We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As nice as it gets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Sun Resort to your Saves list
Desert Sun Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 Chaparral Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Orange County CA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“As nice as it gets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been to most of the c/o resorts in the area and DS has the nicest grounds and facilities we've seen. The public areas are beautiful and immaculate.
The small room we stayed in was nice but could use a remodel. Tiny fridge plunked on the floor, no microwave, old school furniture etc. That said, it did the job but for the price I'd expect more.
The price seems to have selected the crowd... kind of country clubish but naked.
Terra Cotta is more intimate and fun and the hosts are the best.
I suggest DS do wine and cheese afternoon mixer as other resorts do to help pick up the vibe. Also a pastry tray with the morning coffee would be a welcome touch and not much of a financial burden when your charging $200 plus a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    42
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
164
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melita Manitoba
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first experience at a complete au naturel resort and it was awesome! The resort is perfect for a quiet holiday around a pool. We already have our condo booked of next year and will look forward to another week in a place that we are comfortable and beautifully cared for along with a great staff. Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here for our 15th wedding anniversary. What an amazing place! We haven't been that relaxed in years. The amazing staff (Thanks Teresa!) are on hand to help and made our stay perfect. The Desert Sun Resort is the perfect place to just sit back and soak up some sun in a safe and friendly clothes free environment. We met some great people while we were there and were sad to have to leave when our week was done. We will be back again next year for sure. Thanks again to all the staff at the resort for everything!!! Dana and Kristen

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was a first time experience for my husband and myself. It was my 66th birthday, and what a memorable one! From the manager Michael, to the front desk staff, to Chef Roberto, to the cleaning and maintenance staff, we were made to feel comfortable and welcome from the minute we arrived. Everyone was very professional and respectful. Behavioral expectations are explained upon arrival and everyone adheres to them. We stayed in the older Chaparral section which is well maintained and comfortable. The only drawback was that it took a long time for the shower to get hot, and it had low water pressure. Not an issue most of the year and certainly did not detract from our stay!

The grounds are beautiful, as is the scenery. Three pools and two hot tubs, sparkling clean. Very safe and secure.

While there we booked a couples' massage at the Spa on site. Our two massage therapists, Alex and Renska, were excellent and we highly recommend them.

DSR is close to downtown and walkable if you don't have a car. Bicycles are available for rent in town and would be a great way to get around assuming you ever want to leave.

We ate most of our meals in the Oasis Café, and it was the best food we had in Palm Springs.

Not knowing how we would like this type of resort, we only stayed 4 nights. Upon returning home, however, we immediately booked our same room for 8 nights for our anniversary in April/May, and bought our plane tickets. What a relaxing, freeing vacation!

Room Tip: A condo would be great for an extended stay so a kitchen would be available, or a 2 bedroom condo if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Desert Sun is a lovely oasis in Palm Springs. We have stayed there twice, and each time find new things to appreciate. The location is terrific, the maintenance of its gardens, pools, and rooms is wonderful. The staff are very nice. Nothing is too much trouble.For instance, on our latest visit, one staff member overheard me say I'd love a cup of tea.. Next thing I knew, he'd made me a cup and brought it to me the hot tub! Now that's service!

Desert Sun is a very relaxing place to spend a few days and so close all Palm Springs has to offer.. What more could anyone want?...
We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was the first time that myself and a friend of mine have went to this type of resort. Michael , the manager, gave us a tour and eased all our concerns. Within 10 minutes we were both down at the pool and making new friends. We stayed at the Hotel and it was very clean, the beds were comfy, the resturant/bar was very nice. We had a meet and greet on Friday at the Bar and there we met Theresa and John, who are impeccable hosts, and a lot of the regulars that welcomed us newbies. The staff was just great. April, Marie, etc . My friend got a very nice massage one day, and on Saturday a Water Volley Ball game was arranged by Chuck, a regular. (you really don't have to be any good) On Sunday we all gathered at the resturant to watch the Super Bowel game and cheered on the teams. I have gone to many High Priced Resorts, but this rivals the best of them. I think what really makes the difference is the friendly atmosphere of all the people, guests and employees. , probably due to the nature of the resort. Which I really need to mention something about this type of resort. I was never made to feel self-conscious. People talked to you , You don't have to worry about what you look like. Just be yourself. Try Desert Sun, I think you will be plesantly surprised at how much fun it is. I will go back.

Room Tip: I personally liked the hotel, It was right off the main activity pool, but the condos, etc looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bixby, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

really enjoyed our trip. Relaxing,good food, nice grounds and pools. Just watch the top step of the main hotel since the steps are uneven.Be sure to get on the bridge. You can't get to the homes accress the bridge. if we go back I would like to stay in a condo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Address: 1533 Chaparral Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. 3 Swimming pools, 2 jacuzzis, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.