We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eh okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Springs Air Museum

Palm Springs Air Museum
745 N Gene Autry Trail, Palm Springs, CA 92262
+1 760-778-6262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 100 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated by CNN as one of the top 14 Air Museums in the World. This facility Gives visitors an up-close look at the legendary fighters and bombers of WWII, Korea, and Vietnam.
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“eh okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

there thats it folks! liked display of airplanes disliked the service and drinks we were given! don't go if you're not into the planes!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    204
    24
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Displays and Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Palm Springs, CA and I have always had a desire to go and see this museum but I either did not have the time or we were other people who did not seem all that interested. If you like history or are interested in World War II and the air war over Europe and in the Pacific this is a great place to go. We were very fortunate to go inside a Flying Fortress and have the plane explained to us by two former airmen who had both flown missions over Europe in Flying Fortresses. What incredible bravery for men who were only 18 or 19 at the time. We were also fortunate to see a display on the life of Bob Hope which was set up in one of the hangars. There was also a nice gentleman from Norfolk in the U.K. who grew up near one of the big American bases during the war and told us about seeing hundreds of bombers gathering up into formations and then heading for Germany. The museum also has an excellent library, gift shop and concession. Take the time to see this museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great exhibits, easy to navigate. You could spend all day. close to downtown scene. A word of caution. If you are thinking about going on the "free" day, don't! To many people to view the art.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Highlight for my hubby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We always visit air museums where ever we go as my husband is a pilot and we find flight history so interesting..
This museum is well run, full of knowledgeable volunteers who love to discuss planes.

The exhibits are easy to move around and well laid out.

The Bob Hope exhibit was full of fun facts about one of our favourite comedians. So well done.
I encourage others to visit this museum, as it appeals to pilots and non pilots alike.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great place to visit for history fans. Not only the airplanes but some of the other items from the war years makes this a great place for both adults and kids. The interactive oral history displays are great and don't miss the library upstairs. Also I nice place to catch a lunch and enjoy the view.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Air Museum also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Springs Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.