We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Palm Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Save Saved
You added Villa Royale Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Indian Trail, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a great couple of nights at Villa Royale taking advantage of the great facilities there. Our room (102) was very comfortable with a small, private courtyard. Staff were friendly and helpful with advice on local restaurants and attractions. Good value with nice breakfasts and drinks and snacks available all day.

Room Tip: Rooms round the pool could get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    54
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
20
114
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Agatha Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just got back from five(5) great nights at the Villa Royale Inn in Palm Springs.( Oct 23rd -= 28th 2012) This is a charm amongst the big name - big volume rooms hotels. Only 29 units, and when we were there I am sure possibly only half filled, so the grounds, and pool(s) were completely quiet and private. The units are old, ( sometime from the glory days of the 40's and 50's) but they are well kept and clean. We had a unit with a full kitchen, and the appliances looked like they were from the same era, but they worked and they were clean. Dont expect stainless steel and granite counter tops, but do expect charm, along with warm and cozy furniture and wall hangings to make you comfortable.
This place is VERY accomodating. We checked in at 1;30 am in the morning and all it took was a pre-arranged plan to call Dave ( who resides on site) prior to showing up, and he opened up the office and graciously welcomed us and got us to our rooms.
The grounds flourish with beutiful gardens, and kept immaculate considering the size of them. Because there is so much vegetation, YES you will have a few leaves dropping into the pools at times as there is not a 24-7 pool boy there ( and who really wants that!), so just be prepared for that.
Do not stay here without at least one dinner in the restaurant. Definetely not low cost, but definetly a wonderfull 5 star experience.
Overall if you are not demanding contemporary design, and modern architecture, and want something with more of a bed / breakfast feel but very private, then try this out. You will not be disappointed.
Gary Pasichnyk ( Mark knows me as Mr Smith!)

Room Tip: I thnk all the rooms are good, but I would avoid the one with the pool pump beside it because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed a week, and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was always good, and any minor issues were fixed quickly. We had originally stayed here 20 years ago, and were a little worried that it might not be as nice as we remembered, but we needn't have worried. Our room was comfortable, clean and very nicely decorated. So much nicer than staying in a large hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to return. The Europa Restauarnt is superb. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Villa Royale Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are delighted that you stayed with us, and we thank you for your kind words. We're committed to provide memorable and pleasent experiences for our guests. Comments such as yours, truly help our staff to remain motivated and focued in providing execptional service to our guests. We look forward to be your host again during your next visit to Palm Springs.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Used to be a fabulous place, have stayed here several times. Don't know what happened but it now seems tired and shabby. Lots of small maintenance issues that threaten to overwhelm the place. Toilet seal broken in our room- did not look like a recent problem. Tiles peeling from the walls in the bathroom. . Fountains filthy. Dirty towels on the lounge chairs which in turn had seen far better ( and cleaner) days. Small things like no newspaper with the coffee in the morning- no toast with the breakfast. No napkins on the tables the last morning- the coffee was served from a carafe that had a completely shattered spout and dripped everywhere. Staff trying hard but looks like they're overwhelmed. Sad really. Hate to say this but far better places to stay for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Villa Royale Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience at our resort. Rest assuerd that your comments are taken VERY seriously and we will investigate, address every issue; and will not rest untill we again reach the high standard of service that we are known for. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and allowing us an opportunity to continue our improvments. We sure do hope you give us another chance to provide you an exceptional experience, perhaps we'll see you during next biker convention.
Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I think this place used to be really nice, but no so anymore.. shabby, dead plants, dirty rooms, totallly unkempt.... We had roaches in our shower, and then found one on the bed in the morning!! Wierd worms in bathroom too.. in hindsight should have asked for another room after the shower discovery but didn't. The room was dirty, I had to shake out the throw rug, it had dirt and stuff all over it.. the bedspread had dirty spots and stains, the towel in the bathroom was frayed... etc. etc. .It ruined our time there, it was a birthday getaway, and we wanted to stay poolside till noon on Sunday but left immediately at 9:00 a.m.! We told the guy at the front desk and he was totally unfazed, said they were "bugs from the palm trees" and that " our section had not been used all summer." that must be an excuse for dirty rooms, dirty walkways and shabbiness. Never again... But.. the restaurant was good, had dinner Saturday night, food was great, service good... but the hotel part was awful.

Room Tip: Room 301 was the culprit!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Villa Royale Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Please accept our sincere apologies for your unsatisfying stay at our resort recently. Please note what you had described is not the norm here at the Villa Royale Inn and it is a rather unfortunate incident. We try very hard to manage our natural surroundings however, with three acres of lush landscape and mature trees; occasionally such unforunate event may happen.

While we can't undo the past, we want you to know that your comments are taken very seriously and are being used in our trainings and in our continuing efforts in providing a seamless experience for all of our guests.

We thank you for sharing your comments and look forward to receiving a secound chance from you and to be your host again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Villa Royale is a great place when you want to get away from it all and not be stuck in those Cookie Cutter hotel chains with 500+ of your closest pool friends.

This place gets it's stars because of the Friendly and Helpful staff. Before I had even met the staff in person I had called regarding dinner reservations, spa treatments and brunch ideas. Mark, Jacob and Jack were all very accommodating with my wishes and kept me in the loop when confirming reservations for dinner, spa and brunch.

Irma at the pool side bar kept the drinks filled and the yummy food coming while we layed by the pool. She was even gracious enough to offer some coffee after the lanai coffee bar was closed.

The one bedroom suite Room 101 is beautiful! It is bigger than my first apartment. The rooms are well decorated and very warm and inviting. The only downfall to that suite is the bathroom, which is tiny and doesn't fit 2 people trying to get ready for dinner.

The Europa restaurant is deserving of it's AAA 3 diamond rating. The enviroment is old world charm and the food is spectacular. The Wine list was fantastic, had we known they had my favorite wine we would not have brought our own. Steak Tartare, escargot, braised shortribs and rack of lamb were done perfectly and the cheese platter and creme brule`e were to die for.

The spa treatments were in the room 115 guest quarters, although the room is a bit small, the treatments were AWESOME! You can have a massage in your room, however the portable tables are not as comfortable as the stationary tables in the spa room. So I recommend the spa room. Sonya and Rebecca were so spot on with great deep tissue massages. I felt so relaxed when the hour was up.

Although we ate out for Brunch we would have liked to try their brunch when in season. Their brunch runs from Thanksgiving on. Too bad, the website menu for brunch looks amazing!

The overall rating of 4 stars would be a 5 if not for a few minor blemishes, cosmetic issues in the bathroom and pool area. If you want to look for imperfections you can find them at any hotel chain. However this Inn is a charming, quaint, a true "old world vacation spot" when you want to fly away to Italy but only have a weekend and a few bucks.

You get more bang for your buck here and the staff is the star that will keep us fans! Cheers!

Room Tip: If you are going to spend more than a few days go for the bigger one bed room suites. Our room 101 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Staying at The Villa was one of the best unexpected surprises on this trip with my son. It took my months to plan every detail to visit Palm Spring and though the name and rate sounds good, let's go for it. When we arrived both of us were just at Ahhh of how well the grounds are landscaped and calming! Fresh water with slice of lemon and a cookie in our hands, just ketp staring at the art work and Decor.. can't wait to get in the pool.. I really felt as if I am in a five star hotel /Spa feel. Our room good size and came with a kitchen area.. there is a nice restaurant on in this gated well best kept secret Villa and the food was delicious. Another surprise was how close was the Villa to downtown as we love to walk and act like tourist! Thanl staff for making our stay special with plenty of touches you do not experience at a typical hotel! Highly recomended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 Indian Trail, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Royale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.