We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda at Warm Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hacienda at Warm Sands
Save
You added The Hacienda at Warm Sands to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   586 Warm Sands Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place is outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I've visited Palm Springs for a few days each of the past several months and I keep returning to The Hacienda because it is incredibly comfortable and a great value. The quality of the accommodations is superb, and the owners and staff are warm and helpful. I've traveled extensively for business around the world for many years and stayed in some pretty swell places. By comparison, The Hacienda is a class act!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
210
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We have stayed in Palm Springs gay resorts a number of times. Santiago and Inndulge are wonderful but the Hacienda is a significant step up and not to be missed if the price doesn't deter you (but it's worth it and really not that much more than the mentioned properties). The experience is a bit different though. The mood is laid back luxury and the cruise factor is definately lower (but it's in the middle of the warm sands resorts so just walk out the gate if you find the need).
The rooms and grounds are absolutely beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The service is fantastic. The staff are unobtrusively attentive (until they leave at 7 PM) and will arrange just about anything for you. We were in a Junior suite but toured some of the others (there are only 10 rooms). There is only one room (the least expensive patio room) that doesn't open up directly onto one of the 2 pools. It is only a few steps away and the room is beautiful though. The other nine rooms have anything from a sitting room to full living room, kitchen and dining area. The two pools basically get unobstructed sun until it hits the mountains (not so at many other resorts). The view from the larger/main pool is stunning. Breakfast and catered lunch are included and also of appropriately high standard. (Continental breakfast with yogurt, fruit salad, cereals, juice, pastries, meat, bread, etc - Lunch is sandwich or wrap [both with side] or large meal size salad - there are a number of choices for each - lunch is plated by the staff and if you are a couple they will split a sandwhich and salad for you which is a good choice). Breakfast is 8 - 10 and lunch is served around 1 or 1:30 but they will cover it and save it for you if asked. You order your lunch selection by 1030 AM. There is currently no happy hour but you just make your own. The beds, linens and pillows (with menu) are extremely comfortable and high quality. The furnishings are beautiful. We had a large 2 person shower that was very nice. I believe they are all somehwhat similar. When we were there it was about half full (unusual I think - presumably due to the economy) and very quiet and relaxed. The other guests tended to be older and friendly. If you are looking for twinks then odds are you better bring your own or go on day trips :) There is free wifi throughout and a stand up "email" computer with internet in the office. There are tons of movies to borrow and all rooms have 2 flat screens with dvd players (except I assume the patio room only has one).

Hope you enjoy - we sure did and will be back soon. We had a hard time convincing ourselves to leave.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Staying at The Hacienda is so great everytime we come back - been there 4 years in a row - the suites, the swimming pool, the hot top and not least the owners and their staff, makes you wanna come back year after year. We are always sad when we have to leave this paradise in Palm Springs.
We can not think of anything that is missing there and we could not want for anymore.
We already cant wait till our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This was our fifth stay at The Hacienda! As always, the service and accommodations were excellent! The owners, Jim & Maurice, could not be more helpful in making our stay enjoyable! Staff members, Steve & Tom look after your every need. Jim & Maurice are very proud of their guest house and are constantly upgrading the amenities. The breakfast is excellent and it is the only guest house we have encountered which serves lunch! The two large pool areas offer fantastic mountain vistas! With only 10 rooms, there is a huge amount of privacy! We are looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

The service level rivals any 5-star resort. The owners and staff are fully committed to an outstanding total experience. We have looked at all the other properties in the Palm Springs area and there is no comparison. It's definitely not a party scene, but that's a plus for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Calif
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This is the 7th or 8th time that we have been to the Hacienda and it would take something MAJOR to make me want to stay any place else in Palm Springs. It is the most expensive resort in the area, but it is worth so much more. We often compare other places that we stay in our travels to the Hacienda. The rooms are excellent, the ambience is so relaxing you can almost feel the stress of the real world evaporate as you enter the gates. The staff takes care of everything for you. Breakfast and Lunch by the pool and they are always willing to make dinner reservations for us. The most difficult thing that we had to do was decide what swimsuit to wear while laying out by the pool. We cant wait to go back again.

Thanks to jim, maurice, tom, and especially Steve

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Our first stay at The Hacienda will NOT be our last!

We found the rooms to be extremely comfortable and roomy; we were in Suite 3, which is roughly mid-sized, and it included a full-size living room, roomy bedroom (king bed), spacious bathroom, and an efficient, well-equipped kitchen and dining nook. The room was spotless and absolutely comfortable; arriving with rose petals on the bed (part of a romance package upgrade we purchased) started the trip off perfectly.

The expanded continental breakfast is satisfying: Pastries, breads, hardboiled eggs, cereals, coffee, orange juice, and a small selection of meats and cheeses as more than enough. The catered lunch (included in the price - mostly sandwiches and wraps) was wonderful and very filling. Served poolside or in your room, it became a way for us to mingle and talk with other guests - many of whom we'll keep in touch with.

The staff was incredibly friendly and efficient - asking for help making dining reservations not only yielded excellent suggestions, but also maps, menus, and other information to help make our decision easier.

The pools are in very good condition (one is scheduled for a re-surfacing) and the grounds are very quiet and well-kept. This is a clothing optional property, so take that into account when deciding to stay here. We didn't find the atmosphere to be at all "adult" or inappropriate; some guests simply chose to sunbathe in the nude (unlike other resorts, where "clothing optional" can often be a euphemism for more "adult" behavior).

The pool area equipment - lounge chairs, tables, umbrellas, and so forth - is all well-kept. Chairs are refreshed with new towel coverings throughout the day, and the resort will soon be upgrading pool lounges with thicker pads and custom terry-cloth covers; that will be a great finishing touch to add a bit of luxury to the poolside.

Our suite did not include a bathtub, although it included a roomy, two-head shower. This isn't a negative for us as the pools (and hot tub) provided ample soaking, but keep it in mind if a tub is important to you. Also, the resort does not include a fitness room. Our experience with these rooms in similar-sized resorts has never been good, so we were happy to bring elastic exercise bands and to take a quick job in the morning, so the lack of an on-property gym wasn't a problem.

There is a guest laundry and other amenities which are a bit unusual for a property of this size (just ten suites). There's ample free parking.

This was one of our most relaxing stays in Palm Springs. Given its close location to the Palm Canyon retail/dining district (it's perhaps a 10-15min walk away and a quick drive), the excellent service, the comfortable rooms, and the well-maintained property... well, this is likely to be the last property we take for a test drive. We're now committed fans and it would take a "No Vacancy" sign to make us stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hacienda at Warm Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda at Warm Sands

Address: 586 Warm Sands Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hacienda at Warm Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small super-deluxe resort with a gay male clientele. All suites (500 to 850 sq. ft.) except for one room. Two pools, fireplaces, plantation shutters, plush linens and personal service. A staff to guest room ratio of one-to-one. Breathtaking mountain views and quiet location. Expanded continental breakfast and catered lunch included in rates. In-suite massage services arranged. Member of the World's Foremost Gay Hotels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hacienda At Warm Sands Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda at Warm Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.