We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mercedes Benz of Palm Springs Resorts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda at Warm Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hacienda at Warm Sands
Save
You added The Hacienda at Warm Sands to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   586 Warm Sands Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Mercedes Benz of Palm Springs Resorts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I travel a LOT and I know what makes for good versus great lodging. This was our first visit to this resort, and we selected it since quality and service top their list of what's important. The Hacienda delivers both. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept with tables and chairs, umbrellas, gathering areas, two pools, a spa tub, towel coverings for the pool loungers and spa towels in the rooms. There is a gorgeous view of the mountains from the pool area.

Our room was immaculate, tastefully decorated with quality furniture, and very functional. We liked the full kitchen, the dining and sitting area with a separate bedroom. It let us do some light entertaining out of the bedroom. We enjoyed the wine reception where we met other guests and enjoyed chatting with them each morning at breakfast. We do wish they had repeated the reception at least one or two times more during the week even without the owners. Meeting others was great.
The breakfast offerings were consistently varied, fresh and good. The chance to order lunch each day at no extra cost and have it delivered poolside or to our room was just great. One of us is vegan and this was accommodated. One day the catering service made an error on the order. The Hacienda staff, who were always friendly, caught the error as it came in, informed us and called the caterer. Within about 20 minutes, we had our correct lunches because one of the staff made a special trip to make it right. That's service!!
There are some common small amenities in the room including fresh fruit, k-cup coffee options, and popcorn. There were some unusual offerings; two free passes to the Palm Springs Museum, a powered flashlight in case of a power outage, a pillow "menu" and spa type shower amenities among others.
The owners know how to do it and the staff care enough to make it right. We will be back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are equal size. If you're unsure, call. The staff will help. Lower number rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
211
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a repeat visit for us to The Hacienda and once again, it did not disappoint! We love it there! It is so intimate and comfortable with immaculate grounds and a beautiful view of the mountains from the pool. All of the staff is incredible and very attentive. It was our 20th anniversary and the owners, Jim & Maurice, could not have been kinder - they even had a bottle of champagne and a personalized card waiting for us upon arrival. We can't wait to return and would highly recommend The Hacienda!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had another wonderful stay at the Hacienda, earlier this month in February. We were lucky with perfect weather most of our stay, sunny and in the mid-70s. Immediately upon check in we received suggestions for local activities (there was a modernism exhibit going on in town) and other sites to see in Palm Springs. The rooms are very well appointed, tasteful, and very comfortable.

It is by far one one of the most relaxing and charming places we have ever stayed. The pools are beautiful (and lit at night) and the landscaping (even in their "winter") is beautiful. The staff and other guests are very friendly but never intrusive. I can't wait to book another trip back and see Steve, Paul, Luis and the rest of my friends at the Hacienda!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was our first stay at the Hacienda in January 2013. We had booked the special offer of 4 nights for the price of 3 and we were delighted with the spacious and well-provided Grand Deluxe apartment. There are two pools at the Hacienda and we loved the front pool with its views of the mountains and easy access to the hot-tub. The pool was perfectly heated and a pleasure to swim in. Locals reported it was one of the coldest Januaries on record, however we had just arrived from London so the balmy 68-70 degree daytime temperatures were fantastic for us. Evenings were cold - dipping down to almost freezing - so come prepared. The peace and tranquillity of those 4 nights stayed with us the whole trip to the USA. The staff were incredibly courteous, helpful and obliging laying out delicious breakfasts and lunches each day (all included in your room rate). The other guests were delightful too. I would unreservedly recommend the Hacienda and we can't wait for a return trip. We walked to the restaurants and bars most evenings although cabs are easy and inexpensive. The staff will be happy to help you make your choices and if you want a night in, there is an extensive DVD library to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

the hacienda was the perfect choice for my first stay in palm springs. the staff could not do enough to make me comfortable, the room (unasked for upgrade) was well appointed, spotless and inviting, the grounds and pools beautifully maintained. if i mentioned even casually i had an interest in a palm springs activity, computer printed info was delivered to my poolside chaise within 30 minutes of mentioning it. there are only 10 rooms, 5 around each pool....personally i liked that. the 'craziness' is close enough if the mood should strike, but i loved this seemingly private oasis in the midst of it all. i would definitely go back!

Room Tip: i stayed in room 6....it was almost too big for one person, but i'm not complaining. very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Hacienda is unarguably the most high end of the gay guest houses in Palm Springs. The whole experience is first class. The grounds are green and flowered, there are two swimming pools. Breakfast and lunch are included in the room rate with good menus. The room I had, which I understand is the smallest, was room 8. The room was very large: sofa, two televisions, king bed, dining table, desk, private patio and a huge bathroom. The room was very clean. But what I will most remember is the really warm and welcoming staff. They are so helpful, and tips are not accepted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Hacienda is a very well maintained, higher end resort in Palm Springs. We have stayed in several resorts on our many trips to Palm Springs but The Hacienda will now be our only resort! There just isn't any reason to go anywhere else. The rooms are decorated very tastefully and very well furnished. The bathroom remodel looks very recent and very inviting. Even though it rained half the time we were there, we didn't mind staying in the room because it was so nice and the hot tub was just a few steps from our door. Anyone visiting this resort will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front section of the property. Its closer to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hacienda at Warm Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda at Warm Sands

Address: 586 Warm Sands Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hacienda at Warm Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small super-deluxe resort with a gay male clientele. All suites (500 to 850 sq. ft.) except for one room. Two pools, fireplaces, plantation shutters, plush linens and personal service. A staff to guest room ratio of one-to-one. Breathtaking mountain views and quiet location. Expanded continental breakfast and catered lunch included in rates. In-suite massage services arranged. Member of the World's Foremost Gay Hotels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hacienda At Warm Sands Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda at Warm Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.