresh bagels, english muffins and fresh breads, and different types of fresh fruit, in addition to the cereals, pastries, muffins, cakes, etc. However, you were here in June, where the continental breakfast is in the office from 9 to 5 daily. The six different types of cereals we have on hand for our guests are currently raisin bran, plain oatmeal, honey nut cheerios, special k with strawberries, honey bunches of oats with almonds, and Kashi all natural granola (if you can think of any cereals with LESS sugar that guests might still want to eat on vacation, we're all ears!). All of our units do have fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes, so any breakfast items not available in the office could easily be stocked in your private kitchen for your stay... :)
Again, we appreciate your taking the time to write this review for us, and hope to see you back again in the near future.
Norma and Ron Van Meeteren, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    26
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
60
129
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It was so nice to be back at A Place in the Sun for a little getaway. It's always very relaxing, no matter how long you're there for. We always stay in the large studio which is perfect for my husband and I. Ron and Norma were there with their two new puppies (Hi, Onyx & Annie!!) and brought them out on the grass for people to see. Joe, as always, was wonderful to talk to and always has a smile for you when you come in the office.

We can't say enough good things about A Place in the Sun......we love it and have recommended it to several people. Terrific customer service, beautiful grounds, nice people and the great Palm Springs weather.......what more could you ask for???

We look forward to our week long vacation here later this summer!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We've just come back from our third time at APITS and as usual it was great. We didn't take our dogs, but for pet owners it's a wonderful place. They know the doggie day care places, pet sitters in town, and you can leave your cell number and they'll check on the "kids."
For the humans, there's the luxury of a bungalow with a kitchen and living room. Since you have a refrigerator, stove and microwave, you can bring your own food and skip eating out every meal. When it's too hot outside you can just relax inside without feeling you're cooped up in a hotel room. The owners are extremely helpful about PS as well, with in-room information for hiking and other things to do in the area.
It's quiet as it sits on a river bank (well, flood control channel--that passes for a river in PS), so traffic noises are minimal and in the spring you can hear the frogs, an unexpected sound in the desert.
We love A Place in the Sun.

Room Tip: The website is helpful in deciding which room you want with a full map and description. The rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 3 days at A Place in the Sun this month and as usual, we had a relaxing and fun time. With all the comforts of home we lounged by the pool, read a book under a palm tree with the majestic view of the mountains, danced at our favorite spot downtown, and were so happy to have the luxurious atmosphere provided at A Place in the Sun. We go as often as we can get out of town and will definitely return!

Room Tip: They are all good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

For years & years, I have returned to this paradise nestled in a residential street in lovely Palm Springs. The reasons....impeccable grounds, clean & fully stocked bungalows, cascading bougenvilla, lush palms, sparkling pool, private backyards and best of all....pet friendly. The staff has an eye for attention to detail and is there to please you. All around.....a AAA+++ rating. Once you enjoy a stay at A Place in the Sun, you'll always count the days until you can book another trip.

Room Tip: All bungalows are different....check with Front Desk for the one that suits your needs. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Carol and I escape to "A Place in the Sun" a couple times a year. We bring Rags, the shih-tzu, and have no worries or cares. Norma, Ron and Joe are gracious hosts, making sure we have goodies, movies, towels and tips on eateries (try El Mirasol for mexican food). The bungalows epitomize "retro living" from days past with the addition new age wi-fi. The large common courtyard with pool is perfect for lounging, reading a book, or chatting with fellow travelers.
Rags loves his private yard at the bungalow and his extensive dog walking option out the back gate by the riverside. Writing this makes me want to call Joe now for a reservation. Enjoy.
Winston Dean, San Diego

Room Tip: Bungalow with yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Because our usual haunt for the last ten years doesn't take pets, they recommended A Place in the Sun to us for travel with our feline companion. He let us know how traumatized he was by promptly holding down the floor over the cool tiles whenever possible, and enjoying the private little back yard. We walked him on his leash over the lovely grounds - he found the minigolf putting green very interesting. APITS has a lovely breakfast spread daily, an inviting pool and hot tub, lovely owners and housekeeping staff -- it was a gem. Smack in the center of the very desirable Deepwell area, close to all the action in any part of Palm Springs proper. Can't wait to stay again when we travel with His Nibs.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are wonderful. Let them know how many (and ages if youngsters) in your party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place in the Sun will make you feel like a pampered movie star from years past. Sixteen single story bungalows on over an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens, surround a salt-water pool & spa. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.