We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
san diego ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is not a hotel . They took a old motel and remodeled it. Paper thin walls. Rooms are 2 star at best. Go across the street to the Curve for 60$ I just through away 200$ oh and the 25$ resort fee too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
While I always welcome feedback on how we can improve to better serve our guests, I will admit, I am a bit taken back by your review. Right away, we are a hotel. You are right in saying we are not in the market for conventional hotels as we pride ourselves on a unique and fun atmosphere. When it comes to our $25 resort fee, this charge does come with many free amenities including free yoga, free bikes, free shuttle service, free parking and more.

Overall, I'm sorry to hear you felt you threw away money as that's never the impression we want to leave, nor is it one we leave often. Is there something in particular that would've made your stay more enjoyable? I'm all ears on how we could've impressed!

Kindly,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    229
    119
    53
    30
See reviews for
111
258
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nites mid week. Best online price we found was $110. Used hotelstonight phone app and got $64 rate per night. Plus $25 per day resort fee which includes parking and free wifi among other ammenities. Front desk upgraded us to main floor pool patio room no charge! Not as noisy mid week so would recommend for easy pool access. Great find!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Your support truly means a lot to us, Ryan! I couldn't be happier to hear just how much you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you're in need of a Palm Springs getaway, you'll keep us in mind!

Have a good one,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I guess by the name Joie de Vivre, it should probably tip you off that this is a lively hotel. This is our second time in as many years and both times now, although the staff are great, the restaurant is fantastic and the room is clean; the constant pounding of the poolside music, the lobby full of partying 20-somethings and the wake up calls at 2 am by our neighbours have ended our visits to The Saguaro for these 50-somethings. Perhaps a weekday stay would have been a different experience but will definitely be looking for something quieter in the future.

Room Tip: If you do want a quieter room, ask for Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I appreciate your feedback, Lynn. It has been a pleasure having you at our hotel and it's disheartening to hear we are losing a loyal guest. That said, I understand if our vibrant pool scene isn't your taste, but want to encourage you to keep us in mind for weekdays. We offer a much more relaxed atmosphere outside of our fun weekend parties. Hopefully our friendly staff, fantastic restaurants and clean rooms are enough to encourage you to give us a third chance!

Kindly,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Found The Saguaro while passing through town for a few nights. Overall, I really liked this place and like what they did with the updates and decor. The staff was incredibly friendly, both at the front desk and the pool. Rooms were comfortable, nicely decorated, and ours had a great view of the pool. Free yoga every morning was an added bonus and the hotel location is a short driving distance to downtown. Parking is easy and not valet, which was great.

Two restaurants on location looked very nice but very pricey, so we only got drinks at the pool. Good, but about $15 a piece. The pool area was very nice and spacious and an enjoyable place to sit. However, having complimentary water, as opposed to $5 bottled water, would have been nice given the heat and surrounding desert. Also, coffee onsite was $5 a cup and was about on par with Starbucks, definitely not worth double the price.

Room Tip: Pool view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about us! From our incredibly friendly team to our comfortable rooms, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's also fantastic that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities, especially the free yoga. Next time you're in need of a Palm Springs getaway, I hope you'll keep us in mind. We'd love to have you again!

Take care,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great bed and sleep quality. The property is quite large, and seemed to have nice pool and bar.

What pissed me off about this place is the resort fee that you have to pay on top of the room rate. On top of the resort fee they ask you to pay for faster internet in your room. Up to 3x faster speed for a fee. Speed test put the internet is 1mbps, 3mbps for extra cash does not sound like a good deal.

Advertising a rate of $100 then charging a resort fee means that your rate is $125. This seems like a dishonest business practice.

Location was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to follow-up with us here on TripAdvisor. While I'm happy you enjoyed our property and had a great sleep with us, it's disheartening to hear we lost points for our daily fee. I do apologize if our resort fee was not communicated to you clearly, but it does come with a lot of free amenities, such as shuttle service, yoga, bikes and more. Please trust me when I say our intention is to never catch our guests off guard, so I apologize if that was the result. I sincerely hope that next time you're in need of a Palm Springs getaway, you'll keep us in mind. Especially now that our fee is out in the open.

Kindly,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great 9 day stay. Service and staff.... help and friendliness could not be better. I would have rated five star but pool bar,,, $30 for two drinks and Tinto's $85 EACH valentine supper was a little rich. It showed too as both were mostly empty. At half the price they would have been better patronized. We ate up the street at the Smoketree shopping area.

Room Tip: don't take the upgrade mountain view of the parking lot?? get a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your support here on TripAdvisor! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed every day of your 9 day getaway and will be sure to pass your kind words about the friendliness of the service and staff along to the team. Hopefully next time you're in need of a Palm Springs vacation -- you'll keep us in mind!

Take care,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here as part of our Honeymoon Trip to the USA. This hotel is so colorful with very friendly and welcoming staff. We stayed two nights and had dinner in both restaurants Tinto and El Jefe. Both really nice, Tinto is a little more on the expensive side but the food is good, breakfast pancakes lovely in here too. Definitely try the Chilango Chop Salad, best salad I think I have ever had and have now downloaded the menu to make it at home. We stayed at Palm springs for some chill time between Vegas and LA and this hotel has a pool and two jacuzzi's. We got an upgrade to a pool view room upon arrival and the view was amazing of the mountains. Worth noting that El Jefe gets very busy in the weekend evenings with locals and can be loud so we sat on one of the tables within the reception area for our food as it was so busy we could not sit in there, but you cannot hear the noise in your room. Overall lovely stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have an amazing view and Balcony to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I couldn't be happier that you chose our hotel to help celebrate your honeymoon trip to the USA! Congratulations!

My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share this glowing recommendation of our hotel here on TripAdvisor. It's simply fantastic that you enjoyed our restaurants, jacuzzis and upgraded room! It means a lot that overall, you had a lovely stay, and I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you need a Palm Springs getaway.

Take care,
Steve Rachmat, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1800 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#30 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To know Palm Springs is to love it or the style, there's an undeniable lure to this oasis of desert modernity in the heart of Palm Springs. The Saguaro offers a sense fun and uncomplicated design, food and service. Guests enjoy our resort style amenities including our pool, 24-hours fitness room, morning yoga, touring bikes, boutique spa and two restaurants by James beard award winner and Iron Chef Jose Garces. Guestrooms & Suite - All with a patio or balcony - Flat screen HDTVs• - Large desks - iPod docking station - On-demand movies and music - Bathrobes - Coffee maker - Mini-refrigerator Services & Amenities: There are certain standards by which a visit to Palm Springs is judged, such as pool time and the scenery that goes with it, the quality of architecture and design, and perhaps most importantly, the ability to enjoy the desert landscape and air, preferably with cocktail in hand. By all accounts, the Saguaro has you more than covered. -Pet-friendly with no fee -Self parking* -WiFi* -Daily yoga* -Use of Touring Bikes -Complimentary airport and town shuttle* *Included in daily resort fee of $25.00 USD per night. Meetings & Events: Palm Springs is a destination for meetings and events more than ever, seducing planners with 350 days of sunshine a year and abundant golf, shopping and desert curiosities. The Saguaro features several flexible event space options and is ready to host your event, whether it's hosted in our one of our two ballrooms, garden courtyard, in a private dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.