We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cody

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Cody to your Saves list
Casa Cody
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   175 S. Cahuilla Rd., Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
318 hotel reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

This place has 23 units around two small pools. Rooms vary--we had a "studio" which consisted of a living room and a complete kitchen with table. Some rooms are smaller and other units are larger with fireplaces.

Breakfast is served around one of the pools. The ingredients are a couple cuts above the usual fare, and it is served on "real" plates and consumed with "real" flatware. A nice touch.

The location is perfect--near restaurants and shopping.

Casa Cody has the advantages of a bed and breakfast with none of the disadvantages.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    72
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
65
131
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2005

I spent a week with my family (wife and infant son) at Casa Cody. We stayed in a one bed room suite in
the garden. The room was somewhat worn but well maintained and clean. With an infant the fully functional kitchen was a difference maker! We stopped over at Ralph's for some supplies and kept the baby in the style to which he was accustomed. The grounds were well kept. Elissa, the manager, is well informed about the local scene and provided numerous ideas for restaurant dinning and shopping in the downtown area as well as some helpful ideas on spa services. The pool areas were all clean and functional including the spa which was divine after a long day shopping. The breakfast offering was more about a pleasant opportunity to meet some interesting people than a focus on the food provided. If you want a good breakfast my suggestion is to drop in at the Parker Palm's - Norma's and have the pancakes strait up with some bacon....
Very quiet at night over Christmas 2005. I slept well.
In short, we got more than we were expecting in the heart of old Palm Springs. We will be back...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2005

This charming inn is perfectly situated two blocks off Palm Springs' main retail area. Shopping, entertainment and restaurants are a short walk away. The inn is made up of several buildings separated by beautiful lawns where you can sit and relax. It has a couple of pools and a hottub. Free breakfast served at 8am outside near the pool. Pet friendly. Very nice rooms--clean and well decorated. The employees are very nice and helpful. Excellent value, we paid $99/night. We would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2005

Let me begin by saying that Casa Cody is not perfect. I does have some flaws, but my husband and I love it. We have stayed there on four separate occasions and have found it to be a consistently quiet and relaxing environment. On our last visit we spent one whole day at one of the two pools. It was about 124F that day. But with the comfortable water temperature and shaded areas around the pool we were perfectly comfortable. I couldn't have been more at ease in my own back yard. All of the rooms we've stayed in have been roomy and clean. The beds are very comfortable. Our favorite room has a large shower and the water pressure has always been just right. Casa Cody is on a side street three to five minutes walking distance which make finding dining and shopping easy. They serve a continental breakfast which is not gourmet by any means, but I have had much, much worse. Along with the usual continental breakfast items like cold cereal, various baked goods, coffee, tea and orange juice, they always serve fresh cut fruit and you can also have oatmeal if you choose. The parking is limited and sometimes we've had to park on the street. Most of the time we just park the car and don't use it until we leave. The air conditioner in the room we usually request is noisy. But we love the room anyway for spaciousness, its kitchen and because it has its own small private patio. The rooms have televisions with VCR's, but they are small and could use updating. We stayed in one of the local resorts once and even though it looked fantastic, had doormen, etc., we swore the next visit would be spent at Casa Cody.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

If you want a beautiful garden setting in the best location in Palm Springs, the Cody has it. If you want modern, up to date rooms, the Cody doesn't have it. The place has a tremendous amount of potential, but the last few times my partner and I have been it seems like the rooms are getting more and more dated.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Village
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

Last two trips Jacuzzi was out of service, water heater was faulty but management ignored repair, shower heads hardly put out enough water to rinse your hair. Pool heater remained inoperable for days due to tripped electrical breaker even though management was aware of problem. Continenal breakfast is of poor quality. Pool and pool area were ignored, patio tables were unclean.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

My favorite thing about Casa Cody is it's historic western past and truly old feel. It is one of the oldest B& B's in P.S. This special ambiance is unique and charming, and for that reason I've been staying at CC for years...however...it's time they do some rennovations. No need to "change" drastically, but they really need to replace worn furnishings, paint the rooms, upgrade the wall art, and buy some new comforters for the beds. CC could be even more charming with minimal effort. CC is always very clean, with great housekeeping but I have found the office staff to be very reserved. Not alot of warm hospitality, but the job gets done and business is attended to promptly. During my last stay (mid-January 2005) I was incredibly disappointed to find that an apartment structure is being built just a few feet from the back of CC. The view is now obstructed, and the lovely peace and quiet that only comes from open undeveloped space is now lacking. I was not forewarned of the construction in progress when I made reservations on the phone, nor was anything posted on the CC website. As a result, while I lounged poolside I was bombarded with the sounds of trucks, hammering, and various other construction noise. The trucks began rumbling in at 7:30 am and by 2:00 pm construction was in full gear. This new development of land around CC certainly takes away from its original peace and charm. If all of us CC fans are lucky, CC will put up a tastefully done sound barrier fence in back so we don't have to listen to construction, or in the future listen to residents driving in and out of the new apartment structure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cody

Address: 175 S. Cahuilla Rd., Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cody 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic and historic Casa Cody is the oldest operating hotel in Palm Springs. It is nestled against the spectacular San Jacinto Mountains in the prestigious Tennis Club area, right in the heart of Palm Springs. Casa Cody has 29 charming accommodations in 8 early California hacienda style buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Cody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cody Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.