We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Intrawest - Palm Desert

Save Saved
You added Club Intrawest - Palm Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Waterdown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Desert paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent grocery store within walking distance. Ask for a Canadian card at grocery store for added savings. Use website Standby Golf for the best golf deals. Played lots of courses but liked Indian Wells Celebrity Course the best. Get to the courses early as the range and practice area's are all included.

Room Tip: One side backs onto golf course the other side is desert. I preferred the desert side bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    30
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just got back from a weekend retreat in palm desert for a convention that we had to attend to in palm springs. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 king suite downstairs unit 16-1. I was impressed very spacious large kitchen, shower was AMAZING I could stay in there forever, beds were also comfortable. We had to rent a roll away bed for my daughter $15 for the weekend she didn't care for it next time I will bring my air mattress. The best part was the kitchen great size but no oven they did have a microwave convection oven worked good for what I needed to make. The kitchen opens up to the patio which has a fireplace ( it doesn't really warm you up) but nice ambiance. We actually had 2 fireplaces there was another patio that let from the other room with another fireplace. The pool is about 15 steps away great spot! Ralphs grocery store is right next door so that was very convenient.

I didn't like the fact that I had to pay $10 for an extra set of towels and when I tried to call the front desk to request the roll away bed and towels no answer from the 5 times I called. My husband had to walk over there and request the items that was the only disappointing part of my stay. Otherwise they would have gotten a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We are Club members and this was our second visit - stayed in a one-bedroom "Terrace" for a week - same unit as first time. We enjoy the view - pond with ducks/pelicans, plenty of jackrabbits. The kitchen amenities could be improved by one larger frying pan (preferably non-stick) and I need lessons in using the convection oven as a normal microwave (too much info to get thru in the booklet!). The only drawback to the unit we were in is that the adjoining unit has an entrance passageway which is directly behind our unit's bedroom which results in hearing every noise (walking/talking) when one is trying to sleep. It's nice to have access to DVDs - good selection. The reception staff are always pleasant & helpful. Ralphs is nearby for groceries.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet area unless one wishes to be near the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is nice and I don't say that very often. Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises! Great area to do 4x4 off roading. Front desk staff could have been a little more service oriented.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Since becoming Intrawest members in 2000 this is our 7th visit to this location .Needless to say of all the Intrawest locations this is by far our favourite. We love the quality accommodation, the spacious, clean and beautiful grounds. the quality and comfortable pool furniture and the fantastic views. Although close to 100 % occupancy. with 4 pools and spacious grounds we never felt it was crowded. We always rent bicycles (from a local bike shop) when we're here as Palm Desert is very bike friendly with miles of accessible uncrowded bike trails. Special thanks to manager James for his friendly and helpful service. This will probably be our last visit unfortunately as we have to sell our 180 resort points. If anyone is interested in purchasing please contact me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First of all, it is gorgeous. It's a desert setting with desert plants, flowers, trees, rocks and bunny rabbits running around. The golf course surrounds the complex and the mountains provide a beautiful backdrop to the vistas. It's quiet and elegant. The pools, though not large, are plentiful with jacuzzis at every pool site. There's a small theater where they show movies for free a couple times a day. The shopping and restaurants abound within a short drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After spending 5 nights at the Intrawest, I wish we had scheduled more. Hiking trails surround the grounds. It's adjacent to the Desert Willows golf course. Though not a golfer, it's worth visiting the lobby there merely to drool over the Chihuly piece hanging from the ceiling. The pools and hot tubs are fine and close to each unit. Grills are also nearby for those who like to cook out. We saved a lot by preparing breakfast, snacks, and a few other meals in our kitchen.

We booked a 2 bedroom but ended up with a one bedroom and an adjoining studio. So, we had extra kitchen areas and an extra patio with fireplace. It was spacious, beautifully decorated, and completely furnished. The only suggestions I would make are: 1) raise the microwave/convection oven to the top of the counter or mounted on the wall. In order to open and use it, one has to bend down or kneel on the floor...kind of inconvenient. 2) Have a washer and dryer in the unit rather than at the end of the building. I like tossing dirty clothes in and running a load when it's full. 3) Zumba and Yoga are offered although both are an additional cost. Other places I've stayed included them at no extra charge.

The staff was above and beyond helpful. I mistakenly left my computer's charging cord at home. Tawnie, at the main desk, graciously brought hers from her house to let me use during my entire stay. The Wednesday wine, cheese, fruit, and cracker social was a fun way to meet others staying at Club Intrawest. The staff mingled, took photos, and graciously served us.

There are signs all over asking all to abstain from feeding the ducks. We saw no ducks, but many, many bunnies, road runners, and ravens!

Ralph's is a grocery store within walking distance and carries most everything you'll need. Be sure to request a discount card. The savings really add up with it.

The serenity of this place and the friendliness of the staff and other guests makes me wish for a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Intrawest - Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Intrawest - Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Intrawest - Palm Desert 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Homes custom-built for the Desert. Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. Club Intrawest -- Palm Desert is your desert home. Ideally located next to the Desert Willow Golf Course, Club Intrawest -- Palm Desert is serene and secluded. Peaceful, spacious and seemingly one with the desert surroundings, the Vacation Homes at Palm Desert take full advantage of the year-round warm weather. Enjoy both family and adult-only pools, 2 tennis courts, a basketball court and private movie theatre. The Vacation Homes are built in a series of 'Haciendas', each surrounding a pool and hot pool area, and a barbecue deck. Spacious Vacation Homes feature full kitchens and fireplaces on the terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Club Intrawest - Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Intrawest - Palm Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.