We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Palm Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Palm Springs to your Saves list
Hyatt Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

The entire property in under renovation, the pool is a big hole in the ground. Great location, walking distance to Starbucks and CPK.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 7, 2009
Thank you for your comments on our renovation progress. Our pool is scheduled to reopen at the end of November. Work continues and we are scheduled to be complete in early December. We invite all travellers to see the new Hyatt Regency Suites once our work is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    284
    127
    61
    42
See reviews for
190
331
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I've stayed here before and it's a great hotel, being in the heart of Palm Springs. Currently I'm sitting in my room, and unfortunately this is my worst visit here. I was vaguely aware that the hotel was under going a renovation, which will be great for my next stay. As for right now, they should have just closed the hotel for 4 months. I had no idea the pool was closed. (the pool has always been a huge draw to this great hotel) I just looked on their web site, and if you click around enough, it does say the pool is closed, but I wouldn't say they're heavily promoting this fact.

The rooms have been updated and look nice, but again they shouldn't be booking rooms yet as it feels like they're throwing stuff together at the last minute. Both of the TVs in my room aren't even connected so I can't even watch TV. (ironically, I'm sure all the TVs work at the Motel 6) I overlook a lobby and pool that have been completely torn up. All afternoon I could hear construction work. I appreciate what they're trying to do, but based on what I've seen, I'd wait to visit here until the work is done.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. As a repeat guest, we are particularly interested in your impressions. We have publicized this information extensively on this site, our web site and have communicated this to every guest both at booking and when they check in. The hotel is continuing to offer value rates and additional special offers choice of Continental Breakfast, complimentary Internet or Hyatt points during this period. We are doing everything possible to minimize impact to our guests during this period and keeping all guests updated.
We look forward to our completion in December 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Palm Springs. When arriving at the hotel we found that the hotel was under major renovation. We told when checking in that the pool was closed but we could use a pool at the hotel on the next block. Really the hotel should have been closed during this week as it was like a building site!!! The suite was a good size but very dated but I am sure when it has been refurbished it will be lovely. The hotel was in an excellent location, close to bars and restaurants. As the hotel is on Palm Canyon Drive it is quite noisy and earplugs are provided for this purpose. There was parking at the hotel but there was a charge of $14 a day for this. There was free internet access for 15 minutes in the hotel lobby but again this was not working due to the refurbishment. I think if we were to return to Palm Springs again we would give this hotel a go once the refurb has been complete.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Thank you for your comments. As all are aware, the hotel is undergoing a long needed renovation. We are endeavoring to minimize the impact to our guests by acknowledging the renovation with our renovation value pricing and additional special offers of complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary Internet or additional Hyatt points was was offered to these guests as well. We are delighted they found so many aspects to their liking and see the future potential as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Before staying at the Hyatt Regency Suites in Palm Springs I was a little worried because of the reviews. I am a very picky hotel-stayer and I must say upon arrival we were all very impressed.

My husband and I went with another couple to Palm Springs and had a great time! We received a great deal on the Hyatt through AAA and loved the fact we had adjoining rooms, which were requested at the time we booked. Our rooms overlooked Palm Canyon Dr. - the main street - which we all loved due to the balcony. It was not noisy at night (and there were a lot of foot traffic in front of the hotel due to the location) and the rooms were very spacious and clean - large living room and kitchen area which leads to the bedroom.

The only complaint I have is that there were renovations occuring on the hotel which we were not informed of at the time we booked (contratry to what the lady said at the front desk...), but the construction did not bother us one bit. The work was done during the day while we were gone sight seeing and shopping. The pool wasn't open, but the hotel did offer free shuttle service and use of the Hilton pool right down the street.

Overall, the Hyatt suites were a great place to stay and I would definitly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the middle of it all!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. We are delighted that our location and staff pleased you and helped you overlook our old facility. We look forward to welcoming you back after our renovation is complete in December 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

I've stayed at this place well over 10 times and I gotta say its one of those love hate relationships...I don't like it but I kept going back for some reason... I haven't been at this hotel in over a year and not planning to go back here anytime soon. I think I just got tired of staying at this resort over the years... the good thing about this place is its location - right in the hearth of Palm Springs and the the overall lobby, bar and food is great... the rooms are a bit bigger than most hotels in the area and the valet service comes in really handy (there is a charge) I would recommend it to my friends although I would not stay here again. Sometimes you get all kinds of people here so if you like quiet classy places this wont be an ideal place... the pool is always packed so that's a negative for us - The service and staff are pretty friendly but sometimes boneheads are everywhere so you will definitely see a bonehead or two in this resort...and that's a guarantee.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
Thank you for your comments and visiting our hotel. As you noted, we have the best location in all of Palm Springs and when our $15 million renovation is complete in December , we will have the beautiful surroundings and dedicated staff looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We used priceline to get a room in PS for 2 nights. I was weary after reading the reviews about the 'deal' we got from Priceline to stay at the Hyatt downtown. It is a bit tired and dated but it's really not as bad as some of the reviews suggest. The good is this: The rooms are spacious and clean. The location is perfect for strolling the streets of downtown. The pool/hot tub are clean and sunny. Cons: Try not to get a city view as it gets quite noisy at night. The hotel even provides complimentary earplugs because of the noise. The beds are rock hard. Parking and internet are available at a steep charge. It wasn't my dream hotel but it really wasn't that bad...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Thankyou for staying with us. Our $14 million dollar renovation began on June 1st and will be complete December 2009. We will share details in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Palm Springs

Address: 285 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Springs' only all suite, newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the historic village. Just footsteps from shopping, restaurants, galleries, museums, casino and theaters. Enjoy a mountain or village view from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Otel, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Hyatt Regency Palm Springs
Palm Springs Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.