We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Great As I Remembered It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   1491 South Via Soledad, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“As Great As I Remembered It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed at La Dolce Vita in 2007 as a solo traveler and returned this year with my partner. It is as great as I remembered it, if not better. The staff, amenities and friendliness of the other guests were outstanding. The weather was perfect for swimming and sunbathing. They now have a spa on the grounds and provide a social hour for guests to meet and mingle. There are amazing local restaurants and shops in the downtown area just a short drive away (I had a rental car this time).

We would definitely return again and recommend this resort to my friends/fellow travelers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    51
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
1
113
76
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My (now) husband and I booked a trip to Palm Springs to get married. The owner and staff were very helpful in helping us plan and celebrate this special occasion. The staff is amazing and the resort is clean, awesome and definitely worth a visit. Kudos to Ken and his team. Amazing place! We can’t wait to go back soon. Thanks guys! - Kev & Matt

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

La Dolce Vita is a clothing optional gay resort for men only. NIce ambience. Very quaint. Plenty of plants in bloom. The resort is surrounded mountains and palm trees. Very laid back atmosphere. Walking distance to downtown Palm Springs. Close to shops, restaraunts and bars. No booze is served on the premises because the local laws do not allow the serving of booze in a clothing optional resort.

This was a very enjoyable stay. The cleanliness needs improvement. The staff and vacationers were quite friendly. The heated pool made it possible to swim during chilly mornings. The breakfast was not very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtYourServiceSir, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Just wanted to let you know that we have added some delightful goodies to our continental breakfast including fresh fruit salad and danish pastries. We still have our ever so popular "make-your-own" waffles. Rick has joined our team. He brings 20 years of housekeeping experience. If there was an issue, Rick will take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schplinky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We had a great stay. This was the first time we'd stayed in Palm Springs or a gay hotel and both were wonderful. We found that people were chatty in a sociable way. The pool and the evening cocktail hours are the focus of the activity and both were great relationship builders. The facilities were well maintained and are in the process of being updated. Our only big mistake was that we only stayed two nights because we weren't sure we would like it. Next time, it will be many nights, for sure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

I had a great time at La Dolce Vita and really appreciated the extra attention that was paid to us. The grounds there are so beautiful and serene and you won't believe the abundance of lemons and sweet grapefruits just hanging from the trees! There were two very clean and sparkling heated pools, two hot tubs, and a newly outfitted steam room. There was also a spa with various treatments provided. The Inn attracted a very nice crowd and the generous happy hour each day allowed for good interaction amongst all vacationers there. The renovations are looking good and the hardworking staff endeavors to ensure a pleasant stay for all their guests. We got a room with a kitchenette and were situated close to the outdoor Barbeque so we seldom had to eat out, which saved us a lot of money. I felt very secure there within the gates and enjoyed the freedom that was allowed and encouraged. :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I am a frequent traveler to Palm Springs, and have stayed in several gay and straight resorts. La Dolce Vita is without a doubt my top pick for service, ambiance, and a relaxed and welcome atmosphere. Guests are made to feel at home within minutes of arrival. The rooms are large and well appointed. Recent upgrades to fixtures and accessories is an added bonus to this perfectly located resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This gay resort is "nice" ... a bit worn but they are trying hard and making improvements. Neat and clean, nice breakfast, nice pools and spas, staff is friendly and go out of their way to accomodate. Little extras make the difference - robes, quality toiletries, office with all the info you need, internet, in-room phones and safe. Next year my partner will join me for "Modernism Week".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtYourServiceSir, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
You will be excited to know that we have made a major investment in updating the resort, from new paint to flat screen TVs and new furniture. We've also been remodeling our bathrooms with contemporary vanities, modern mirrors and larger toilets. Come back and see what we've done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Address: 1491 South Via Soledad, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, this upscale Gay men's resort integrates 20 elegant accommodations with desert landscapes, tropical gardens and majestic mountain views. Amenities include two swimming pools, two whirlpools, steam room, passes to fitness center/gym next to the property, misting system, Aveda bath products, Spa bathrobes, room safes, free Wi-Fi, computer workstation and Full Service Day Spa. The resort is centrally located to shopping, bars, restaurants, casinos, galleries, theaters, hiking trials, and the Tramway to Mount San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Resort And Spa
La Dolce Vita Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.