We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in Palm Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   1491 South Via Soledad, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxation in Palm Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We come back to Palm Springs at least once or twice a year to get away and totally relax, no set agenda, no real plans for the trip, just relax in the pools, hot tubs, and steam room. La Dolce provides the perfect environment for us time and time again. We love meeting new people each visit and of course Ken and the Staff are wonderful. Can't wait for our next trip to visit our "La Dolce Vita family".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you Mark....It is always wonderful to see you guys here. See you next time.
Best regards,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    51
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
1
113
76
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wow...pleasantly surprised and sad to leave are the first thoughts that come to mind! From the outside, La Dolce Vita appears to be a mystery behind a beautiful ivy lined wall and Spanish doors. Inside, you find an oasis of pleasure. The staff feel like family, the guests are happy to socialize or allow you quiet time, and the resort is clean and full of amenities - a spa, steam room, pools, jacuzzis under the stars, happy hour, and a perfect breakfast under the lemon trees. You'd be crazy to stay anywhere else! (Hint: The Roma room on the main pool side is super charming!)

Room Tip: The main pool side is a bit more charming with a more comprehensive view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us. We look forward to your return. Regards, Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Friendly staff. Relaxing resort. Gets busy on weekends which is a nice fun environment. Weekdays quieter & more relaxing. Happy hour in the early veining. Good time to meet & get to know other guests. LDV is a place that you can make a quiet & relaxing getaway or fun & social experience. Have stayed twice. First time in a kitchen equipped suite with separate bedroom, separate lounge & separate kitchen. Second time in a studio. Both rooms & stay were great.
Reasonably priced resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting. Please tell your friends about us. We would love having more guys from Australia spend time with us.
Best regards,
Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner and I recently spent 4 nights at LDV. I'm sure in its day, this was a nice resort, but it's looking a little tired these days. We have stayed nicer in Palm Springs for less money.

As an example, the leather couch in our room was beyond beat. At first I wasn't even sure I wanted to sit on it. While he was sitting at the table in the kitchen working on his computer, my partner noticed water coming up between the vinyl tiles of the kitchen floor. There were little service issues too. One day, we didn't have any pool towels in the room when we got back after being gone all day. The next day, we didn't have a complete set of towels.

The breakfast could use some upgrading too. Having a waffle maker is a nice idea, but the batter needs to be fresh each morning or else you might get a flat waffle like I did.

On a positive note, it is a nice mix of guests at LDV and we did enjoy meeting guests from across the country.

Room Tip: If you choose a one bedroom, ask for one with a newer sofa in the living room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello Boys,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience at the Resort. We will take a look as to why you saw water in the kitchen of your suite. Also the leather sofa you referred to was purchased from an Italian importer; probably not a good choice to have in a Resort because of abuse from some of the guests. We will be replacing it. Your comments regarding pool towels have been shared with our housekeeping and thank you for your tip on the waffle mix. It is made fresh every day however, our Innkeepers need to whip the mixture to add more air into it. The air makes the waffle fluffier (is that a word??). We are also happy that you were able to meet some nice guys from all over the country. We're getting folks from every corner of the world now. This past week, we had guys from France, England and Turkey....Cool....
Best regards, Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Charming is the only way to describe this quaint, cozy property. My friend & I had several options upon arriving to Palm Springs and we are very happy we chose this place! Engaging desk clerk, the owner stopped and introduced himself when he noticed us in the pool. We really had a great time at the social 'meet & greet' chatting with other guests and bantering with the quick-witted host. He chatted up each guest equally and made us feel very comfortable right away~~Great and prompt housekeeper. Thumbs UP!!

Room Tip: our room had a private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Thomas. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Big hugs,
Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we booked this resort based on the reviews and web site.

1-the reception was the worst ever experienced in Palm Springs--no info on the property, the services, the spa and no tour of the place which is fairly large--we were given a key and pointed in the direction of the room

2-the room is adequate with a very small 1960's bathroom that needs a lot of TLC

3-the pool areas are lacking clean lounge chairs, and general maintenance. No one bothers to clean up after use and in the morning the same towels left the night before are there. Guest has to buy their own "noodles" and rafts to play in the pools.

4-breakfast is lackluster to say the least and no one is ever present

5-it was a busy weekend and very little was done to provide any kind of extra customer service
the "social hour" was bizarre and no one attends since it is one bowl of chip and salsa and a blender---one afternoon the person attending actually threw a bottle at a guest in the pool--probably in jest but it was not funny and everyone was taken by surprise

6-the general maintenance is poor--water from the myster drippin since a few screws are missing

In all truly sad since the property has potential and it would not take much to bring it up to the same levels as others, like Santiago especially in terms of customer service. The staff seems so bored and robotic and no one engages the guests. It would take a few trips to Lowe's and replace the worn out chairs or at least cover them with some nice terry cloth covers that can be washed frequently.

we use stayed at Terrazo over 8 times in the last 5 years (the property was sold last year and became a Canadian family resort) and the owners were always on site, service was superb and the property was immaculate so that is our point of reference--Same for Santiago which has a very hands on-manager and staff.

we hope that there is more attention to some of the details and maintenance. This is a competitive industry and PS has many options. The property being on one acre has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are very concerned about your stay at The Sweet Life.
1.Our reception area has brochures magazines, maps, DVDs, games, books, etc. and we personally escort our guests to their guest room even if they have been with us many times. You most likely arrived after the office was closed. We have a late arrival procedure since our office is not open in the middle of the night. We do have someone on-call all the time.
2. The Bathrooms were build in the 40's and 50's.
3. We were extremely busy during the time you were at the Resort. Our largest July holiday in our history. We have many chairs for our guest to lounge on and are constantly "straightening" them out. This is an on-going process, not just morning and night.
4. We actually serve an upscale breakfast at no additional charge for the guest. Most guest houses do not serve yogurt, waffles, hard boiled eggs, three types of cereals, fresh fruit; we do. One of our Innkeepers manages our breakfast and keeps suppllies stocked.
5. Our Social Hour is one of our strongest assets according to our guests. During July, many of our guest like to have there beverages in the pool. It is their choice.
6. We have hundreds or misting heads on the property. We are sorry if one or two were dripping. We will identify which ones and replace them.
I am at the Resort constantly and try to meet all our guests. That is the fun of having a Gay Men's guest house. I apologize that we did not engage you more. I do understand that some of our guests require more attention than others. Thank you.
Ken
5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at La Dolce Vita for 3 nights over the weekend and had a great time. The resort is very clean and well maintained. It was fun getting to know the other guests, and meeting up for the nightly happy hour was nice. Our room was nicely appointed. The bed was comfy, and the a/c worked great. It was a nice touch to have a flat screen TV, but I would have liked to have had a DVD player in the room rather than a dated VCR. Would also have loved to have had pool floaties to use during the stay. I guess a few of the other guests knew that there would be no floaties, and they brought their own. Minor inconvenience, though. Overall the resort is top-notch, and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you met a lot of nice guys. We do have DVD players in our rooms and will make sure that we check to see if one hasn't disappeared. We also have a very large library of adult film DVDs, free for viewing. We still have the VCRs because we have a large library of original VHS tapes of the Classics, back to the 1940's. Many of these have not been converted to DVD format. Anyway, this is probably TMI. We hope to see you again soon. Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Address: 1491 South Via Soledad, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, this upscale Gay men's resort integrates 20 elegant accommodations with desert landscapes, tropical gardens and majestic mountain views. Amenities include two swimming pools, two whirlpools, steam room, passes to fitness center/gym next to the property, misting system, Aveda bath products, Spa bathrobes, room safes, free Wi-Fi, computer workstation and Full Service Day Spa. The resort is centrally located to shopping, bars, restaurants, casinos, galleries, theaters, hiking trials, and the Tramway to Mount San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Resort And Spa
La Dolce Vita Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.