We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somehow just misses the mark...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splash in to Palm Springs
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Somehow just misses the mark...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel, which is quite newly opened. It was rated on a booking site as a four star hotel, but I can't agree with that. It's a remodeled Holiday Inn and reasonably well done, but the elevator smelled quite unpleasant and the room spray seemed to be trying to cover up smells from perhaps Holiday Inn days. The hallways were already showing soil or perhaps weren't done well to begin with. The linens lived up to the four star billing, as they were very nice quality. We liked the bright colors used in the decor and the pool area, especially, was very well done and a pleasure to sit near while having one of their delicious margaritas. The restaurants, El Jeffe and Tinto, may very well be the best reason of all to be on the property--the food was splendid from Jose Garces restaurants. Most everyone on the staff was very nice, but it simply did not live up to the four star rating we were led to believe that it had. We got a reduced, introductory rate which made it barely worth the price, once the resort fee was added--we'd certainly NEVER pay retail for this property, and will look elsewhere the next time we're visiting that area.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street side are a little noisy from street traffic. We requested a pool side r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    222
    118
    53
    29
See reviews for
107
255
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The good:

- Updated candy color design
- Close to Ralphs
- Free shuttle
- Cheap drinks at pool bar

The bad:
- Thin walls
- Tinto is way overpriced for this type of hotel
- Music crazy loud at the pool
- Interesting mix loyal seniors who have been coming to this hotel since it changed ownership and Ace kids.

My experience was good. I usually stay at the Movie Colony or Horizon, but all the hotels were booked because of the races that weekend (bike/run). I was lucky to get a great price at the Saguaro at the last minute.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

What a joke. Was told the resort fee was waived for all guests in February. Then the resort fee was on our checkout charges. Was then told it would be taken care of...it wasn't. The rooms are tiny, walls in the hallway are dirty and staff not very friendly. Try the ace up the road instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

ok,, had high hopes... went to bar with friends ,, we ordered 2,, just 2 pitchers of margaritas.... the bill was 108.00 !!!!!! yep $108.00 for 2 pitchers of margaritas.... i have never been so pissed off in my life,, and no we didnt have any special tequila,, we ordered the house pitchers,, and ,,the pitchers were small, and the glasses half filled with ice when it arrived, and the bar is boring!!! nothing to it,, sure , lots of the pretty L.A set.. hummmmmm. will i go back.. when He## freezes over

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed two nights at this property within the first month it opened. I loved the bright colours and unfussy rooms. The staff were friendly, the restaurants (run/owned by Iron Chef Jose Garces) were outstanding, the huge pool, hottubs, courtyard and lawned area was fabulous. The massage I had from Jamie in the spa was, no joke, one of the very best I ever had (and I have had many and travelled a lot) she fixed my hips which were aching after a long drive. All in all I cannot recommend this property highly enough. Another Joie de Vivre triumph - this hotel chain really is the best in my humble opinion.

Room Tip: They have mountain views, pool views and rooms that open right on into the courtyard. Take your pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were only there for 2 night and enjoyed our stay. The pool area is very nice, we ordered lunch poolside, and the tacos were delicious.
I loved the bright colors but they did cut corners in some areas - hallways need a coat of paint.
Didn't know anything about the shuttle or bike rentals. This should be mentioned at check-in or at least listed somewhere in the room.
Our room itself was pretty basic but it definitely met our needs. It still had a strong paint smell but we just opened the patio door to let it air out. The beds are comfortable and we liked the fluffy new towels.
I'm not totally convinced that this is a 4 star property but we booked online and I was happy with the price we paid to stay there.
Only other thing I would mention is that we were out of our room every morning by 7am but housekeeping didn't have it cleaned until at least 3pm. Understandable, if they were running with the full house but I'm not sure that was the case....

Room Tip: We ended up with a mountain view room, it was acutall really nice! There are pool rooms that would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Enjoyed the bold colors and design at the Saguaro. I was here last week for Modernism Week and the design is refreshing and a great addition for Palm Springs.
Took advantage of the complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, and morning yoga outside was a treat. Entertained in Tinto one night. We sat outside and dined alfresco, the food, service and venue combined to make a truly memorable evening. Best thing Jose Garces’s menu is also available poolside and in room service.
I'm already booking my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1800 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To know Palm Springs is to love it. Whether you come for the sun, the spas or the style, there's an undeniable lure to this oasis of desert modernity in the Coachella Valley. Now, there's a new place to lay your head while soaking it all up. The Saguaro opened in February 2012, bringing with it a new sense of design, food and comfort. If you ever needed another reason to escape, you have one now. Guests enjoy our resort style amenities including our pool, fine dining, fitness, yoga and spa services. Guestrooms & Suites: Bright. Light. Colorful. The rooms at the Saguaro immerse you in the desert resort experience that is Palm Springs. Choose your view - mountain, garden courtyard with pool, or city lights. Nearly every room has a balcony or patio and is accented inside and out by the brilliant color of a native Mojave wildflower, creating a visual spectrum of light throughout the grounds. No one perspective is the same. Guestroom Amenities• Hotel and rooms renovated February 2012• Flat screen, 42" HDTVs• Views of surrounding mountains, courtyard and city (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Large work desks• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Services & Amenities: There are certain standards by which a visit to Palm Springs is judged, such as pool time and the scenery that goes with it, the quality of architecture and design, and perhaps most importantly, the ability to enjoy the desert landscape and air, preferably with cocktail in hand. By all accounts, the Saguaro has you more than covered. Hotel Services• Pet-friendly• Secure self parking*• Laundry and dry cleaning service• Wireless Internet Access*• Daily yoga*• Complimentary local transportation**included in daily resort fee of $25.00 USD per night. Meetings & Events: In the 1920s, Hollywood stars began decamping to Palm Springs to relax, party and rejuvenate. You can imagine more than a few screenplays were pitched around the pool. Today Palm Springs is a destination for meetings and events more than ever, seducing planners with 350 days of sunshine a year and abundant golf, shopping and desert curiosities. The Saguaro features several flexible event space options and is ready to host your event, whether it's hosted in our garden courtyard, in a private dining room or around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Groupon, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.