We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous, secluded, quiet golf resort, with spacious, well furnished "apts", luxurious club house, spa, pools...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Intrawest - Palm Desert

Save Saved
You added Club Intrawest - Palm Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A gorgeous, secluded, quiet golf resort, with spacious, well furnished "apts", luxurious club house, spa, pools...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I just had another great 5night stay here in late Sept. We had a grand time as usual. That was expected, as Club Intrawest does maintain its HIGH STANDARD - our unit was maticulously maintainted; the upkeep of the premises was supurb! All the staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us good recommendations on local events and great directions!

Ours is a 1-bedroom unit upstairs (16-2), which has a large open terrace with a fireplace, facing the family pool below. The living quarter comes with a huge, nicely furnished living room, very bright with large windows; a well-equipped kitchennette with all the essentials, plus a separate good size ice maker unit! The bedroom has a large shower stall, plus another spacious, attached private shower stall next to the terrace as well! There's TV in the living room and bedroom, of course. The one in the living room is too small, however. The sinks and appliances are a bit dated, but clean and well maintainted. On the ground floor, each building has a laundary room, free. even stocked with free detergents!
- I'd give it the 5th Star, after the appliances are updated.

The Club House is huge, luxurious, and welcoming! It houses the adult pool and a Fitness Room, a small, classy movie room and an arcade! Right next to the Club House is another building for the SPA! The golf course is of championship caliber. Besides golf, there is also a tennis facility.

- A supermarket is conveniently located only 0.25 mi away. My wife took advantage of it and put our kitchen to good use a couple evenings!

SOME FUN STUFF TO DO AROUND TOWN:
- In addition to many fun stuff to do on the premises, there are tons of others to do outside!

- Almost everywhere in town is only 15-30min drive away. We visited the charming Old Town in La Quinta; had fun in the Farmer's Market and Art Fair (Thu/Sat evenings only) in Palm Desert downtown, where we were awed by the 26ft towering sculpture of "Forever Marilyn"; enjoyed shopping and movies in Westfeld Mall...happy hours everywhere including Mamma Gina on El Paseo...!

- To top it off, we spent a glorious day hiking in the magnificent Joshua Tree National Park (60+min drive to the "Yacca Valley" Entrance)

BTW:
- We are Intrawest Club members, and have visited its properties in various locations including Canada and Mexico, this one in Palm Desert meets Intrawest's high standards, and does have its own unique, desert charm. We like coming here to enjoy the summer and autumn!
- Non members can also make reservations, of course. Do try to make yours EARLY, very early!

Peterskis, Oct 2012
-//-

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor with a terrace facing the golf course! Stay away from FAMILY pools to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    30
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here in August 2012. It was very hot, but the pools are kept nice and cold. The rooms are spacious and include everything you need while on vacation. I was impressed by the friendly staff. The resort is very close to groceries, and I even managed to walk there in the 40 degree heat. The resort also looks onto an amazing public golf course. I highly recommend staying here if you have the chance.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom with terrace is lovely and has an outdoor shower. Stay in complex 16 or 18 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Club Intrawest is nice, clean and a comfortable place to stay.Pool,Jacussi and Barbecue area more private. I stayed in a two bedroom property with my children for two weeks, most of the staff are friendly and helpful 1or 2 of the staff needed more training to handle situations.Its about 30mins drive from designer outlet,if you're bargain hunter welcome home you can save between 40%-50%. Disney,Seaworld,Universal Studio,Hollywood,Beverly hills are miles away about 2hrs drive on a good run, it can take up to 4hrs in traffic.There is no attraction near this property they are miles away but its a home for golfers and a good museum is nearby.EL-Paseo is also a nice shopping area if you like highend designers. You have the Westfield Mall and nice restaurant like Red Lobster and many more.I-Hop for pancake treat is also nearby.Its more of a relaxed place, ideal for honeymoon or if you just want to chill out from work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went to the desert in AUGUST and knew it was going to be hot but it was beyond our wildest expectations. There were 11 of us in two 2-bedrooms and we had a FANTASTIC time. The resort was good and it was our second time there. One thing that is important is that there is only one 2-bdrm suite per building so our party was a considerable distance away from each other. Normally, it wouldn't matter but with temperatures topping 110 .. it sort of did! LOL! Anyway, it was fantastic with the only exception being the coffee makers.... three mornings and three unsuccessful attempts. LOL. small complaint but good filterless coffee makers are available at Costo for under $40 and this would be a good upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

if you like seclusion, Club Intrawest Palm Desert is your choice. I stayed in an upstairs 1 bedroom and it was perfect for me, my boyfriend, and a friend who stayed in the living room. We stayed in room 25-2 and had a terrace that over looked the adult pool and golf course. The view was beautiful, but not breathtaking.

The room was above average, but nothing to brag about. You get a huge terrace with a fireplace, a living room, a full kitchen with small fridge and freezer, a good size bathroom, and a small bedroom. There was no tub in the bathroom, but there was an additonal shower outdoors that connects to the bedroom. We took advantage of this a few times, and it was amazing, until the bugs started to freak us out. I guess they were attracted to the water. When my friend checked in, there was no DVD player and the cable did not work, but was fixed right away when he called to report the issue. My friend slept on the sofa bed, which he said was fine, but he likes hard/firm surfaces. For more comfort, I would suggest an air matress. It was a bit small for him and he's 5'11". There is no oven in the kitchen, instead, you get a microwave that does convection cooking. We used it a few times for forzen pizza. It cooked the pizza like an oven, but seemed dry.

We went August 15-19, and it was hot as well as humid. There was a monsoon passing by during our stay and it even rained one night. However, it did pass after a couple of days and then there was beautful sunshine. Althought it was still hot, it wasn't uncomfortable heat. My friend described it as "vacation" heat. We walked around the resort 1 day and it was a pain in the heat. It's better to drive around. The air conditoner in the room is a bit confusing. It was preset to a program that made it 74 degrees at certain times throughout the day. If you don't change the program, or the tempertature manually, it will be above 74 in your room all the time. During mid day, even if you set the temperture lower, the temp will stay around 73-74 in our room. It was pefect at night. Guess it was too hot during the day to cool off the room like we wanted..

We used the gym once, and it was nice. The movie theater was BIG, but we didn't get a chance to watch anything on it. However, they were offering 2 shows on Saturday night. The game room was nice and all games were free. We saw tons of wildlife during our stay, including an owl perched on top of the parking lot. There were also roadrunners and bunnies.

If you want to party, this place may not be for you. During our stay, the resort was very quiet and when my friend and I went for a swim in the adult pool, it felt like we were the only ones talking. But if you DO want to party, right accross the street is the Desert Springs Marriott and that place looks like a New York/LA resort with an awesome pool with bar, numerous stores, a beatiful lobby with bar as well as birds. I think I may try that place next time to compare.

Overall, if you want a quiet, relaxing, private getaway with your significant other, this place will meet your needs. If you're looking to party and absorb the engery of the people around you who want to do the same, you will hate this place.

PS - every thursday night, there is a street fair in downtown palm springs. You should definitely check this out!

Room Tip: Request to be by the adult pool. The bigger adult pool is all the way in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is a true gem. When you enter the lobby to check-in, the reception people look like they're really happy to see you. Every exchange with hotel staff is pleasant and polite. Other hotels need to take note of the training that this company does because it is working. We went to dinner at the Marriott across the street and couldn't wait to get out of there and run back to our beautiful and peaceful desert oasis. You're not just a room number here -- you're a treasured guest! I hope it will always stay like this!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Once again, we had a wonderful stay at Club Intrawest. Even in the incredible heat, this resort does not disappoint. All of their pools are equipped with "pool chillers" to keep them cool and refreshing in the summer desert heat. (I assumed "pool chillers" would be standard now at all desert resorts, but we found out the hard way that this is not the case, when we stayed recently at the Marriott Desert Springs Villas, see separate review)

The resort is immaculately maintained, the units are perfectly equipped and spacious and the staff is at or even beyond the quality you would expect at the four season or Ritz Carlton. They will really bend over backwards to accommodate your every need.

The resort has a real movie theatre (complete with a top of the line sound system) a FREE arcade for the kids (and adults too!) with real arcade games (not just a simple Wii console like many other resorts) and is located on Desert Wollow Golf Resort (which I a must play, no mater where you stay in the desert area).

We always look forward to coming back to this exceptional desert oasis!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Intrawest - Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Intrawest - Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Intrawest - Palm Desert 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Homes custom-built for the Desert. Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. Club Intrawest -- Palm Desert is your desert home. Ideally located next to the Desert Willow Golf Course, Club Intrawest -- Palm Desert is serene and secluded. Peaceful, spacious and seemingly one with the desert surroundings, the Vacation Homes at Palm Desert take full advantage of the year-round warm weather. Enjoy both family and adult-only pools, 2 tennis courts, a basketball court and private movie theatre. The Vacation Homes are built in a series of 'Haciendas', each surrounding a pool and hot pool area, and a barbecue deck. Spacious Vacation Homes feature full kitchens and fireplaces on the terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Club Intrawest - Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Intrawest - Palm Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.