We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very crowded during peak season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Breezes Resort

Save Saved
You added Desert Breezes Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Desert Breezes Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
San Luis Obispo, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not very crowded during peak season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The resort was great for spring break, the week prior to Easter. Even though the resort was completely full, the pools always had plenty of open lounge chairs and it wasn't a problem getting on a tennis court. The crowd was mostly older, with some family gatherings spanning three generations. There's no real kid activities, nor a restaurant or bar, and it's not walkable to anything, so I took off one star. Still, much better than the Hyatt Regency and Renaissance Esmeralda, we checked both out one afternoon and couldn't believe how crowded the pool areas were.

Pros:
Not noisy at all
Pools weren't overcrowded, and had plenty of lounge chairs.
Five tennis courts were very accessible
Nice, small kitchen allowed us to eat in when we wanted
Big deck on our studio
Lost of nice gas grills on the pool deck and by the hot tubs
No resort fees.

Cons:
Not walkable to any stores or restaurants
Although the resort has lots of sidewalk areas between homes/rentals, they do not allow scooters, roller blades, skate boards, etc.
Seemed like a retirement community. Not a lot of activities or things going on.
No restaurant or bar. Not a problem, but would have been nice.
No longer has ping pong tables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Breezes and reviewing our resort! We hope you had a wonderful spring break and will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

DESERT BREEZES 2/23/13 – 3/2/13

We really enjoyed our week’s stay at Desert Breezes. The resort would be considered one of the smaller ones, particularly compared to the several Marriott developments in the area.There are not a lot of onsite activities (restaurants, etc) though there is an excellent exercise facility. It’s very nicely landscaped, very walkable, easy access to the units from the roads, super clean, and quiet. It has a wonderful location, right at the intersection of two major roads, and is minutes away from a great golf facility, the College Golf Center (it’s a huge driving range and instruction center).

The 1BR unit itself was large and very nice, though the bathroom area would probably be considered somewhat dated (no biggie for us). The buildings seemed to provide maximum privacy and maximum view from all units; at least that’s what we had from ours. The staff was helpful and not pushy. Immediately upon our arrival home we set the wheels in motion to go back – this time for two weeks. We had some initial indecision, and took this locale on the urging of our SFX contact lady. It was terrific advice.

------Zach Kaplan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your patronage and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

.We spent a week in a studio. It was fairly large with good kitchen facilities, a divider between sofa sleeper and bed, and comfortable bathroom. Bedding was exceptional and queen bed was very comfortable. The unit was very clean and well appointed with flat screen tv. The tv was set up to be directly viewed from the bed. It would have been helpful to be able to swivel it so it was viewable from the sofa too. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this resort to other travelers and will return again.

Room Tip: The studio is large for two but would be cramped for sleeping four although there is a sofa bed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Desert Breezes! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my 2nd review of this property and my 2nd year in a row to stay here. I must also disclose that this is a timeshare location that I purchased about 18 months ago at auction for $13.04 (yes, this is not a typo). So on my first 2 week stay last year, I was pleasantly surprised. This year was the same, with some improvement too. I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The property is older (80's) but the grounds are very well maintained. There are 3 pools, and about 10 hot tubs. There is a clubhouse with 5 tennis courts on the grounds too. It is located a 3 minute walk from the Indian Wells Tennis Gardens.

PROS

Self contained suites with full appliances: full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, blender, toaster, hand mixer and all the cooking implements and dishes one might need for an extended stay. There is also a safe and 2 robes. The suite has a flat screen TV in the living room and an old style TV in the bedroom. The couch is pull out and can sleep 2. The internet used to be a BIG negative, as the bandwidth was very low and they blocked all the good sites like YouTube and Facebook. This is now remedied, but you must pay $15 a week. Parking is still free.

CONS

Pool area closes at 10 pm and is now onerously enforced in all hot tubs and pools. Seems a bit early/and or silly to have such rules, but the clientele here go to bed early. Bathrooms toilet areas are very small, large people will have an issue with this (you can barely close the door when you stand in it). The walls are super thin, and you have to keep the noise down, lest others here your personal business.

Don't expect a wild time, just expect quiet times; the average person staying here is at retirement age. All is all, another great couple of weeks. I'll be down again next year in Feb/March.

Room Tip: Do not attend the free "owners night" wine and cheese party Thursday: it is a pitch for ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Breezes. We look forward to welcoming you "home" again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been an owner at Desert Breezes since the late '80's. My husband and I love coming to the resort so much that we are trying to buy a second week. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The staff takes good care of the resort and is very attentive to guests. Desert Breezes is in a great location, convenient to restaurants and shopping. We usually eat out at lunch time and cook at home in the evenings. We have two bedrooms and two bathrooms and often have friends and family come for part of our stay. I use the health club, which basic but convenient.

Room Tip: If you like to grill, choose a lower unit for easier access to grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're glad you are one of our valued owners and enjoy the property and resort! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Breezes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been owners here for over 10 years. Even as it ages, the staff works hard to maintain it. When we want a quiet Palm Desert experience we come here and when we feel more like enjoying the city life we stay at a timeshare we can trade for in downtown. We last visited in June with temps above 110! But we had a room very near the adult pool and went between the pool and the air-conditioned room. Since many new strip shopping centers have been developed in these past years, food options are great. You must check out the fish market at the corner of Washington and Hwy 111. You can also stroll the neighborhood for a great walk. The Board of Directors have done a great job. They even were offering English language classes to the staff so you could communicate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
What a great review - Thank you! We're glad you enjoy being an owner at our beautiful property and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff very friendly & helpful. Very "homey" comfortable feel to the place. Pools hot tubs, all very close & nice BBQ areas. Great close in parking.
Very good value .
There is no restaurant on the premises & we have no kids but Trip Advisor makes you fill in all the slots (DUMB) they should have a non applicable spot as well. That's the reason for terrible!

Room Tip: For a quiter experience take an upstairs unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of Desert Breezes! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Hotel
Desert Breezes Palm
Address: 77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Breezes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.