We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but a little shabby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ingleside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ingleside Inn to your Saves list
Ingleside Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   200 W.Ramon Rd., Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Charming but a little shabby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a very special historical property. With only 30 unique rooms, a large pool surrounded by extensive lawns, and abundant shade, this is a sweet and relaxing spot like none other. The staff is very friendly and the place hosts many regulars who visit often. Unfortunately it is a tad shabby. The outdoor furniture is mostly resin chairs, tables, and lounge chairs, all of which have seen better days. One guest fell while we were there when the resin chair disintegrated while he was sitting in it. The ancient yellow chaise cushions are in various stages of decay. The food is well prepared but the breakfast and lunch menus are very dated. Room and poolside service is friendly but the shabby "uniforms" worn by the hard working team don't convey a sense of luxury. The restaurant is a throw-back to the 1970's - dated menu, overly formal and stuffy. The rooms are charming but the touches of tacky (cheap reproduction prints, home-depot type remodeled bathrooms, cheap fake flowers in baskets) detract from the overall effect. Bedding and pillows are definitely bargain brand. The maintenance is very low budget, dead and dying flowers everywhere. This one of a kind inn has the potential to be great and it is a shame that the owners don't do more to bring the decor, amenities, menu, and overall appearance up to par with 2012 expectations. Having said all this, it is a fabulous, relaxing, charming spot just a brief stroll to the heart of the Village. We will be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    38
    7
    10
    9
See reviews for
15
125
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Terrace
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very nice, upscale property. Since it was the off season the room rate was $180 but is usually $360 during the cooler months. The Ingleside Inn is a past get-a-way for many movie stars and has a lot of history. Mel Haber is the owner and has written a couple of books about the visitors to the inn. Mel is at the property most of the time and will sign the book for you if you purchase it. The grounds are well maintained and very beautiful. The room we had was very large and yet cozy because of the layout. It had a wood burning fireplace and a very comfortable king size bed. The closet is very large and you can actually walk into it but I would not call it a walk in closet. The property is also the home of Melvyn's an upscale resturuant and bar. Reservations needed. There is entertainment on the weekends. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Every need is attended to. It was my wife's birthday and they even put her name on the board as celebrating her birthday. The room has a small fridge which has soda's and juices that are complimentary, that is right they were free. They also had a plate of cheese, crackers, fruit, chips and peanuts that was also complimentary. This is a very enjoyable place to stay and we will visit again.

Room Tip: Go during the off season when the prices are lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband discovered Melvyn's while coaching the Palm Springs POWER Baseball during Winter Ball and the College League from June - August. We rarely miss an opportunity to relax, dance and enjoy everyone at Melvyn's! I wanted to do something special for my Mother's birthday, so I booked a lovely cottage room at the Inn. They thoroughly enjoyed the charm, the pool ( I felt like we were on a movie set), the dining experience and the variety of music at Melvyn's. Brian and Matt graciously greeted us, David, our favorite Bartender took great care of us and shared stories, and Linda is a delight to be around while always making sure that we were comfortable. You can't ask for a better experience, and we can't wait to get back!!
Thanks to everyone at the Ingleside Inn for great memories!!
Natalie Salazar and Dan DiPace (Coach)

Room Tip: We got a room on the south side, and it was very private with a little outside patio. Also, very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spent 2 days last week at the Ingleside Inn with my wife.
It was the highlight of my tour and it was refreshing to be in a place that's all Class.
The Inn is a throw back of what Style was and most hotels and inn's have lost this today.We had dinner at Mel's restaurant and it was probably the best meal I had in many years. The staff is great including Karen and Rick in the restaurant.
Charm and Delight at the cottage with an touch of Old Hollywood surrounds you.
I plan to go back and relive this past wonderful experience by the pool with a glass of Champagne. Mel don't change a thing.

Jerry/Terry Kovel / Old Lyme CT

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to the USA staying at 4 different hotels. Ingleside Inn beat the other 3 in every way. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was a trouble for each and every one of the staff. Karen deserves a special mention for lighting up every moment. She was such a joy. We would certainly recommend Ingleside to anyone who wants a holiday to remember - for all the best reasons. The pool, gardens and the buildings - including Melvyn's Restauarant where we celebrated my birthday, all make you feel priveleged to be there. We will certainly be back

Room Tip: We stayed in Margaret's Room- it was perfect with a semi private patio and lawn. Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I just can't find the words to describe this place. It has been one of the best places I have stayed. My husband and I spent three nights here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived to complimentary champagne and cheese/fruit platter - what a lovely touch and great way to start the trip. The places oozes charm and elegance - you can truly feel the history of the stars throughout. The pool and garden are so comfortable. Every member of staff we came into contact with was superb and made us feel so welcome. We dined in Melvyn's one evening - what a great experience! I could go on and on and on. Anyone giving this hotel less than 5 is bonkers in my opinion! It is cool, intimate, sophisticated etc. I am definitely an II person!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 24th-25th June 2012 - what a lovely, secluded place, right in Palm Springs. The hotel is like a single story French Provencal cottage that you would expect to be overlooking the Mediterranean - it's 50 or more years old giving it character with individually furnished rooms and has a lovely ambiance. There's a communal veranda outside the room with a swing-chair, beautifully kept flower beds, humming birds, mocking birds singing - just perfect.

Top that off with secluded gardens and courtyard, unique rooms in cottages dotted around the grounds and a pool. Then there is the attentive but informal service - what a great place to stay. We paid $133 per night.

It's on the corner of two streets, in the town itself, just back from the main street - you could easily drive past it without realising its there. With a clear blue sky, 100F dry heat with a gigantic mountain backdrop close by and wooded, well-kept gardens, we were impressed straight away.

We were welcomed by Karen, who was so friendly and efficient and she gave us a huge room (mini-suite but not the biggest by any means) with a huge, old fireplace, easy chairs, unique old furniture, TV, fridge and all the amenities. Just to give you the feel of the place, the fridge was well stocked with soft drinks and you could help yourself for no extra charge - never had that before!

We got there Sunday evening and found the bar and the quite formal dining room throbbing with local, well dressed business people and retired people - nicely dressed and rather glamorous - it must be the place to go for those in the know from the local middle-class community. This is the place where Sinatra used to dine and Steve McQueen was refused entry because he was in motorcycle leathers - its sort of formal in a very casual way, so you feel relaxed here from the word go.

The food was nice, a trifle expensive - slightly quirky dishes with English-style boiled vegetables on the plate. The waiters were all older guys, formally dressed - probably been there since Sinatra's days. The bar prices were quite high and the table wine was also pricey - starting at about $32 a bottle, so we ordered by the glass, starting at about $8 per glass - as far as I can remember. . . There's also music there at weekends, but we missed that. Sadly, the Sinatra Tribute singer who used to perform there died recently. What a shame.

The bed was comfortable, the room was peaceful and quiet and we had a good nights sleep. The town is very close by with lots of restaurants and facilities - there's a giant statue if Maralyn Munroe - and then it was back to the hotel for a relaxing swim - there's plenty of shade from the trees around the pool.

It is HOT in Palm Springs, but you never sweat because of the dryness and you somehow don't get affected by the heat as you might have anticipated. The town of Palm Springs is quite small, with lots to do and we would definitely go back and stay in the Ingleside again - its so friendly and welcoming and discreet. We had a lovely, lovely time there.

.

Room Tip: Don't go if you are dressed in motorcycle gear like Steve McQueen. Seriously, its smart casual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ingleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Inn

Address: 200 W.Ramon Rd., Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InglesideInn is an official Palm Springs Historical site, built in 1925. A visit to the Inn is like staying at a friend's country estate.The Inn has been home to many famous celebrities including Frank Sinatra, Liza Minelli, John Travolta and Marlon Brando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Expedia so you can book your Ingleside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ingleside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.