We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bello!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Royale Inn to your Saves list
Villa Royale Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Indian Trail, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Catania, Italy
2 reviews
“bello!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent there 2 weeks and did not want to come back! A swimming pool in front of my room, great restaurant and professionalism with dealing with guests like just americans can do. You feel like at home and the atmosphere at the restaurant is very cosy...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    18
    7
    13
See reviews for
25
133
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is special... it welcomes you from the first step. A lovely fountain decorated with artistic ceramics and many cosy corners once you get inside: pretty patios with small tables or swimming pools to really let yourself relax and forget about everything for some days... I am italian and I am a difficult customer at the restaurant, maybe fussy sometimes, however the restaurant too was able to surprise me...I will never forget the homemade cheesecake :) highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here April 1-5 in room 114. We were delighted with everything. The room is clean and well decorated. My wife and I both agreed the bed was comfortable.

The Inn's high points are that it is quiet and serene, well landscaped with mature plants and trees, and the restaurant is excellent. The complementary breakfast is made to order. You have a choice from 5 different breakfast plates. I much prefer this rather than the food troughs at chain hotels where you and 500 of your best friends slog through soggy bacon and runny eggs. Instead we sat outdoors in peace and quiet and enjoyed our breakfast. We ate dinner a the hotel's restaurant two nights and it was fantastic, the chef and our waiter were first rate. We are picky where food is concerned and do not review restaurants favorably very often. Once again we were able to sit outside and enjoy the evening.

If we had to find any fault I suppose it would be our bathroom. It isn't exactly modern in appearance and could perhaps do with a makeover, but this was only a quibble where we were concerned.

Room Tip: Room 114 is tidy and well decorated (Asian feel). Bathroom could use an update.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Take your time and give yourself more days to relax If you are staying at this resort, cause the environment is fantastic and feels like you don't wanna leave.
You actually don't need to go any where too, the restaurant is fantastic with amazing food and drinks and shopping areas are close by.
In the restaurant menu choose the "lamb chop", (even though their all foods are great), it was the most delicious lamb chop I have ever had. There are only two "4 Diamond restaurants" in palm spring and "Europa" is one of them.
This resort is just like an European piece of haven in Palm spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a room for two days as part of a two week holiday touring the west coast. We ended up there for nearly the whole holiday, apart from one day they were full and and booked us into a nearby hotel for the night. We didn't have to lift a finger, Jacob arranged everything. Palm Springs makes a great base for exploring both inland and the coast. Jacob, Jack and all the staff are so subtle, they just glide around getting everything done but never in your face. Both rooms we stayed in were full of character, and the hotel has some interesting history. I've read some criticism of the state of the electrics and bathrooms, but apart from an odd bit of sealant needing renewal etc., there is nothing wrong with the facilities. It has two lovely pools, although the hotel was full while we were there, we nearly always had the pool to ourselves. As the rooms are all near the pools, children are not encouraged to stay, and although there were a few around, it was such a lovely peaceful place to stay. The restaurant was excellent, and to sit outside eating breakfast, watching the humming birds was a delight. If you want a party place and a cloned hotel room, this is not the place to go but I shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga,CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This delightful B & B is has a special intimate charm, a bit of old school Palm Springs at its best. Our third trip to Villa Royale was even more enjoyable than the first two, as we have chosen to upgrade rooms each time (every room has a special feeling all of it's own). The service here is impecable; staff are friendly and helpful, often going above and beyond. Both Jacob and Kirby were exceptional....thanks guys! The grounds are lush and have delightful places to sit, read, sun and relax... a little piece of heaven! A must inclusion is dining at their on site restaurant, Europa. The food is outstanding! This unique and delightful B & B is rapidly becoming our favorite easy, affordable, get-out-of-town getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver b.c.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

For our group of 5 ladies getaway, we wanted to find a property to stay at for our 4 nights that was not at a basic cookie cutter hotel/resort. We decided on the Villa Royale Inn and was quite delighted with the experience of getting a taste of how stars from the old Hollywood glamour days might have enjoyed. The series of courtyards, main pool and layout of this sprawling property located on over 3 acres reflected a serene Mexican hacienda. The red tile roofs, gorgeous Bougainvilleas, orange trees, blue tiled accents, wrought iron features and beautiful concrete fountains is simply lovely. The best rooms we encountered were the ones in the main courtyard (we rented a villa suite and 2 separate rooms). The rooms were decorated with an eclectic array of antiques from vintage Asian to American style. The service we encountered from Jack, Jake and the owner was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The made to order breakfast was a lovely bonus to dine at in the in-house award winning restaurant...however it would a extra nice touch to offer a fresh squeezed juice considering the calibre of the restaurant. In general, if one were to really look at every tiny detail with a magnifying glass at this property, then you would find the need for better detail on clearing dust bunnies around corners, refresh the linens somewhat and refresh the bathrooms with more up to date hardware. However, with its convenient location, peaceful and safe setting, extra perks such as bikes for use (possible rental) and the idea that you stayed at a once very magnificence place where Hollywood stars used to go for a pampered and discreet getaway, then Villa Royale will not disappoint. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the hidden little suites that is just a lovely spacious retreat (living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#16 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
#34 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#14 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
2.8 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#29 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 Indian Trail, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Royale Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Royale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.