We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hospitality..wow staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort to your Saves list
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   615 S. Warm Sands, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
White Salmon, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful hospitality..wow staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

my second trip to the DP...for the Palm Springs Film Festival.... close to downton PS and great acess to the airport...gardens pools and landscaping are beautiful....only problem
is ...the doors to the sauna and steam room won't shut tight ...creates an inferior experience...
but the jacuzzi with the fire logs are great......staff is very helpful in every way...especially "Ron" ..enjoyed my walks into downton foe the festival as well...

Room Tip: Beth Middler Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
36
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful pool are and gardens. Facilities mediocre. Rooms average but above average compared to other resorts in the area.
The staff made the stay absolutely fantastic and couldn't do enough to help us.
Really lived the hotel and had we more time would have stayed longer.
Would definitely be my first choice if I returned.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We've stayed at Desert Paradise for many years running. We return because we like the calmness of the lush greenery, the koi fish, the turtles, and even the hummingbirds. The resort is always kept very clean and we appreciate stepping into our room where we feel like its been cared for. Over the years nice upgrades have been added to keep up with the rest of the resorts in the area, such as flat screen tvs, nice sinks in the bathrooms, and tile counters in most of the kitchen nooks.

Many of the clientele are very sociable and are return guests like us. The owner, Dale is quite a nice guy, very helpful and friendly. Ron is the main guy around this place, though; he's the manager who keeps all the guests smiling. Ron is never very far if you need something.

This is not your wild, happening place. Those are around the corner, right out side the door if you want to visit them. This is the place you come to relax, let your nerves calm down, take your clothes off (if you want), and unwind in a book or just hook into your ipod music by the pool. Some hot guys stay here to get away from it all, and they add a nice balance to the overall environment of everyone is welcome. You get a sense of community here, without any pretentious attitudes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, WV
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed at Desert Paradise for three nights. The resort is somewhat small with only 12 guest rooms. I was given a complimentary upgrade upon arrival, which was a nice touch for a first time guest. The room was clean and comfortable. The property is marketed by stating that all bed linens, blankets, etc. are freshly washed for each stay. The steam room was tiny…just big enough for two people. A white towel was being used as a mat. The towel was dirty and soaked…not something I want to step on! A rubber mat would be a much better option. The dry sauna was inoperable and appeared to be that way for quite some time. The property also has several surveillance cameras, which felt a bit too intrusive…especially when three of them are monitoring the pool area. The complimentary self-serve breakfast was adequate and well stocked. The property had a couple of hammocks to lounge in as well, which was a nice touch. The various fountains and ponds, which included turtle and koi ponds, provided a soothing relaxed atmosphere. A honor-system snack bar in the office provided drinks and snacks for a dollar which was a nice touch. All in all, the resort was a very nice place. The owner is constantly working on various upgrade projects which is intended to keep the resort current and comfortable. Also, the central air was a nice thing to have considering that many of the other resorts in Palm Springs still provide only window units which are typically loud and don’t cool the rooms adequately.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in August. The place is affordable for Palm Springs but is kinda "old fashioned", a little on the tacky side and has a "dull" feeling to it ?
The breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice and the kitchen area was very clean, top marks for that.
Upon check in the owner was showing us how to use the TV system they had installed but kept jumping to the porn channels by "mistake" and it was sort of creepy to say the least. The room did have a flat screen TV but the channels available were basic at best and a lot of them did not come through clear at all.
The room was painted a drab dark beige which made it look dark and dingy. The furniture was old and the overall feel was not very uplifting for Palm Springs ? The fridge was really old, rusty and very noisy at night. The shower head did not work properly and they needed a little bleach to remove the mold in the caulking on the floor area. Don't get me wrong, the place was generally pretty clean and I did feel comfortable staying there.
Hey look, if you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay and are not looking for an exciting environment (Enya playing all day long) with any frills then this place will be ok. I am certain that for a few bucks more there is something better close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddawursk, Owner at Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Hey Guys, I just wanted to say thank you for the review, it's open honest opinions that help us to give our guest a better experience. Sorry but I didn't intend to make you feel creepy about showing you the Channels, my intention was to show you the CCTV, Welcome to Paradise Video and yes there are those "entertainment channels in between". So you know we've expanded out Cable Channels to HD and have over 70 stations to choose from now. The "Enya" music is played througout the day becuase there is no one type of music that makes everybody happy and with today's technology so many people have there Ipods and other devices. Our music played to enhance your relaxation and comfort. As far as the showers go thank you for pointing that out. We try very hard to maintain very clean rooms and impeccable lush gardens. We will continue to work on exceeding our guest expectation and hope you to see you back in Paradise soon.
Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Adequate Gay Hotel with above average rooms. I believe they are upgrading the bathrooms. Amenities were sufficient but far from luxurious. Each room is named after a popular gay celebrity. I stayed in the Judy Garland Suite. Rooms have microwaves and eating tables. I would have preferred more comfortable seating as I was inside the room much of the time due to the weather being 110 degrees.

The staff is very friendly and loves hugs. The rates were not inexpensive and with the major chain luxury hotels offering drastically discounted rates, I might rethink my interest in staying in a gay hotel as it appears that the hotel is not fully booked during the summer months so there is really not too much opportunity to meet other guests. I recommend: get your best deal at one of the luxury chains then purchase a day pass to a gay hotel/resort.

Room Tip: Do not book the room near the breakfast area -- too loud if you like to sleep in past 8:00am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My new partner and I stayed here for two nights. Luckily, we were upgraded to the Elizabeth Taylor suite (bridal suite) which was perfect, as my partner is a big Elizabeth Taylor fan. There is nothing outright negative to report . . . I was just disappointed that the suite was really only the E.T. suite in name only (Here I was worried that it was going to be overly kitschy).
Secondly, the little refrigerator was very hard to open. It didn't help that it doesn't have a handle, just an indentation. This was not good for someone who had recently had a groin strain. Several times I ended up pulling and moving the whole refrigerator a bit. Perhaps a dark stripe to make the area where you pull it open easy to see?
Thirdly, the parking outside of the complex was fine (on the street) but I couldn't help but notice that someone else's car had been broadsided at the next hotel over. The owners of the vehicle were out there, looking at it. It made me wonder how often events like this occur on these little winding streets.
For the positives, it's wonderful for being clothing-optional but tastefully done (yes it is possible). Absolutely nobody was cruising for anyone else, which is exactly why I chose this place. Most folks wear their swim trunks, by the way, but it's not a big deal if you don't.
The grounds are lush, very well watered, and little baby birds were living tranquilly by the abundant fountains.
The salt water pool is large enough to swim laps in, the serve-yourself breakfast is more than sufficient, and the employees, down to the pool folks, were friendly and respectful. I especially liked Ronald, who works at the front desk. He is funny but has a calm demeanor.
In closing, we liked it here but since there are so many hotels to visit, a return visit is unlikely at this point . . . but we both would definitely return. It would be magical to stare at that lit chandelier swaying between the palm trees, while enjoying each other's company in the pool late into the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort

Address: 615 S. Warm Sands, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning - Clothing Optional Gay Men's Resort - 14 King Bed Non Smoking Poolside Rooms and Suites. Flat Screen TVs, IPod Docking Stations, GREAT Continental Breakfast, Large SALTWATER Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam and Sauna Rooms, magnificently maintained Tropical Lush Garden with Hammocks and Kool Misting System. Romantic Fire Pit, Outdoor Garden Shower for Fun and Special Times. Fall in love again and again in PARADISE Your home away from home. Palm Springs California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Gay Men`s Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.