We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Tree California Cuisine

Cork Tree California Cuisine
74950 Country Club Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1948
760-779-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cork Tree California Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 243 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cook Street
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sensational Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've done a lot of traveling and had many wonderful meals, but this rates up there amongst one of the top 5 ever! The appetizer we shared was figs with blue cheese and prosciutto. My meal was Pan Seared Scallops on a bed of black himilayan rice with edamame. The chef came to our table and was more than willing to share his ideas and inspirations. This is going to be a regular dinner spot when weekending in the desert

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    121
    50
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“fancier than we thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

we went here with a friend and our 1 yr old who is pretty good at restaurants. didn't realize how fancy it was. felt a little out of place, although our waiter and the whole staff were very accomodating. we made a 5:30 reservation thinking we would be out before the crowds but people started filing in soon after. the food was very good and served elegantly. prices were a little steep. would probably skip next time. not the place for kids.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent; it "missed" in several areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'd been looking forward to eating here; It has ranked as TA's #1 restaurant in the area for some time. Sorry to say that I felt let down. We eat out a lot, both high end and casual. It was a good experience, but I couldn't give it an excellence review. The room was big, but lacked intimacy. The food tasted great, but the presentations were just OK. The service was too casual at times, then three servers/managers practically tripped over each other in a row to check on us; service was eradic. The servingware seemed outdated and the restaurant in general felt dated, like it could use an overall refresh. To get a five star rating, everything (or nearly everything) should be great in an expensive fine dining establishment. It was a special occasion and they surprised us with a desert - which was the tiniest thing I've ever been served, hardly a couple forkfuls, sadly disappointing. In general, it was all very good (vs excellent) but we won't be returning, as there are other excellent choices in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“A smooth start with a disappointing finish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

After reading the reviews, we decided to make this a special night out. Perhaps it just wasn't a special night for the chef. We started with the special prosciutto wrapped figs stuffed with goat cheese, and they were very nice, beautiful with the wine we brought ($20 corkage), and also autumn salad, which had beautifully fresh greens. Our entrees were the slow roasted pork shank and the flat iron with ravioli - both the meats were dry, the steak more medium than medium rare. I would never have eaten the pork shank, but my spouse jut let it pass; didn't want to return it. The best part of both entrees were the amazing carrots (whole fresh babies, cooked just right). Dessert, an apple tart in puff pastry; good but not exceptional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cork Tree - a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We're having a small family gathering in the Palm Springs area and staying at the Marriott Desert Springs II resort. One very long block away from the resort is Cork Tree located on the corner of Cook and Country Club. We didn't read any prior reviews and figured it for a mid level California cuisine location. Boy were we wrong ! Entering we discovered an casual, but elegantly adorned and designed establishment. Party of six were seated at one of those historic private booths, intimate and cozy. Each of us ordered separate entrees and everyone was more than happy with their choice of meal from chicken, short ribs, pork and lamb shanks, tuna and beef filet. Presentation, preparation and taste were to perfection. We also had the blue cheese stuffed and prosciutto wrapped figs as an appetizer. All was perfect. The staff was very relaxed and professional. I highly recommend this establishment, especially to locals who don't know that it exists.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Tree California Cuisine also viewed

 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Cork Tree California Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Tree California Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.