We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely faultless! Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
The Horizon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely faultless! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I absolutely loved this hotel, it was faultless. Beautifully laid out, with all rooms facing the pool and with stunning scenery. The outside shower was also a lovely touch. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We're both seriously bummed out to hear that this wonderful & unique place has closed & is being refurbished as a high-end hotel. It was a perfect place to relax & easy to imagine yourself living an episode of Mad Men. Beautiful architecture, grounds & pool. Sitting out on our poolside patio eating breakfast, having drinks late into the evening, and the midnight swims on hot summer nights are all things we'll always remember. None of the other resorts we've stayed at in Palm Springs had us as excited to visit the area as this place did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I stay in Palm Springs a lot; the fall, winter and early spring are spectacular. I usually stay at the Ace Hotel up the street, but chose the Hudson for a couple of quiet nights by myself.

The Good:
The pool and hot tub are spectacular; the hotel is on the side of the street, giving a great view of the San Jacintos to the south and west. The design of the hotel is also great; if you love mid-century modern design, Palm Springs is your place. And the Hudson is a great example of the single-story, super chic look.

The Bad:
Unfortunately, it can get pretty cold in these uninsulated units. I was there in December and I got in pretty late. My hotel room was frigid; sub-50. So, forget about taking your socks off, or relaxing outside of your bed. The heater was a small window unit, so my room didn't warm up until day 2.

My stay would have been four or five stars if: 1. there were hotel attendants to help with my room or 2. the room rate was low enough to make up for the issues. Unfortunately, the hotel isn't that cheap, so the lack of service is glaring. With so many great hotels (and Air BnB's), it's tough to recommend this spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Thank you to the previous reviewer as a result of their post I contacted the hotel to check our booking. They confirmed that indeed they were closed probably until October. As this was the first hotel on a 15 day California trip we too would have travelled for over 16 hours non stop to then find that the hotel was indeed closed with notification from the Hotel or Expedia who had sent us nothing other than confirmation of booking!! Very poor customer service indeed,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We could've certainly stayed at The Horizon for more then one night. This place was really, really nice. We actually couldn't believe that it only had three stars, at to us it would have earned four stars. It also has a great history. Int the 50'ss and 60's it used to be the private home of Jack Wrather, a Hollywood film producer, apparently many Hollywood stars of that time visited the then called L'Horizon.

Rooms are bright and spacious - with a 60's style design. There's a nice pool area. The area feels very private and there's practically no noise from the nearby street.
Breakfast was really good and is served either to the room or to the private patio. Also the Horizon Hotel has a minimum age requirement of 21 years for all guests, so no children allowed.

A small detail which just didn't fit to the overall feeling: The actually white curtains had darkened spots. It looked liked either not washed for a while or just very old. It is a detail but if everything else is so perfect this stands out negatively.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horizon Hotel

Address: 1050 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel offers upscale accommodations in a secluded setting amongst a dramatic Mt. San Jacinto backdrop. The historic property with its iconic mid-century architecture and rich Hollywood history includes 24 modern yet simplisticly appointed guest rooms. Its low-slung, angular architecture was originally designed by renowned modernist architect, William Cody in 1952 for Jack Wrather and his wife Bonita Granville. The walled two plus acreage with eight bungalows was revitalized and restored with the utmost attention to detail. Today modern amenities in combination with a serene surround and impeccable hospitality makes this retreat the perfect boutique-hotel experience just minutes to the downtown village of Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Palm Springs
Horizon Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.