We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Tree California Cuisine

Cork Tree California Cuisine
74950 Country Club Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1948
760-779-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cork Tree California Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 234 restaurants in Palm Desert
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cook Street
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chose this restaurant for my birthday dinner because it was the night before we departed and it was close to our hotel (the JW). We ended up walking over. It was packed on a Monday night which was our first clue it would be delicious. We each had a wonderful salad (the special), yummy entrees and cocktails and a complimentary desert (I had mentioned the birthday when making the reservation). Service was very pleasant; could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    284
    90
    38
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great lamb shank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice quiet restaurant, older crowd. Beet and date salad a must have if you like either. Flat iron steak a bit on the chewy side. Service was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I went to a vendor sponspored dinner party with about 12-15 people here. We had a private dining area, which was very nice. The appetizers were so delicious I almost couldn't eat dinner. I had a steak and it was excellent. The service also was excellent. Their food was upscale, but a little different than restaurants like Mortons. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had dinner for the first time on February 20 and I will be back. Dined alone and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Menu selections were great and I enjoyed my lite supper very much. I will be back

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Outstanding, Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I dined at the Cork Tree on the last night of our visit to Palm Desert and it was by far the best meal we encountered on our trip. We had been to Clementines for lunch and the owner Christophe suggested we try Chef Herve's 36 Hour Pork Shank during our conversation with him.Well, the pork shank was fabulous. The meat just feel off the bone and the flavor was something to be remembered. My wife had the lamb chop special and she thought it was perhaps the best she had ever eaten. We were on the patio outside and we really enjoyed the atmosphere, rather than inside. . We each had a glass of Syrah, a very nice pour which went well with our meal. I would recommend reservations since this is a very popular restaurant and for good reason.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Tree California Cuisine also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Cork Tree California Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Tree California Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.