We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views - Great price - Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Palm Desert

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Palm Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Palm Desert
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74895 Frank Sinatra Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Gilbert
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Views - Great price - Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am behind on my reviews. This is a very fair priced hotel in a convenient part of town. Restaurants are close by and golf courses. The high end factory outlet malls are an easy drive to the West side of nearby Palm Springs. The views of the Mountains from the third floor facing West or Southwest are a great way to enjoy a Sunset. Balconies are spacious. Pool has two hot tubs and the fitness center is nice and well equipped for a smaller Hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again. Seems to be a noticeable amount of older USC grads/fans in the nearby restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay on East Wing at a higher floor for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
14
37
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'll begin by stating that the staff at the hotel are very nice and the lobby is very inviting. In contrast, the rooms are much too expensive for what you get. The decor is dated, except for the nice new tv, and crowded (e.g., a bed, dresser, desk, coffee table and couch in a rather tiny room. The bathroom area is also awkward because the door to the toilet blocks the wash basin area when opened. Worst of all is the lack of proper central air and heat. The old fashioned window/floor unit is so noisy that it woke us up over and over again through the night, even while wearing ear plugs. The system also seemed to pull in pollen from outside because whenever it was on I had an allergic reaction. I'm sure it wasn't just our room since I could hear a person sneezing in the room next door as well.

I've always had great experiences with Marriott, so I can't help be extra disappointed that the room isn't sleep friendly.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a balcony so you don't need to use the awful A/C unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here three nights during the Indian Wells tennis event, since other Marriott properties were booked. Our room was too warm for our tastes and the loud air conditioning unit could not cool it down adequately since it was very hot outside. The air conditioning unit looked 20 or 30 years old, similar to what you find over the years in various budget motels. The king-sized bed mattress was very soft and must have been 10 years old or more. I suspect the owner of this property has not kept up with normal upgrades over the years.

Check-in was fine and there is a large lobby area which was mostly empty and unused except during breakfast. There are two PCs in the lobby for guest use, but the printer was out of order during our stay. A separate PC is available for printing out boarding passes.

The best aspect of this property is the breakfast service in the lobby, which serves Starbucks coffee and espresso drinks, as well as various breakfast items which were well-prepared and served very quickly by the staff. This was top notch in quality as expected in a Marriott property.

I cannot recommend this property, however, since it does not live up to my expectations for a Marriott property. I regularly stay in Marriott properties, including JW Marriott and Fairfield brands.

Room Tip: Not sure if any rooms have been updated recently or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a very nice stay at this Courtyard By Marriott, which is very conveniently located near the Desert Willow Golf Courses. Lobby has been redone nicely and is a great place to hang out. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful. TV in my room was so nice that I bought the same one for my home when my old HDTV gave. out I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed two nights in conjunction with desert concert at this hotel. I am a member of Marriott Gold and as always the property lived up to high Marriott standard. There is nothing worse than booking accommodation and be surprised with sub-standard disappointment. I am a loyal Marriott loyalty program for that reason and have never been surprised any where in the World.
I have used TripAdvisor over the years and follow reader recommendations often and usually very happy in their selection, but even then surprises do happen in a negative way.
But, I have been very pleased with Marriott product and they treat loyal customers well!
One thing which puzzles me is the low rating for some of the best luxury hotels that are often rated very low on the list? Perhaps, it is because people who frequent those properties do not take the time to write a reviews? If they do, there are so few that couple negative reviews plays bigger part in bringing down overall rating low, because of positive/ negative ratio?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on business with a group of others. Hotel was very organized and had our rooms and room keys ready and handed them out to us. Very fast check in and it was appreciated. Hotel rooms were clean and had all the amenities. My TV was huge. I would stay here again. Lobby was great for this group. Very spacious and comfortable. Loved the coffee too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Great, friendly, staff.
The hotel is right on the road. Semi's and early rush hour traffic loud if you stay in front rooms. Request pool view away from street for a more quiet room.

Room Tip: Pool view away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Palm Desert

Also Known As:
Courtyard Palm Desert Hotel
Courtyard Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Courtyard
Palm Desert Marriott
Address: 74895 Frank Sinatra Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Palm Desert 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Palm Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.