We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, but tired rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Desert Sun Resort to your Saves list
Desert Sun Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 Chaparral Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Palm Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, but tired rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are regular guests at this beautiful resort and stay here on business trips to the desert. The pools are sparkling clean as are the hot tubs. The grounds are the nicest of any clothing optional resort in the desert. The rooms, however, are getting stale, smelly and old. Though I know we did not come to stay in the rooms, as the front desk pointed out (not appreciated), we do sleep on all days ending in Y, therefore we want clean odor-free carpet, beds, soft towels and quiet respectful housekeepers just like you would expect at any other hotel. 8 hours of daily sleep equals 1/3 of our time spent in the room! Sorry Michael but we speak our minds.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the maid's closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertsunps, Owner at Desert Sun Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Alan,

Thank you for your posting. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. These postings justify our most recent actions.

We agree with you that our new cleaning solution was leaving a smell in the hotel rooms. Our housekeeping crew was trying a new cleaning agent that was recommended by our vendor, Waxie. Since your stay, we discontinued using it and have now reverted to our original cleaning supplies, to get that fresh, clean smell that better describes our rooms.

As you know, we have 91 rooms at Desert Sun Resort. It is unfortunate that you would have stayed in only one of two rooms that are next to a housekeeper's closet. We would have been happy to relocate you if we had other rooms available. It sounds like you know our GM, Michael. He would have gladly moved you to another room had he known of your issue (and another room was available). Nonetheless, we have met with our entire housekeeping team and they now understand the importance of keeping the noise level down when they are in the housekeeping closet.

We are so glad that you mentioned the towels! Just this week, we received our new shipment of towels. Every room now has brand new towels, hand towels, and wash clothes. We have even replaced all of the outdoor pool towels, although the old ones were still in good shape.

We take pride in our resort, not just the incredibly gorgeous grounds that you were kind enough to mention, but everything that enhances our guest's experience. The pools and Jacuzzis look great because every year, we re-do our pools and decks. We realize that our guests spend most of their time enjoying the pool/Jacuzzis, so we want these areas to always look sparkling new.

We are proud to have the newest rooms of any nudist resort in California. Our rooms were completely remodeled within the past couple of years. As owners, we are constantly investing in the property to retain our reputation as the #1 nudist resort in the world.

Thank you for helping us make 2012 our best year ever and for being a repeat guest! Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    41
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
159
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have tried a few nude beaches and resorts over the past few years. Our time at the Desert Sun Resort was by far the nicest and most relaxing time we have had. The other guest were very friendly without being pushy or overly friendly. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to relax and shed their clothes without any hassles. We will definitely be returning in the near future

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We absolutely love this place. We took our first "leap" at a nude vacation here three years ago and it is now a must trip for us each year. We always rent a villa so we don't have to leave the property at ALL since my wife just loves being naked for her entire vacation. We usually try to make the annual Halloween party but just missed it this year due to family obligations, but there was still a nice crowd and plenty of very nice people to meet and chat with. The attention to the property landscaping is a huge reason we come back. It is a beautiful property and spotless whenever we visit. The staff are always so helpful and pleasant when we return.....especially when I left my car keys on the counter...they immediately tracked me down to return them.
Now that we are "empty nesters" we plan on making more trips to DSR each year to take advantage of this rejuvenating resort that keeps our marriage romantic and fun. My wife would come every month if we could get the time off from work, but I promised her more trips in the near future.

Room Tip: we love the villas to make meals in our room and allow us to stay on property for our entire vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent a fabulous week at this resort at the beginning of November. The weather was fantastic and that undoubtedly contributed to the experience.
We had a ground floor room with a king size bed in the Chapparal complex- the room was spacious. Some other reviews have complained about the size of the washroom - we did not find that a concern - it's adequate for all you need to do in there.
The grounds are spacious, with a salt water pool in the condo area - a nice quiet place to get away - and a quiet pool as well as an activity pool in the other area.
We found the loud music played over the loudspeakers next to the activity pool distracting so spent most of our time at the two other pools.
There were very few guests for most of the week - we pretty well had the place to ourselves until the weekend, when the crowd descended.
We really enjoyed our massages with Renska - she's quite extraordinary.
Some pluses and minuses:
Pluses - the spacious grounds, choice of areas to relax in. RENSKA
Minuses - the mini fridge in the Chapparal rooms sits on the floor next to the closet. Come on folks - surely you could provide a small table for it, and maybe even put in a small microwave. Music poolside much too loud. No breakfast included to speak of - just a cup of coffee.
On balance, this was a great experience and we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Decided to take a 3 day weekend from Cold Colorado and head to sunny Palm Springs for our 2nd Visit to DSR. Unfortunately, I think we brought the cold weather with us, as all 3 days, the highs were only in the 60s. Despite the cool weather, our stay at DSR was again phenomenal.

Staff was great. They heated the pools (more than usual) to accommodate the cold weather. We met some new friends and saw a few folks that we already knew from before.

New Restaurant in PS called Workshop Kitchen + Bar. It is excellent for the foodies, beer and wine snobs out there. Def something that PS has been missing for a LONG TIME.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhnaks
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On our recent trip to Palm Springs, we decided to stop by DSR for a day pass visit again. This was our third visit over the years. The resort remained the same peaceful, clean and wonderfully manicured property as before. We also ate lunch at the restaurant and would rate it a 10 for the generous portions and quality of food. I must admit at first, my wife was hesitant about leaving our other (expensive) resort to spend extra time and money at DSR. But I really wanted to suntan and play tennis in the buff. Once we got there it was so quiet and peaceful without any kids running around she was glad we did go.We are already talking about going back, and perhaps next time, stay at the resort instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Desert Sun Resort, Oct 11 -14, and I have to say we had the best weekend getaway ever! This place is just a outstanding clothing optional resort. Last year we stayed at the other popular C/O resort in Palm Springs and were a little disappointed, so while we were in Palm Springs we took a tour and decided that we would try Desert Sun Resort on our next trip and we are so happy with our decision.

The main thing we liked were the grounds, with 3 pools and 2 Jacuzzis and plenty of space to relax and chill, or be entertained watching a volleyball game. Even though the Chaparral and Courtyard rooms were fully booked and some people were there on day passes it didn’t seem crowded at all.

We stayed in the Chaparral building room 45 and were pleased with the room, even though the room was a little on the small size it had everything we needed, is was kept very clean, the bed was comfortable and the furnishings were in good shape. The bath was very small but it seemed to me that they did what could be done with such a small space. Besides how much time do you want to spend indoors at a clothing optional resort? Our only complaint with the bath was lack of water pressure in the shower, I don’t know if they can do anything about that, just make sure you have plenty of time to rinse all the shampoo out of your hair, it might take awhile.

We really enjoyed the café and bar, at first we were unsure about eating and drinking with other guests while in the nude, but actually the experience wasn’t strange at all and was just something else you did while at DSR. The food and drinks were good, prices good and service outstanding. While on the subject of food the only other complaint we had was the included continental breakfast, your only choice as noted in previous reviews were bagels, I had figured that they would have more available in the mornings, even a Super 8 motel offers more choices. I know for us the last thing we want to do while vacationing at a clothing optional resort is to get dressed and go somewhere else for breakfast. Sunday morning the café was open for breakfast and it was great, I wish that they were open every morning, then I wouldn’t care about the bagels. Next trip we will bring our own breakfast items.

The Staff at DSR were great, very friendly. And just like all the other places we have tried that were clothing optional the other guests are very friendly and sociable. We are already looking forward to returning, hopefully not too long in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Address: 1533 Chaparral Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. 3 Swimming pools, 2 jacuzzis, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.