We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Save Saved
You added Desert Sun Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Sun Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 Chaparral Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
2 for 1 Day Pass Offer
Ranked #16 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
edmonton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Another Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited this resort last November and couldn't wait to go back - so here we were again in April, this time for a 10 day stay. We booked a room with a mini kitchen (microwave and fridge) in the courtyard and that made a wonderful difference in the amount of privacy and comfort. Unlike the Chapparal rooms, the Courtyard rooms have a built in air-conditioner, rather than the wall mounted unit. This cuts down on the in room noise considerably.
The grounds are maintained to a high standard. We enjoyed the quiet of the pool in the condo area (particularly on weekends when things get quite noisy around the volleyball pool and hot tub) and also the pool by the spa. Had a couple of wonderful massages as well with Renska. Don't miss the opportunity if you visit. Michael and staff do a great job in looking after the guests and we look forward to our next visit - already booked!

Room Tip: If booking a room in the Courtyard, ask for one away from the entrance gates - people tend to shut t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    40
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
148
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Villa clean, excellent accommodation. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. Totally relaxing and people immediately friendly on the grounds, spa, restaurant. Many different areas to enjoy, including hot tubs, multiple pools, fireplaces, tennis court. Staff immediately responsive to requests. Relaxed but not sleepy C/O resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great facility, clean and neat with very helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful, featuring three pools and two jucuzzi spas. There are three types of accomocations: older, somewhat larger rooms; newer, smaller rooms; condos. The rooms are furnished with somewhat dated furniture. The bathrooms in all rooms are very small. Suites with kitchens are available in the older section and some of these rooms connect to accomadate larger parties. Bar and restaurant service is very good and the food is quite good. The pools are very nice, but unless you play volley ball, do not plan on being around the main pool after volley ball starts in the afternoon (no care is taken to avoid hitting guests with the ball and splashing them as well. The pool surrounded by condos is very nice, quiet and peaceful. Guests tend to be on the older side; Everyone we met was very friendly and it was very easy to meet new friends. Karaoke goes on in the night club on Saturdays. . Depending on the crowd, this can be a very funny and enjoyable event. We had a really great time and we are in no way karaoke fans. Downtown Palm Springs bars and restaurants are a quick, $10 cab ride away. We travel throughout the US for business, staying in three-four hotels a month. This hotel is superior and is highly recommended for a relaxing, get-away weekend

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 8 in the courtyard section have kitchens and connect to other rooms. Two rooms in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhnaks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our first overnight stay at DSR. Our previous visits were all day-passes. We were assigned a Chaparral room on ground floor directly beside the main pool. We were initially hesitant about staying overnight from reading mixed posts on condition of rooms and linens. Upon entering our room, we were pleasantly surprised to see new and quality towels and linens used. This confirmed Management's response posts here that they recently completely revamped all the linens. Although we agree the furniture and TV are dated, our room was squeaky clean as was the rest of the resort and grounds. Our one complaint was that the air-condition was quite noisy, especially when the compressor kicked in. The 24-hour coffee and tea dispenser at the reception area was a nice touch. We also found the staff friendly and helpful. Although our stay was short, we had a most relaxing stay. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been to most of the c/o resorts in the area and DS has the nicest grounds and facilities we've seen. The public areas are beautiful and immaculate.
The small room we stayed in was nice but could use a remodel. Tiny fridge plunked on the floor, no microwave, old school furniture etc. That said, it did the job but for the price I'd expect more.
The price seems to have selected the crowd... kind of country clubish but naked.
Terra Cotta is more intimate and fun and the hosts are the best.
I suggest DS do wine and cheese afternoon mixer as other resorts do to help pick up the vibe. Also a pastry tray with the morning coffee would be a welcome touch and not much of a financial burden when your charging $200 plus a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melita Manitoba
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first experience at a complete au naturel resort and it was awesome! The resort is perfect for a quiet holiday around a pool. We already have our condo booked of next year and will look forward to another week in a place that we are comfortable and beautifully cared for along with a great staff. Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here for our 15th wedding anniversary. What an amazing place! We haven't been that relaxed in years. The amazing staff (Thanks Teresa!) are on hand to help and made our stay perfect. The Desert Sun Resort is the perfect place to just sit back and soak up some sun in a safe and friendly clothes free environment. We met some great people while we were there and were sad to have to leave when our week was done. We will be back again next year for sure. Thanks again to all the staff at the resort for everything!!! Dana and Kristen

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Address: 1533 Chaparral Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. 3 swimming pools, 2 jacuzzis, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. AANR and TNS affiliated- minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.