We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Horizon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Brokind
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice quiet hotel with gated free parking close to the room. Heated pool and Jacuzzi open 24 h. Nice continental breakfast that they deliver to your room, the patio or the pool according to where you want it. Perfect for a couple getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    59
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
216
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent three nights at The Horizon Hotel and really liked it. Our Room was large, clean, convenient and comfortable. We felt very safe and enjoyed the night sky, evening pool and hot tub, and the general quiteness of the neighborhood. Since we were there mid week it was not crowed and the service staff were very good, nice morning breakfast on the patio or poolside. All and all not the most elegant hotel we have stayed in, but one of the nicest stays we have had.

Room Tip: for quiet and flexability look toward the back of the property, 5A is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night in October 2012. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, who immediately made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The hotel is beautifully set around the pool, by which breakfast is also served. Our room was huge and very comfortable; the outside shower certainly is memorable. No restaurants on site or within walking distance, but there is a large booklet in the room with delivery options that can be sent right to the hotel, which is certainly a nice perk if you don't feel like driving around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth UK
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First time in Palm Springs and were wowed by the architecture of the hotel on the website. First impressions and you won't be disappointed; the hotel lobby has got a great show of it's history and the refurbishment has been done sympathetically.
It's quiet despite being next to a busy road and even though it was full you didnt get the impression of a lack of space - far from it! Plenty of loungers by the pool which was warm and very welcome in the desert heat. Breakfast is served either by the pool, in your room or on your patio and consists of croissant, bagel etc with cereal, coffee and juice - just enough to set you up for the day.
I was disappointed that despite great style, there were quite a few things missing that I would expect to have in a hotel of this calibre. Bear in mind there is no restaurant at the hotel, and the bar wasn't open during our stay. So, there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, no plates, cutlery or anything to facilitate you having something to eat. The glasses in the room were steel tumblers - not great for a glass of wine. Housekeeping was reasonable, although one of the sheets on our bed had a large rip in it and dried blood stains on it. The bathroom was quite small but functional although lacked an adequate amount of hooks to hang things on.
Overall this is certainly a style over substance hotel. I enjoyed our stay and would come again but would probably bring my own travel kettle and supply of coffee. We ended up taking crockery, cutlery and glasses off our breakfast tray and using it whilst we stayed for salad lunches which you can pick up from Ralph's supermarket two minutes away.
The staff at the hotel were low key and helpful, but special mention to Rudy; a great guy who would always have a cheery 'hi' and make sure you were ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a historic architectural hotel that has been refurbished to a high standard. Each room is part of a small cluster of 3 units set in nice gardens. The only thing missing was a coffee maker, but asking at reception solved that immediately.

This is a great place for a weekend break, less so if you happen to be on a business trip due lack of laundry and exercise facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thermal, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Horizon Hotel is one of the best hotel options for a Palm Springs stay. The ACE is a little too trendy and bombastic (nice amenities though). And other places like the Colony Palms are full of the Botoxed and over-cologned set wanting to be on display rather than relax so comparatively The Horizon is the way to go.

The careful mid-century renovation of the grounds was impressive. This was one of the primary attractions for us and William Cody's original iconic mid-century design is smart. In almost all of the bungalows, one has a sense of privacy without feeling cut off from the rest of the grounds and pool. I loved the indoor/outdoor shower option too. I loved the black, white and grey color scheme of the decor and buildings. It made the lush green grounds pop. The mountain view is gorgeous. The pool is a nice size; you can actually swim in it. The feel was relaxed, no kids! The staff was friendly and not overbearing to a fault. The landscaping was beautiful. They have badminton. Our room was tidied-up every day beautifully. This is a place for those wanting to relax in refined surroundings but don't need affectation.

My only feedback;

The Breakfast: Although thoughtfully delivered to your patio, by the pool or in your room, it was uninspired. It could be best described as Costco fare. Not very tasty or healthy - Yoplait yogurt, dry plain bagels, cornflakes etc. For a "luxury boutique" hotel I was expecting something fresh, varied and inspired. We had an extended stay and definitely got a tired of it. I think they could easily do something more interesting and keep their costs down, if that is the concern. It seems like a strange blind spot. Oh, and the items available in the mini-fridge (Coke and Snickers type stuff?) were boring and outrageously priced. Again, this is an area where a little more inspiration and attention to detail would go a long way.

The staffing: For a couple of days a wedding party descended upon the hotel and they were obnoxious. The hotel has standard policies around smoking and drinking, only in designated areas. I'm not anti-smoking/drinking by any means but the wedding party was smoking and partying everywhere. Leaving food out, beer bottles, cigarette butts in the pool etc. The hotel staff did nothing in the day and no one is on staff at night (which did feel a little weird), leaving the other guests too deal with the garbage, ask them not to smoke in the pool, use an ashtray etc. It was awkward and no one wants to have those kinds of discussions ever let alone when you're on vacation. An attentive staff should have anticipated or seen what was developing and addressed it before it was an issue for anyone.

Hot tub: It was full of dead bugs constantly. You couldn't get them out (filter?).

The Outdoor Bar: There is a little outdoor bar by the pool with a video screen and bar stools surrounding it. It looks potentially fun and it's featured on their web site. During our entire stay not one thing happened there. I don't know why it's there. At least once or twice a week, they could have a little happy hour, play old Bunny Granville movies and have snacks or something to make it feel like less of a dead space. I don't know if it's only utilized at certain times of the year but, if that is the case, they should let guests know. It was a disappointment. The ACE has yoga, a little gym, restaurant etc. If the Horizon is going to compete, they've got to stay relevant and distinct.

Music: I enjoyed the 1950's era music by the pool but at times it started to feel a little old. I mean both that we got tired of it and it felt dated. There also was a staff member that seemed to favor lite adult contemporary (top 40ish) music and those afternoons were like dying a slow death in a waiting room. Check out pitchfork.com people or some 1950's avant-garde Jazz. The 50's, music wise, was more than Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra. To clarify though I would take standard 1950's era music any day over feeling like I'm in a dentist office waiting room with the adult contemporary.

We were in Palm Springs for our honeymoon. We decided on Palm Springs in part because of our interest in staying at this particular hotel. We shared this when we booked on the phone. The staff didn't acknowledge our honeymoon in the slightest when we checked-in or out. Certainly not required but it would have been a nice touch. When someone includes you in one of the major events in their life you should do or say something.

Again, when you bill/describe yourself as "luxury boutique" and you have the ability to be personal and distinct because you're delightfully small you have to watch those details. People are paying to come and have an experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We couldn't believe our luck when we arrived here! Everything exceeded all expectations. The owners have renovated the property to the highest and most contemporary standards, whilst perfectly embracing the original 50's architecture.

Our room (2B) was very spacious, with all mod-cons, amazing bed, sumptious linen and lots of fluffy towels. The bathroom was brilliantly white, with great light and a glass walled walk-in shower. Bathroom amenities were excellent too - and were replenished daily.

We had a choice of breakfast being delivered to our room, the patio or the pool, we enjoyed it on our own private patio - but even at 8am it was too warm to eat outside! Breakfast itself was plentiful, we had granola, yoghurt and bagels, with coffee and fresh juice. Again, this was well considered and presented.

The pool was really lovely; you can just imagine what it was like in the 1950's in its heyday. We enjoyed coming back every evening and cooling off by the pool having a few drinks.

We felt very secure in the property, you have to gain access by either a key card (if you're entering via car) or with a code on the pedestrian gate.

We can't recommend this hotel enough, it's excellent value for money, and we will definitely be coming back in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view - you can enjoy breakfast on your own patio with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horizon Hotel

Address: 1050 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horizon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel offers upscale accommodations in a secluded setting amongst a dramatic Mt. San Jacinto backdrop. The historic property with its iconic mid-century architecture and rich Hollywood history includes 24 modern yet simplisticly appointed guest rooms. Its low-slung, angular architecture was originally designed by renowned modernist architect, William Cody in 1952 for Jack Wrather and his wife Bonita Granville. The walled two plus acreage with eight bungalows was revitalized and restored with the utmost attention to detail. Today modern amenities in combination with a serene surround and impeccable hospitality makes this retreat the perfect boutique-hotel experience just minutes to the downtown village of Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Palm Springs
Horizon Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.