We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Gardens Hotel thee best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colt's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Colt's Lodge to your Saves list
Colt's Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1586 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264 (Formerly Alpine Gardens Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Sequim, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Alpine Gardens Hotel thee best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just returned home from another very enjoyable month at Alpine Gardens Hotel with owners Bill and Tom. Their Travelers' Choice Award #12 in the nation of bargain hotels is so well deserved. Our rooms are already reserved for the same time next year which will be our 15th annual return to Alpine Gardens Hotel. We could not recommend it more highly.
Linda and Fred Harrison, Sequim, WA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
87
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had never stayed here before, but, decided to try it based on what I read on TA. The reviews are right...this is a great place to stay. First, the hosts are friendly and thoughtful. They made me feel welcomed. Second, the grounds are lovely: comfortable and inviting. The pool and jacuzzi are a good size for a small hotel. Third, the vibe here is very low-key and relaxing. This is the place to go if you just want to chill.

The room was comfortable (the vaulted ceiling made it seem larger that it was) and cutely decorated (my grandmother had similar wall hangings...it brought back good memories and made me chuckle). I would stay here again.

Nice job Tom and Bill. You run a great little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My childhood memories include the annual two-week vacation where my parents drove up to different motels and where we were welcomed in real ways. In the course of time, we would sit under the awning and converse with the guests and the proprietor. If I was lucky there would be a pool to enjoy. I thought those days were gone, replaced by larger operations that sacrificed much in order to gain certain so-called efficiencies in terms of scale. But this is not the case. The genuineness that accompanied such experiences still has a home. It is at the Alpine Gardens in Palm Springs. I cannot begin to tell you how meaningful it was to me to rediscover this.
The owners, Tom and Bill, are wonderful people who take great pride in knowing and assisting their guests. (“How was your golf game?” “What are your plans today?” “Can I help in any way?” “Would you like a ride to the airport?”) Clearly all the guests I talked to felt the same way I did and many of them had visited on numerous occasions and for extended periods.
I believe the Alpine Gardens was built in mid 1950’s, so many of the rooms are larger, some with kitchenettes and from what I could see all had a very comfortable look to them. What may have been a parking lot at one time has been transformed into a superb garden (flowers, desert plants, palm trees, an orange tree etc.) a heated pool and hot tub area. (Both the pool and hot tub have been built with high quality inlaid tile construction.) Each spot has been thoughtfully created and the entire area is fanciful and entertaining. Everything is spotlessly clean and immaculately kept. With respect to room cleanliness I can only speak for my room but it was very clean and kept to that standard each day.
A continental breakfast is available. It is not a bacon and egg kind of thing but it has some good pastries, sweet loaves, English muffins, fresh fruit (bananas, oranges, apples and grapefruits) and an abundant supply of coffee. There is a toaster, a microwave and copies of the local newspaper. Sit under the porch areas or by the pool and enjoy the unfolding of the day. I did.

Room Tip: I think I would choose one that looked out at the pool and the garden area. You get the best of bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
224 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

friendliest hosts ever - rooms are nice and roomy (we had a jr. suite) - the decor outside is cute and whimsical - keeping with the whole vibe of palm springs decor --- the lounge chairs right out side our door and the sunshine got us to slow down and relax for a few hours....clean and safe place...if anything needs changing it may be the heater/ac could be quieter, otherwise absolutely nothing bad to say or complain about

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Greetings Tom & Bill: I booked our 11 night stay based solely on trip advisor reviews and I have to admit I was a little leary because it seemed to good to be true...BUT...it was EVERYTHING I hoped for and more. The photos posted by other reviewers were bang on accurate. We were fortunate enough to get room #2 with a comfortable king size bed and kitchen. Housekeeping did a super job tidying our room and supplying us with fresh bath/pool towels daily. We golfed most days and always came back to a clean room that looked like it was the first day we checked in. I loved the two chairs just outside our room where every morning I enjoyed the complimentary coffee/fruit/danish. Our door was three giant steps from the pool! We used the pool and hot tub everyday and both were kept at a nice temperature and were always clean. The grounds were kept well groomed and immaculate. Staying here was basically like having your own private pool and spa...never more than 1 or 2 people utilizing the lounge chairs. Tom and Bill were there for us whenever needed but they were never intrusive. Tom greeted us and was eager to help us throughout the stay. He even printed off coupons for our shopping trip, recommended restaurants, provided festival details and printed off event tickets we had purchased online. One evening we had family over for a poolside supper and socializing. (BTW, the grounds look wonderful at night too!) Not knowing for sure if this was appropriate or that we might be intruding on the other guests, rest assured Tom graciously welcomes us all and brings us a wonderful tray of sweet desserts for our enjoyment. I have to say in all honesty, this maybe an older hotel but it is nicely decorated and exceptionally well kept and maintained...just like a home. The rooms kind of reminded me of staying in a quaint cottage in Canada (that normally you would pay the big bucks for to get that type of atmosphere). But, here you are still close to all amenities that Palm Springs has to offer and for a mere $10 you can catch a cab to downtown or for just $1 a bus which stops just around the corner. Don't get me wrong, every hotel has its pros and cons but I prefer to focus on the positives that this hotel and the staff have to offer. The hospitality and service we were provided outweighs the other bigger hotels where you are just another number. The Alpine Gardens is proof that "Bigger doesn't always mean better"!

Room Tip: Any room is poolside!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have just spent a wonderful weekend at Palm Springs at the Alpine Gardens Hotel. Bill and Tom are the best hosts ever. The pool and spa were fantastic and the breakfast coffee, orange juice (fresh squeezed I think) and breads and danish just delightful. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

How could Alpine Gardens Hotel be rated #8 on Trip Advisor!! I have traveled the world and stayed in many hotels but Alpine Gardens is definitely that little slice of heaven that travelers are always looking for. Tom & Bill pamper their guests; you ask, they provide! I have always found them to be VERY helpful. They are wonderful to chat with as they are a experts about events happening in the desert. As for the hotel, it is immaculately clean, comfortable, the rooms are charmingly decorated and the pool and jacuzzi are well maintained. My favorite thing to do is have coffee by the pool and watch the hummingbirds. Alpine Gardens Hotel is #1 on my list as a truly fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#14 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
2.3 mi away
Triada Palm Springs
Triada Palm Springs
#19 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#7 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#8 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colt's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colt's Lodge

Address: 1586 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264 (Formerly Alpine Gardens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colt's Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Unbelievable Piece of Property" 5 of 5 starsReviewed May 18,2015 I went on a private tour of this 1954 hotel and was blown away about this little known diamond. Totally renovated and opens June 1, 2015. Location fabulous with a view of the San Jacinto Mountains, beautiful landscaped grounds, historic pool and central living room/kitchen for guests. Each room is decorated by an internationally known designer with 11 individual themes. Owners Jon and Frank have spared no expense at this renovation. Perfect place for special events and has a Honeymoon Suite. I highly recommend staying here. Room Tip: All are beautiful. Have refrigerator and microwave. See more room tips Viewed May 2015, traveled with friends 5 of 5 stars Rooms 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Colt's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Gardens Palm Springs
Hotel Alpine Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colt's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.