We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAIL FOR SAFETY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   74-700 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mid Week Getaway
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Chino Hills
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“FAIL FOR SAFETY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is an older Spanish style architecture and not with updated room amenities. I noticed one wing of the hotel is currently being renovated. The hotel is surrounded by a deteriorated parking lot running the perimeter of the building, no pot holes but severely cracked. The room doors open onto an open central area, my front door opened to the pool.
It looked like all of the exit gates to the parking lots required key cards. The gate nearest my room did not lock and remained unsecured the entire time I was staying here. The key card reader was broken. Anyone could enter the guest area via this gate without a key card.
My room door was a typical steel door with a dead bolt and a flap lock. 6” from the door, on the locks side, was a window. Breaching the window and reaching in could easily unlock both locks. Value of a room is worthless if I have to not-sleep worrying about security. I could see day light at the top and bottom of the door.
Parking is free. Breakfast is free. Wi-fi is not free.
The bedroom of the two room suite was very clean and comfortable. Newer bedding, matching décor. But the other room was a hodgepodge of décor, miss matched furniture from several styles. Both rooms were spacious. The theme was orangish tones.
I stayed during a 3 day weekend and the walkway outside by 3rd floor room was busy late into the night.
I would not stay here again. The hotel missed badly on my perception of safety.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    42
    31
    33
See reviews for
77
75
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoy staying at Embassy Suites all over the country. I travel a lot sometimes with or without the family. I like the atmosphere, the accommodation and the breakfast. The staff is pleasant and service is good. It is good value for the buck.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We expected a little more from the Hilton Hotel. We were surprised...We only stayed at Hilton to use our Hilton reward point. This hotel was very old, the room was dark with outdated furniture. The AC was not working at first...

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The AC went out and the staff did not make a good enough effort to make sure of the comfort of the residents. Because there was no air conditioning, there was mass exodus from this hotel to the competitor across the street. Check to make sure the room AC works before booking here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the malfunctioning A/C and we reported your concerns to our maintenance team in order to make it right. We were able to complete the repair to the A/C equipment however, it took a little longer than anticipated for the system to catch up with the demand. If you should have the chance if you return to our area in the future I hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations. I thank you for your time and hope you have a great day.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel should be sold off to a low budget group. Dirty! Nasty elevator floors, even the entry to the lobby needed to be power washed from goo stuck to the concrete and this is off season when the workers should have plenty of time to scrub down these areas.
Checked in to zero air conditioning; we're in the middle of the desert for geez sake at 100 degrees! We were told it would be 20 minutes and now 2 1/2 hours later still no A/C but promises, promises! We will be checking out within the hour if we don't get the straight story.
Don't waste your time or money on this place unless you just want a place for the kids to swim and a free meal in the morning. I have Never have seen an Embassy Suites this run down or dirty. Just a few miles away you can stay at the La Quinta ES, which is newer, cleaner, and so beautiful I wanted to move in to stay. Avoid!!

Room Tip: No room is a good room without air conditioning in the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us and that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. Our A/C equipment had a belt break and we were able to fix it right away however, it took longer than anticipated for the system to catch up with the demand due to the high temperature and humidity. If you should return to the area I hope you will give us another chance to not only meet but exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has two major draws for us - the pool and the managers reception.

The pool area is in the center of the buildings, providing shade from the sun earlier than many. I like to swim without getting burnt. This pool area fits the bill nicely.

The managers reception is a fun feature that gives me an incentive to go with the Embassy Suites brand. Its social, you get to talk to the staff and hear the local places to visit, and who doesn't like free drinks?

The bed was clean and I slept just fine. The amenities were adequate. There is a coffee maker, microwave, a small bar fridge, two flat screen tv's, but no safe.

The front room and the bedroom both had plenty of space. Where this hotel really shows its age is with the bathroom. Its tiny. You need to stand to the side of the toilet to shut the door. You can easily touch the sink and the tub at the same time. This would not be acceptable for a new hotel and so dates this one significantly.

The other annoyance with this trip was the hot tub. The pool area was the main draw for us, and the hot tub was not hot. After climbing in and looking around for a timer switch or something we may have missed, I found a piece of paper with a notice that the heater is broken, floating on the bottom. We were never told this. The whole impression was that they did not consider it a big deal. It was a big deal for me, and after at least three stays I think Ill try somewhere else next time. Its not that this hotel was bad, but with all the competition around they might have tried a little harder to keep my business.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on Labor Day weekend, 2014. Over all, I would say that this Embassy Suites is just "okay".

The 2-room suite was spacious and clean, but they need to update their sofa beds. Sofa beds are not the most ideal kind of bed in general, but the ones here were in pretty bad shape. The springs felt like they were about to pop through the top mattress layer, which was only covered with a single sheet. There was an additional folded sheet provided, but that was it. (Our family had a total of 4 rooms booked and they were all the same.) Housekeeping brought blankets & pillows after about 1 ½ hours. I had gone directly to the front desk (twice) for the request, and called once. The front desk, and the lady who brought the stuff were both very nice and apologized for the long wait. I think they were just understaffed last weekend.

Their cooked-to-order breakfast food was okay, but the service and set-up sucked. They have you wait in a very long line to get to a tiny food counter. The line snaked out the entry/exit door. The worst part was the head cook (at least I think he’s the head cook). He yelled at everyone and balked out the orders to the other cook behind him. Even that was understandable…a lot of people in line…keep the orders flowing, etc. What was uncalled for were comments he made. Because the line was so long and the room so small, my husband waited outside while my grandson and I got our food. I ordered eggs for my grandson, then ordered 2 additional orders of eggs, with 4 bacon pieces and 4 sausages. He said, “FOUR PIECES?!” I replied that yes, it was for 2 people (actually for all 3 of us, since my grandson doesn’t like his food “touching” each other). He then held up 3 fingers and said, “THAT’S FOR 3 PEOPLE!”, and promptly took the next person’s order. What the….?!!!! My grandson asked me why the man was so rude. I explained that some people are not meant for certain jobs. We went back for breakfast the next morning and I was prepared for him to make a rude comment, as I was ready with a few comebacks, but he didn’t. (Shucks!) He just balked out the orders.

I would maybe stay there again. (If it was last-minute and nothing else was available.) The location is great, rooms are nice, clean, and MOST of the staff is friendly. Pool area is regular. It looks like they are refurbishing the entire hotel little by little, as we saw a whole section closed off. I would avoid having to use the sofa bed, and would definitely be on guard for the pseudo-chef and his rude remarks.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort

Address: 74-700 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Embassy Suites Palm Desert hotel - where outstanding accommodations and superb hospitality await you in the heart of beautiful Palm Desert, California! Guests of the Embassy Suites Palm Desert hotel enjoy their stay in one of our 198 spacious two-room hotel suites, complimentary cook to order breakfast, complimentary wine and beer Manager's Reception in the Evengins, with either majestic mountain or lush courtyard view. Each of our Palm Desert hotel suites is equipped with a range of amenities, designed to make your stay with us in Palm Desert, CA as comfortable and enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Palm Desert
Embassy Suites Palm Desert
Palm Desert Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Palm Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;